The applications of the Math Learning Center: to discover

The Math Learning Center offers some very interesting applications to allow students to explore and manipulate mathematical concepts.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

The Math Learning Center offers some very interesting applications to allow students to explore and manipulate mathematical concepts.

While browsing the Math Learning Center website, I remembered a training given by Robert Lyons that I had attended when I was still in school. In 1973, he and his brother began their research on learning difficulties in mathematics. It was also during the 1970s that the instigators of Math Learning Center begin their visits to American schools with the objective of improving the teaching of mathematics. This work, carried out on either side of the border, has enabled, among other things, the development of educational material mainly focused on manipulation and logic placing the student at the heart of his learning.

The applications of Math Learning Center are available for free on iPad and as a web version. To date, around ten applications allow students to explore and manipulate the mathematical concepts taught such as counting (Number Frames), the percentage (Number pieces), the multiplication of whole numbers (Number Line).

The application GeoBoard, meanwhile, allows, among other things, to deepen the following mathematical concepts: perimeter, area, fraction. For my part, I like to use it with the students of the third cycle to reinvest with them the notions of location in the Cartesian plane. To do this, I created a geometric bingo which allows both to revise the characteristics of regular polygons and the notions related to the systems of axes and the pairs of coordinates which are associated with them.

In addition to these applications, the Math Learning Center puts online a multitude of educational resources. Despite the fact that they are only available in English and Spanish, these remain an interesting starting point for any teacher who wishes to put forward an approach based on exploration, trial and error, deduction. , contextualization. Closer to home, the Lyons brothers make available to parents, in the section Home school of their website, their volumes Math challenge. Note also that this is the oldest collection of textbooks still approved by the Ministry of Education. Why not take the opportunity to go for a walk with your child during this period of confinement? As an example, my 9 year old boy, had fun exploring the concept of symmetry presented in chapter 8 of volume 2. Subsequently, using the application Number Line, we practiced the multiplication of whole numbers.

More than twenty years have passed since my meeting with Mr. Lyons and he is still active in his community. In fact, he recently met first-cycle elementary school teachers at the CSDM's Teachers' Center (CEE). It must be understood that his passion for the didactics of mathematics has not faded over time! If you have the chance to meet this seasoned educator don't miss the opportunity. Otherwise, take the time to watch this interview with him for the show Découverte.

To find the app Geoboard and other applications of Math Learning Center, consult our detailed file on the subject.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Guillaume Bilodeau
Guillaume is an ICT pedagogical advisor at the Montreal School Services Center (CSSDM). He has a bachelor's degree in preschool and elementary education from UQÀM and a bachelor's degree in secondary mathematics education from UQÀC. In addition, he is completing his DESS in educational management. As part of his graduate studies, he is more specifically interested in the establishment of learning communities in Quebec schools.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Les applications du Math Learning Center : à découvrir

Le Math Learning Center propose des applications très intéressantes pour permettre aux élèves d’explorer et de manipuler les concepts mathématiques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Le Math Learning Center propose des applications très intéressantes pour permettre aux élèves d’explorer et de manipuler les concepts mathématiques.

En naviguant sur le site du Math Learning Center, je me suis rappelé une formation donnée par Robert Lyons à laquelle j’avais assisté lorsque j’étais encore aux études. En 1973, son frère et lui débutent leurs recherches sur les difficultés d’apprentissage en mathématiques. C’est également au courant des années soixante-dix que les instigateurs du Math Learning Center amorcent leurs visites dans les milieux scolaires américains avec pour objectif d’améliorer l’enseignement des mathématiques. Ces travaux, menés de chaque côté de la frontière, ont permis, entre autres, l’élaboration de matériel pédagogique principalement axé sur la manipulation et la logique plaçant l’élève au cœur de ses apprentissages.

Les applications du Math Learning Center sont disponibles gratuitement sur iPad et en version Web. À ce jour, une dizaine d’applications permettent aux élèves d’explorer et de manipuler les concepts mathématiques enseignés tels que le dénombrement (Number Frames), le pourcentage (Number pieces), la multiplication de nombres entiers (Number Line).

L’application GeoBoard, quant à elle, permet, entre autres, d’approfondir les concepts mathématiques suivants : périmètre, aire, fraction. De mon côté, j’aime bien l’utiliser avec les élèves du troisième cycle pour réinvestir avec eux les notions de repérage dans le plan cartésien. Pour ce faire, j’ai créé un bingo géométrique qui permet à la fois de réviser les caractéristiques des polygones réguliers et les notions liées aux systèmes d’axes et aux couples de coordonnées qui leur sont associés.

En plus de ces applications, le Math Learning Center met en ligne une multitude de ressources pédagogiques. Malgré le fait qu’elles soient disponibles uniquement en anglais et en espagnol, celles-ci demeurent un point de départ intéressant pour tout enseignant qui désire mettre de l’avant une approche basée sur l’exploration, l’essai-erreur, la déduction, la contextualisation. Plus près de nous, les frères Lyons mettent à la disposition des parents, dans la section École à la maison de leur site Web, leurs volumes Défi mathématique. Notons d’ailleurs qu’il s’agit de la plus ancienne collection de manuels scolaires toujours approuvés par le ministère de l’Éducation. Pourquoi ne pas en profiter pour aller y faire un petit tour avec votre enfant pendant cette période de confinement? À titre d’exemple, mon garçon âgé de 9 ans, s’est amusé à explorer le concept de symétrie présenté au chapitre 8 du volume 2. Par la suite, à l’aide de l’application Number Line, nous avons pratiqué la multiplication de nombres entiers.

Plus de vingt années se sont écoulées depuis ma rencontre avec monsieur Lyons et celui-ci est toujours actif dans son milieu. En effet, dernièrement, il rencontrait des enseignants du premier cycle du primaire au centre des enseignantes et des enseignants (CEE) de la CSDM. Il faut en comprendre que sa passion pour la didactique des mathématiques ne s’est pas estompée avec le temps! Si vous avez la chance de rencontrer ce pédagogue chevronné ne manquez pas l’occasion. Sinon, prenez le temps de visionner cette entrevue réalisée  avec lui pour l’émission Découverte.

Pour trouver l’application Geoboard et d’autres applications du Math Learning Center, consultez notre fiche détaillée sur le sujet.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Guillaume Bilodeau
Guillaume est conseiller pédagogique TIC au Centre de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM). Il possède un baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et enseignement primaire de l’UQÀM et un baccalauréat en enseignement des mathématiques au secondaire de l’UQÀC. De plus, il termine son DESS en gestion de l’éducation. Dans le cadre de ses études de deuxième cycle, il s’intéresse plus spécifiquement à la mise en place de communautés d’apprentissage dans les milieux scolaires québécois.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!