Greenpeace activists accused of vandalism

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The organization Greenpeace is often talked about by its spectacular outbursts. Following an action in the Arctic, Russia was considering piracy charges against a group of activists linked to the organization, but reduced it all to accusations of vandalism. Let's take a closer look.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

At the end of September, Russia planned to file piracy charges against 30 Greenpeace activists arrested on September 19. They were demonstrating on the outskirts of an oil drilling platform in the Arctic. Their ship, the Arctic Sunrise, flying the Dutch flag in the Pechora Sea, was towed to the port of Murmansk.
If found guilty of piracy, activists could face 15 years in prison in Russia. However, the country finally announced in late October that it was reducing the charges to vandalism (hooliganism), reducing the maximum sentence to 7 years in prison.
Sources:
Greenpeace activists accused of piracy
Moscow eases charges against Greenpeace activists
Radio-Canada
The activities suggested in this sheet will allow you to discover the latest developments in this dossier. Use this event to discuss with your students about this global organization, its values and the actions it takes to provide solutions that help protect the environment and promote peace in the world. world.
 


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- Find out about the storming by Russian guards last month on the Pechora Sea.
- Take a look at the main actions of the Greepeace organization over the past 40 years.
- Create a chronological timeline relating the various interventions of Greenpeace in the world.
- Write a message for the Russian embassy in order to contribute to the release of the 30 prisoners of the Arctic.
 


Suggested Activities

ACTIVITY 1: The Arctic Sunrise stormed by Russian guards

To introduce the subject, watch the following video capsule with the students.
Then start a discussion with them to relate the facts that happened and ask them their opinion on the actions of Greenpeace and on the reactions of the Russians following the actions of the activists.
Here are some questions to elicit reactions from your students:
a) Why did the two groups, Greenpeace and the Russians, react like this?
b) How, Greenpeace or the Russians, could have acted differently?
c) What are the impacts of Greenpeace's actions? And those of the Russians?
d) What are the character traits that make Greenpeace activists risk their lives for their beliefs?
Record student reactions following viewing the video clip using one of the following documents:
SMART Notebook format (.notebook)
ActivInspire format (.flipchart)
PDF format (.pdf)
 
 
 

ACTIVITY 2: Greenpeace actions over the years

Do your students know about Greepeace? Give them some time to browse branch websites french and canadian, for example, and to look for information elsewhere (for example, on Wikipedia). They may notice that his actions are not always unanimous. Why is this so?
Then ask them to recreate the timeline, since 1972, of the various actions taken by the organization. There are about thirty important events cited in the section Historical from the Greenpeace website. If you have little time, separate the years according to the teams and ask for a short oral presentation from each to share the findings.
This exercise will make them aware that the causes that concern the organization are very diverse and that its interventions take place all around the globe.
ICT track: Invite students to use a site like MyHistro in order to create an interactive timeline. Choose the French language, at the top of the page, in the section Language. Observe some examples available in the gallery of stories already available to the public. Following the creation of the timeline, take the process further by having a questionnaire prepared, in connection with the history of Greenpeace, in the section Quizzes visible once authenticated, and ask students from other classes to respond
Note: MyHistro is also available on iPad version on the App Store.
 

ACTIVITY 3: Free the 30 from the Arctic

The most recent demonstration to free the activists, held in Paris, is told in the press article entitled: "A Greenpeace activist dislodged from the Eiffel Tower".
Suggest that your students write an opinion piece aimed at convincing the President of Russia to release Greenpeace activists jailed since the event last September. Distribute a copy of this canvas proposed by Greenpeace so that they can write their draft, on the one hand, then forward the messages of those who agree via the form provided for this purpose on the Greenpeace website.
 

For further

- Take all the places mentioned in the activities above and locate them on a geographical map. Even better, use personalized maps from Google Maps!
- Visit some web pages about Greenpeace, such as:
Watch the videos uploaded by Greenpeace
Greenpeace values and methods

Support the Arctic 30 in 10 lessons

 


More about the magazine

Greenpeace: activists now accused of vandalism
Le Monde, October 23, 2013
Moscow eases charges against Greenpeace activists
Radio-Canada, October 23, 2013
Greenpeace activists accused of piracy
Radio-Canada, September 20, 2013
Greenpeace on the Eiffel Tower to defend its detained activists
Radio-Canada, October 26, 2013
Follow Greenpeace France on Twitter
Follow Greenpeace France on Facebook
Follow Greenpeace Quebec on Twitter

Follow Greenpeace Quebec on Facebook

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Les activistes de Greenpeace accusés de vandalisme

Paru le

Classé dans

Fin septembre, la Russie envisageait de déposer des accusations de piraterie contre 30 militants de Greenpeace arrêtés le 19 septembre dernier. Ils manifestaient alors aux abords d’une plate-forme de forage pétrolier dans l’Arctique. Leur navire, l’Arctic Sunrise, battant pavillon néerlandais dans la mer de Pechora, a été remorqué vers le port de Mourmansk.
S’ils étaient reconnus coupables de piraterie, les militants risqueraient 15 ans de prison en Russie. Cependant, le pays a finalement annoncé fin octobre qu’il réduisait les accusations à du vandalisme (hooliganisme), réduisant la peine maximale à 7 ans de détention.
Sources :
Les activistes de Greenpeace accusés de piraterie
Moscou allège les accusations contre les activistes de Greenpeace
Radio-Canada
Les activités suggérées dans cette fiche permettront de découvrir les derniers développements dans ce dossier. Utilisez cet événement afin de discuter, avec vos élèves, de cet organisme mondial, de ses valeurs et des actions qu’il pose afin d’apporter des solutions qui contribuent à la protection de l’environnement et à la promotion de la paix dans le monde.
 


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– Se renseigner sur la prise d’assaut par les gardes russes le mois dernier sur la mer de Pechora.
– Survoler les principales actions de l’organisme Greepeace depuis les 40 dernières années.
– Créer une frise chronologique relatant les différentes interventions de Greenpeace dans le monde.
– Rédiger un message pour l’ambassade de la Russie afin de contribuer à la libération des 30 prisonniers de l’Arctique.
 


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : L’Arctic Sunrise pris d’assaut par les gardes russes

Pour introduire le sujet, visionnez la capsule vidéo suivante avec les élèves.
Amorcez ensuite une discussion avec eux afin de relater les faits qui se sont produits et demandez-leur leur opinion sur les agissements de Greenpeace et sur les réactions des Russes suite aux actions des activistes.
Voici des pistes de questionnement pour susciter des réactions auprès de vos élèves :
a) Pourquoi les deux groupes, Greenpeace et les Russes, ont-ils réagit ainsi?
b) Comment, Greenpeace ou les Russes, auraient pu agir différemment?
c) Quels sont les impacts des gestes de Greenpeace? Et ceux des Russes?
d) Quels sont les traits de caractère qui font en sorte que des activistes de Greenpeace risquent leur vie pour leurs convictions?
Consignez les réactions des élèves suite au visionnement de la capsule vidéo à l’aide de l’un des documents suivants :
Format SMART Notebook (.notebook)
Format ActivInspire (.flipchart)
Format PDF (.pdf)
 
 
 

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Les actions de Greenpeace au fil des ans

Vos élèves connaissent-ils Greepeace? Donnez-leur un peu de temps pour parcourir les sites Web des branches française et canadienne, par exemple, et de chercher de l’information ailleurs (par exemple, sur Wikipédia). Ils remarqueront peut-être que ses actions ne font pas toujours l’unanimité. Pourquoi est-ce ainsi?
Proposez-leur ensuite de recréer la ligne du temps, depuis 1972, des différentes actions posées par l’organisme. Il y a une trentaine d’événements importants cités dans la section Historique du site de Greenpeace. Si vous disposez de peu de temps, séparez les années selon les équipes et demandez un court exposé oral à chacune pour partager les découvertes.
Cet exercice leur fera prendre conscience que les causes qui intéressent l’organisme sont très diversifiées et que ses interventions se déroulent partout autour du globe.
Piste TIC : Invitez les élèves à utiliser, si possible, un site comme MyHistro afin de réaliser une ligne du temps interactive. Choisissez la langue française, en haut de la page, dans la section Language. Observez quelques exemples disponibles dans la galerie d’histoires déjà disponibles pour le public.  Suite à la création de la frise chronologique, poussez la démarche plus loin en faisant préparer un questionnaire, en lien avec l’histoire de Greenpeace, dans la section Quizzes visible une fois authentifié, et demandez aux élèves des autres classes d’y répondre
Note : MyHistro est également disponible sur en version iPad sur le App Store.
 

ACTIVITÉ 3 : Libérez les 30 de l’Arctique

La plus récente manifestation afin de libérer les militants, tenue à Paris, est racontée dans l’article de presse intitulé : « Un militant de Greenpeace délogé de la Tour Eiffel ».
Suggérez à vos élèves de rédiger un texte d’opinion visant à convaincre le Président de la Russie de libérer les militants de Greenpeace emprisonnés depuis l’événement du mois de septembre dernier. Distribuez une copie de ce canevas proposé par Greenpeace afin qu’ils puissent rédiger leur brouillon, d’une part, puis acheminez ensuite les messages de ceux qui sont d’accord via le formulaire prévu à cet effet sur le site de Greenpeace.
 

Pour aller plus loin

-Reprenez tous les lieux mentionnés dans les activités plus haut et situez-les sur une carte géographique. Encore mieux, utilisez les cartes personnalisée de Google Maps!
– Visitez quelques pages Web à propos de l’organisme Greenpeace, comme :
Visionnez les vidéos mises en ligne par Greenpeace
Les valeurs et les méthodes de Greenpeace

Soutenir les 30 de l’Arctique en 10 leçons

 


Pour en savoir plus

Greenpeace : les militants désormais accusés de vandalisme
Le Monde, 23 octobre 2013
Moscou allège les accusations contre les activistes de Greenpeace
Radio-Canada, 23 octobre 2013
Les activistes de Greenpeace accusés de piraterie
Radio-Canada, 20 septembre 2013
Greenpeace sur la tour Eiffel pour défendre ses militants détenus
Radio-Canada, 26 octobre 2013
Suivre Greenpeace France sur Twitter
Suivre Greenpeace France sur Facebook
Suivre Greenpeace Québec sur Twitter

Suivre Greenpeace Québec sur Facebook

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

La bataille de Vimy souligne ses 100 ans en 2017

Du 9 au 12 avril 2017, les Canadiens ont célébré le centenaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy, en France. C’était la première fois que les unités canadiennes combattaient aux côtés l’une de l’autre. Pour plusieurs, cette bataille fut déterminante pour l’obtention d’une reconnaissance internationale de la part du Canada.

L’écoute de musique en ligne : quand les algorithmes n’avantagent pas les artistes québécois

Alors que Pierre Lapointe dénonçait les faibles revenus versés aux artistes qui diffusent leur contenu sur des plateformes d'écoute de musique en ligne, le géant du Web Spotify voyait ses profits exploser avec une augmentation de 31% de ses abonnés payants pour un total de 2,5 milliards de dollars en recettes. Quelles solutions sont envisageables pour permettre une plus grande équité et une justice sociale?

Comment écoute-t-on la musique aujourd’hui?

Les habitudes des consommateurs de musique ont bien changé depuis la dernière décennie. Voyons comment les artistes s’inspirent et les façons dont la population écoute dorénavant ses chansons préférées avec l’avènement de la musique numérique.