ADVERTISEMENT

The interactive whiteboard: easier to be a good teacher!

United States - Robert Marzano is an American researcher who has worked extensively on the impact of interactive whiteboards (IWBs) in the classroom. One of his conclusions: three quarters of teachers more naturally use the strategies of a good teacher in the presence of the tool! The details…

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

United States - Robert Marzano is an American researcher who has worked extensively on the impact of interactive whiteboards (IWBs) in the classroom. One of his conclusions: three quarters of teachers more naturally use the strategies of a good teacher in the presence of the tool! The details…

Robert J. Marzano, renowned researcher, co-founder and CEO of Marzano Research Laboratory located in Colorado, studied the effects on education and students of the presence or absence of interactive whiteboards.

Thus, 85 teachers and their 170 classes participated in the study which asked them to give the same content to certain classes using a IWB, and to others without the tool. The results have been published in November 2009.

One of the key elements of his research is that 3 out of 4 teachers were more effective with an interactive whiteboard in the classroom, since they then demonstrated the characteristics of a good teacher in general: the lesson takes place at a pace appropriate to the class, they build on what students already know, they use multiple forms of media (text, images, graphics, etc.) to convey information, they emphasize student participation, and they focus primarily on on content - not on technology.

According to Marzano, these are things a good teacher already does without the technology. However, he believes that the presence of the interactive whiteboard makes it easier to integrate these elements of teaching in various subjects and in front of students with different skills and abilities.

Spectacular gains for students under certain conditions

On the student side, the use of interactive tables resulted in an average gain of 16 percentile points in academic performance.

In addition, three special cases should be noted:
- Instant response boxes: in the classrooms where they were used and encouraged constant student participation, the gains reached 26 percentile points.

- The use of graphics, images, videos and other visual sources taken, for example, from the Internet to represent information was also associated with a gain of 26 percentile points among students.

- Interactivity of activities presented to students on the board, such as moving objects to a specific location, recognizing correct answers using a sound signal, and revealing information hidden behind objects at a convenient time are practices associated with a gain of 31 percentiles.

Despite this, nearly a quarter of teachers performed better without the interactive whiteboard.

The study therefore examined the practices of these teachers more closely:
- Their use of instant response boxes was limited to noting how many students had answered such and such an answer, and not to return and understand why some had the wrong answer.

- The visual aids were shown too quickly, without giving the students time to fully understand them.

- The visual aids were too crowded, making it difficult to identify the really important elements in the lesson.

- The use of sound confirmations seemed more for the "show" than for the positive reinforcement.

In summary, here is what the researcher offers teachers who want to successfully integrate the interactive whiteboard into their classroom.
- You have to plan how you want to organize the information to be presented. For example, grouping information into small, meaningful segments rather than presenting pages that are too full. To avoid going too quickly on certain pages, he also suggests inserting pages that remind you to take your time ...
- You have to use visual aids, but these supports must really serve the lesson and be related to what you want to achieve as a goal.
- After asking a question to which the students have answered with the instant response boxes, discuss the correct answer and also the why of the wrong answers. Thus, we leave the simple quiz to add the educational dimension.
- If you use audible response confirmations, such as applause, make sure that they are not too distracting and that they support the attention and motivation of the students.

The conclusions as expressed by Robert Marzano can be read here in an article published in the journal Educational Leadership.

By Audrey Miller

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le tableau interactif : plus facile d’être un bon enseignant!

Etats-Unis - Robert Marzano est un chercheur américain qui a beaucoup travaillé sur l’impact des tableaux blancs interactifs (TBI) dans les classes. L’une de ses conclusions : les trois quarts des enseignants utilisent plus naturellement les stratégies d’un bon enseignant en présence de l’outil! Les détails…

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Etats-Unis – Robert Marzano est un chercheur américain qui a beaucoup travaillé sur l’impact des tableaux blancs interactifs (TBI) dans les classes. L’une de ses conclusions : les trois quarts des enseignants utilisent plus naturellement les stratégies d’un bon enseignant en présence de l’outil! Les détails…

Robert J. Marzano, chercheur renommé, co-fondateur et chef de la direction du Marzano Research Laboratory situé au Colorado, a étudié les effets sur l’enseignement et les élèves de la présence ou non de tableaux blancs interactifs.

Ainsi, 85 enseignants et leurs 170 classes ont participé à l’étude qui leur demandait de donner le même contenu à certaines classes en utilisant un TBI, et à d’autres sans l’outil. Les résultats ont été publiés en novembre 2009.

Un des éléments clés de sa recherche est que 3 enseignants sur 4 étaient plus efficaces avec un tableau interactif en classe, puisqu’ils démontraient alors les caractéristiques d’un bon enseignant en général : la leçon se déroule à un rythme approprié à la classe, ils construisent sur ce que les élèves savent déjà, ils utilisent de multiples formes de médias (textes, images, graphiques, etc.) pour transmettre de l’information, ils mettent l’emphase sur la participation des élèves, et ils se concentrent principalement sur le contenu – pas sur la technologie.

Selon Marzano, ce sont des choses qu’un bon enseignant fait déjà sans la technologie. Cependant, il croit que la présence de du tableau interactif rend plus facile l’intégration de ces éléments de l’enseignement dans des matières variées et devant des élèves ayant des compétences et des habiletés différentes.

Des gains spectaculaires pour les élèves sous certaines conditions

Du côté des élèves, l’utilisation des tableaux interactifs a résulté d’un gain moyen de 16 points de percentile dans les résultats scolaires.

De plus, trois cas particuliers sont à noter :
– Les boîtiers de réponse instantanée : dans les classe où ils étaient utilisés et favorisaient la participation constante des élèves, les gains atteignaient 26 points de percentile.

– L’utilisation de graphiques, images, vidéos et autres sources visuelles tirées par exemple d’Internet pour représenter l’information était aussi associée à un gain de 26 points de percentile chez les élèves.

– L’interactivité des activités présentées aux élèves au tableau, comme déplacer des objets vers un endroit spécifique, reconnaître les bonnes réponses à l’aide d’un signal sonore, et révéler des informations cachées derrières des objets à un moment opportun sont des pratiques associées avec un gain de 31 percentiles.

Malgré cela, près d’un quart des enseignants performaient mieux sans le tableau interactif.

L’étude a donc examiné les pratiques de ces enseignants de plus près :
– Leur utilisation des boîtiers de réponse instantanée se limitait à noter combien d’élèves avaient répondu telle ou telle réponse, et non à faire un retour et à comprendre pourquoi certains avaient la mauvaise réponse.

– Les supports visuels étaient montrés trop rapidement, sans laisser le temps aux élèves de bien les comprendre.

– Les supports visuels étaient trop chargés, rendant difficile l’identification des éléments vraiment importants dans la leçon.

– L’utilisation des confirmations sonores semblait plus pour le « spectacle » que pour le renforcement positif.

En résumé, voici ce que le chercheur propose aux enseignants qui souhaitent intégrer avec succès le tableau interactif dans leur classe.
– Il faut bien planifier comment on souhaite organiser l’information à présenter. Par exemple, grouper l’information en petits segments ayant un sens plutôt que présenter des pages trop remplies. Pour éviter de passer trop vite sur certaines pages, il suggère aussi d’insérer des pages rappelant de prendre son temps…
– Il faut utiliser des supports visuels, mais ces supports doivent réellement servir la leçon et être en lien avec ce qu’on veut atteindre comme objectif.
– Après avoir posé une question à laquelle les élèves ont répondu avec les boîtiers de réponse instantanée, il faut discuter de la bonne réponse et aussi du pourquoi des mauvaises réponses. Ainsi, on sort du simple quiz pour ajouter la dimension pédagogique.
– Si on utilise des confirmations de réponse sonores, comme des applaudissements, il faut s’assurer qu’elles ne sont pas trop distrayantes et qu’elles soutiennent l’attention et la motivation des élèves.

Les conclusions telles qu’exprimées par Robert Marzano peuvent être lues ici dans un article publié dans la revue Educational Leadership.

Par Audrey Miller

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. En 2021, elle est reçue à l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct