ADVERTISEMENT

The rat not guilty of the spread of the black plague

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

A recent study suggests that rats did not cause the spread of bubonic plague in the Middle Ages. Rather, it would be another type of rodent: the gerbil. Let's take a closer look at the Black Death epidemic that marked the history of the Middle Ages.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

“The Black Death is a bubonic plague pandemic, caused by the bacterium Yersinia pestis, which affected the European population between 1347 and 1352. It is neither the first nor the last epidemic of this type, but it is the only one to bear that name. On the other hand, it is the first epidemic in history to have been well described by contemporary chroniclers. "

Source: Wikipedia

“The American Academy of Sciences study claims that it is climate data that contradicts the fact that rats were responsible for the spread of plague epidemics that Europe experienced in the 14th century. the epidemics in Europe occurred after a rainy spring in Central Asia, followed by a hot summer. These conditions, which are bad for the black rat, are favorable to the Asian gerbil. "

Source: Radio-Canada

Through the next activities, students will learn more about the plague epidemic that ravaged Europe in the Middle Ages, but also about the disease situation that is still present in the world today.


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:

- Learn about living conditions in the Middle Ages;
- Analyze an image representing the plague in the Middle Ages;
- Find information on the black plague epidemic;
- Discover the plague situation in Madagascar and elsewhere in the world.


Suggested Activities

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

ANNONCE

Le rat non coupable de la propagation de la peste noire

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Une récente étude avance que les rats n’ont pas causé la propagation de la peste bubonique au Moyen Âge. Il s’agirait plutôt d’un autre type de rongeur : la gerbille. Étudions de plus près l’épidémie de peste noire qui a marqué l’histoire du Moyen Âge.
Classification des activités :

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

« La peste noire est une pandémie de peste bubonique, causée par la bactérie Yersinia pestis, qui a touché la population européenne entre 1347 et 1352. Elle n’est ni la première ni la dernière épidémie de ce type, mais elle est la seule à porter ce nom. En revanche, elle est la première épidémie de l’histoire à avoir été bien décrite par les chroniqueurs contemporains. »

Source : Wikipédia

« L’étude de l’Académie américaine des sciences affirme que ce sont les données climatiques qui contredisent le fait que les rats auraient été responsables de la propagation des épidémies de peste qu’a connue l’Europe au 14e siècle.Ces données démontrent que les épidémies qu’a connues l’Europe sont survenues après un printemps pluvieux en Asie centrale, suivi d’un été chaud.Ces conditions, néfastes pour le rat noir, sont favorables à la gerbille asiatique. »

Source : Radio-Canada

À travers les prochaines activités, les élèves en apprendront davantage sur l’épidémie de peste qui a ravagé l’Europe au Moyen Âge, mais aussi sur la situation de la maladie qui est toujours présente dans le monde aujourd’hui.


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :

– Prendre connaissance des conditions de vie au Moyen Âge;
– Analyser une image représentant la peste au Moyen âge;
– Trouver des informations sur l’épidémie de peste noire;
– Découvrir la situation de la peste à Madagascar et ailleurs dans le monde.


Suggestions d’activités

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir