serious games

The seigneurial regime in the digital age

Last fall, Sophy James, a Secondary 3 teacher in Quebec and Canadian history at La Seigneurie school in Quebec City, decided to experiment with a new project with her students. This is how a lordship came to life in the playful world of Minecraft.

Play to learn: From gamification to gamification

In this dossier, we offer you an overview of the world of gamification / gamification and we explain why this practice is accessible to all teachers. Hey no, no need to thoroughly review your teaching practices to bring a playful touch to your class!
00:06:55

Make learning fun AND effective by drawing inspiration from video games

We spoke with a video game designer and a neuropsychologist about how motivational elements of video games can be used to support student engagement.

The 11th edition of the international Serious Play conference at UQAM from July 10 to 12, 2019

The Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) will host the 11th edition of the international Serious Play conference, which is being held for the first time in Canada. The event will bring together various experts in the field of serious games and gamification, or the use of games for learning situations.

For the love of the game: roundtable on gamification

During REFER 2019, the opening panel allowed experts to share the game's success factors: the narrative, collaboration, game culture, objectification and progression.

Ludomyths: 10 Misconceptions About Play And Learning

The kickoff of REFER 2019 was given by the opening conference of Margarida Romero and Éric Sanchez entitled The Ludomyths: 10 misconceptions about play and learning.

The Rendez-vous RÉCIT: serious games in a social universe

Ensuring the animation, Steve Quirion and Alexandre Lanoix from RÉCIT en univers social set the table for a 90-minute highly relevant webinar on the use of serious games in the context of elementary and secondary education.

Using digital games to promote learning: mission possible!

This file offers avenues for reflection and advice for teachers who would like to effectively integrate digital games into their teaching.

Adding a real portion to virtual games: a winning educational combination

A recent American study shows that video games created for learning purposes reach their optimal educational potential when they include a portion that takes place in the “real”, and not only in the “virtual”.

How to improve educational games?

For several years, educational games have been on the rise. More and more studies are looking at their potential. If we could improve certain facets of these games, which ones should we focus on? A recent study points to an avenue for the evaluation and monitoring of learning.

jeux sérieux

Jouer pour apprendre : De la ludification à la ludicisation

Dans ce dossier, nous vous proposons un tour d’horizon du monde de la ludification/ludicisation et nous vous expliquons pourquoi cette pratique est accessible à l’ensemble des enseignants. Hé non, nul besoin de revoir de fond en comble ses pratiques pédagogiques pour apporter une touche ludique à sa classe!
00:06:55

Rendre l’apprentissage amusant ET efficace en s’inspirant des jeux vidéo

Nous avons discuté avec un designer de jeux vidéo et un neuropsychologue de la façon dont on peut s’inspirer d’éléments motivationnels des jeux vidéo pour soutenir l’engagement des élèves.

La 11e édition de la conférence internationale Serious Play à l’UQAM du 10 au 12 juillet 2019

L’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) accueillera la 11e édition de la conférence internationale Serious Play, qui se tient pour la première fois au Canada. L’événement réunira divers experts dans le domaine des jeux sérieux et de la ludification, soit l’utilisation des jeux pour des situations d’apprentissage.

Par amour pour le jeu : table ronde sur la ludification

Lors du REFER 2019, le panel d'ouverture a permis aux experts de partager les facteurs de succès du jeu : la trame narrative, la collaboration, la culture du jeu, l'objectivation et la progression.

Les ludomythes : 10 idées fausses sur le jeu et l’apprentissage

Le coup d’envoi du REFER 2019 a été donné par la conférence d’ouverture de Margarida Romero et Éric Sanchez intitulée Les ludomythes : 10 idées fausses sur le jeu et l’apprentissage.

Le Rendez-vous RÉCIT : les jeux sérieux en univers social

Assurant l’animation, Steve Quirion et Alexandre Lanoix du RÉCIT en univers social ont mis la table pour 90 minutes de webinaire fort pertinent sur l’utilisation des jeux sérieux en contexte d’enseignement au primaire et au secondaire.

Exploiter les jeux numériques pour favoriser l’apprentissage : mission possible!

Ce dossier propose des pistes de réflexion et des conseils aux enseignants qui souhaiteraient intégrer efficacement les jeux numériques à leur enseignement.

Ajouter une portion réelle aux jeux virtuels : une combinaison pédagogique gagnante

Une récente étude américaine montre que les jeux vidéos créés à des fins d’apprentissage atteignent leur potentiel pédagogique optimal lorsqu’ils intègrent une portion qui se déroule dans le « réel », et non uniquement dans le « virtuel ».

Comment améliorer les jeux éducatifs?

Depuis plusieurs années, les jeux éducatifs ont le vent dans les voiles. De plus en plus d’études s’intéressent à leur potentiel. Si on pouvait améliorer certaines facettes de ces jeux, lesquelles devrait-on privilégier? Une récente étude pointe une piste vers l’évaluation et le suivi des apprentissages.

Classcraft : Jouer pour apprendre

Création québécoise, Classcraft est un nouveau jeu de rôle pour apprendre et motiver les élèves. À ce jour, 7000 enseignants dans 50 pays différents ont adopté Classcraft comme supplément à l’éducation dans leur salle de classe. Plus d’un million d’élèves sont attendus pour cet automne.

Prochaines formations en direct