Digital technology: an upheaval that will force us to rethink teaching pedagogy?

Digital technology is a profound change in our societies, which, for example, transforms relationships between people. The important thing is to understand that.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

We live in a constantly changing world, impacted by rapid technological advances. The way we work, go to our workplace, consume, spend our free time, communicate and even think, have undergone unprecedented changes under the influence of technology.

By Melanie Brockmann, France

These changes have imposed themselves on our daily lives with such rapidity and such ease that we feel obliged to better understand how this digital world works, if only to better measure the risks to which we are exposed. To manage this new environment, we are developing new skills to adapt to this new technological era.

Of course, we consult the Encyclopedia Universalis much less often than Wikipedia or Google, of course, our co-pilot no longer unfolds a road map against the dashboard of the car, but launches waze or Google Maps on his smartphone . These changes give rise to debates that seem to be only a reawakening of the quarrel between the ancients and the moderns, the avant-gardes and the reactionaries, the materialists and the idealists.

If these developments have impacted our daily lives in such a frontal and inevitable way, it is because they suggest that the digital world is at our level. We can understand it, apprehend it. To better manage this new environment, we can "improve our skills". And the question of competence seems to be a key notion of the change that is at work.

To use the radio or the TV remote control (to stay with examples of communication technologies), the rise in skills was not so significant, even if it was a small revolution with major consequences. Between the apprehension of the rotary volume control button of radio sets, the green arrow of VCR remote controls, the Nintendo joystick, the right click of the mouse, bluetooth, and the dialogue with Alexa of Lab126 from Amazon.com , there is a whole world…

Truly a world.

That is, strictly speaking, a new environment, a new web of relationships between individuals, between individuals and objects, between objects themselves. Depending on each other's orientations, we can choose to focus on technology, disruptive innovation, industry, or information networks. But, by focusing the reflection on this "rise in competence" to which the digital world commits us, we bring into the round, a sector still worried, shy, not historically prone to "disruption", that of education.

“Digital technology is a profound change in our societies, which, for example, transforms the relationships between people. The important thing is to understand that. Today's children will all learn computer languages, that's a fact. The real question is whether their parents will be able to do it too. " - Olivier Crouzet, educational director of École 42, Paris, France

The conductor of this new world, we are told, is the computer scientist. The computer engineer capable of creating the algorithms that precede or respond to technological advances. The computer languages he uses have a history, and his skill is less in his mastery of particular programming languages than in the logic behind them.

Programming, code, is now entering the school curriculum earlier and earlier. The Scratch software is a perfect example of the objectives of learning to code in primary school. The TICE, or even the Magic Makers' workshops are symptomatic of the sudden importance given to the logic of programming and the algorithm. Children are invited to understand the logic of command blocks and their sequences. Quite often, it's a matter of visually moving command bricks in a certain order. This arrangement of bricks will produce effects, a progression, a sequence of actions in playful environments.

It's not just about knowing how to talk to a machine, it's about understanding how the machine works. In the arrangement of command bricks, it is possible to create instructions, conditions, loops, to multiply possibilities, to test actions by executing them, to experience the logic of connections between actions and to adjust independently. There is little error in this learning. We experiment.

The tone is set. Here is an apprenticeship where we experiment. A learning or making mistakes is an experience which makes progress. Learning where you can have fun.

But it doesn't stop there.

Collaborative board games where there is no winner or loser, offers an abstraction of the logic of profit and success. It is a group that achieves or does not reach a goal, it is therefore a question of organizing collective intelligence. A practical programming workshop can be done in autonomy, but the spirit of this type of workshop finds all its meaning when it is approached in a collaborative mode. End of competition between individuals, from an early age, winning becomes a victory for all. Obtaining a complex result via control bricks that each group will have arranged, and which, once placed end to end, will produce the desired effect, is a victory for collective intelligence. In this new paradigm, children progress in "project mode".

The counterpart of this vision of learning is revealed in the latest advances in artificial intelligence. After e-learning and access to sometimes very specialized training without leaving your living room, here is the digital "machine" in a primary class can offer to adjust any type of classical learning (grammar, conjugation , spelling, vocabulary, foreign languages, mathematics, history, geography, literature, etc.) at the pupil's level. To achieve a learning objective, the intelligent software will adapt methods and content to the needs of the child. No more academic failure, the child will progress at a pace and according to a unique, personalized path, adapted to his own capacities, and not to his shortcomings.. To this, the collaborative mode invites children to help each other, to pool their efforts to discuss and think together in order to find the right answer.

We can thus see how this new digital environment does not only affect uses, practices and needs, but also values. Of course, we can be ironic, worry about this strange coincidence of a common vocabulary and values between startups, management and education.

It is a question of keeping our eyes wide open on this new environment with compromised logics with sectors known for their double talk. Thus, the expression of a critical concern remains the essential corollary to prevent any perversion, any discrepancy or reversal of the vocabulary and the values which are attached to it. When we talk about the digital world, we often evoke the idea of an ecosystem. In this ecosystem, the fear of misappropriation of values, false promises and the disappearance of all critical sense is part of the whole.

The SmartCity is barely developing with its procession of enthusiasm and fears, when a SmartSchool is already emerging, the promises of which sadly disturb our vision of the future. Making digital technology and its tools indispensable in the education of children looks like a factory for future Google users. Company that is defined by the transformation of the "uses" of a digital tool into sound and stumbling cash. However, the tactic is simple, the digital is everywhere, it is by nature apprehensible, it must therefore be understood as well as possible, and from an early age, to prevent overflows.

In this digital ecosystem, the “watchers” could well be embodied in education by teachers whose status, role, function and skills are bound to change. This is evidenced by the spirit of Ecole 42 in Paris. The teacher is a coach, a guide. For him, everything is already there, you just need to get on track and experiment with rigor and creativity.

Information and communication technologies are not a priori intended to serve a GAFAM (Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon and Microsoft). Calls to make these companies accountable testify to a very real threat as much as to the desire to pass digital challenges along paths where the fundamentals of the common good and the freedom of individuals will be preserved. In short, ethics.

What becomes of the educator, the teacher, the pedagogue in the world of smart objects of the SmartSchool? Is it enough to connect a school to a network for it to become smart?

Behind the digital, there are techniques, technologies, engineering, tools, but also profits and interests that are not always brilliant. There is sometimes a spirit of conquest, but also values, sharing and ideals. If it were necessary to "design" the teaching of tomorrow, the teacher could have this role of coordinator, organizer, facilitator. Organizing knowledge, experimenting with it, bringing out values, provoking discussion, criticism, arousing curiosity, giving a taste of the world to come, questioning information, uses, the flow of communication networks.

Once again, in the digital ecosystem, monitoring is essential. In political institutions, in social organizations, in business practices, monitoring is a primary concern. The watcher is a mutant capable of transmitting and prioritizing the flow of information with a critical mind, of categorizing products as well as tools. And the watchman learns from his watch. His permanent learning is reinforced by the knowledge of others. The learning relationship goes both ways. The watchman does not only watch over his tools or his connected networks. The watchman does not watch alone. The watchman enters into contact, exchanges with those to whom he transmits the information. And from this exchange is born the transmission. It is this articulation between the world Wide Web and the individuals who constitute it.

Between the pedagogue, the teacher, the coach and the watcher, a link draws the contours of a mutant educational system that could prepare the child to flourish in the connected world of tomorrow. Because the challenges of education remain the same, despite the digitization of disciplines: giving children every opportunity to flourish in a world of multiple contradictions, experiencing the complexity of socialization processes, to orient in the tumults of the inner life. In this new digital environment, it would seem that it is neither intelligent machines nor connected objects that will have any authority over the transmission of knowledge, but the mutants of the world to come.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le numérique : un bouleversement qui nous obligera à repenser la pédagogie de l’enseignement?

0

Nous vivons dans un monde en évolution permanente, impacté par les rapides avancées technologiques. Notre façon de travailler, de nous rendre sur notre lieu de travail, de consommer, de passer notre temps libre, de communiquer et même de penser, ont connu des changements sans précédent sous l’influence des technologies.

Par Melanie Brockmann, France

Ces changements se sont imposés dans notre quotidien avec une telle rapidité et une telle facilité que nous nous sentons dans l’obligation de mieux comprendre comment fonctionne ce monde numérique, ne serait-ce que pour mieux mesurer les risques auxquelles nous nous exposons. Pour gérer ce nouvel environnement, nous développons de nouvelles compétences afin de nous adapter à cette nouvelle ère technologique.

Bien sûr, nous consultons bien moins souvent l’Encyclopedia Universalis que Wikipedia ou Google, bien sûr, notre co-pilote ne déplie plus une carte routière contre le tableau de bord de l’automobile, mais lance waze ou Google Maps sur son téléphone intelligent. Ces changements suscitent des débats qui ne semblent être qu’un réveil de la querelle entre les anciens et les modernes, les avant-gardistes et les réactionnaires, les matérialistes et les idéalistes.

Si ces évolutions ont impacté notre quotidien de manière si frontale et inévitable, c’est parce qu’elles suggèrent que le monde numérique est à notre niveau. Nous pouvons le comprendre, l’appréhender. Nous pouvons, pour mieux gérer ce nouvel environnement, « monter en compétence ». Et la question de la compétence semble être une notion clé du changement qui est à l’œuvre.

Pour utiliser le poste de radio ou la télécommande du téléviseur (pour rester dans des exemples des technologies de la communication), la montée en compétence ne fut pas si prégnante, même s’il s’agissait d’une petite révolution aux grandes conséquences. Entre l’appréhension du bouton rotatif de contrôle de volume des postes radio, la flèche verte des télécommandes du magnétoscope, le joystick de la Nintendo, le clic droit de la souris, bluetooth, et le dialogue avec Alexa du Lab126 d’Amazon.com, il y a tout un monde…

Véritablement un monde.

Soit, à proprement parler, un nouvel environnement, un nouveau tissu de relations entre les individus, entre les individus et les objets, entre les objets eux-mêmes. Selon les orientations des uns et des autres, on pourra choisir de mettre l’accent sur la technologie, sur l’innovation disruptive, l’industrie, ou sur les réseaux d’information. Mais, en focalisant la réflexion sur cette « montée en compétence » à laquelle nous engage le monde numérique, nous faisons entrer dans la ronde, un secteur encore inquiet, timide, peu enclin historiquement à la « disruption », celui de l’éducation.

« Le numérique est un changement profond de nos sociétés, qui transforme par exemple les relations entre les gens. L’important est de comprendre ça. Les enfants d’aujourd’hui vont tous apprendre les langages informatiques, c’est un fait. La vraie question est de savoir si leurs parents seront capables de s’y mettre aussi. » – Olivier Crouzet, directeur pédagogique de l’École 42, Paris, France

Le chef d’orchestre de ce monde nouveau, nous dit-on, c’est l’informaticien. L’ingénieur en informatique capable de créer les algorithmes qui précèdent ou répondent aux avancées technologiques. Les langages informatiques qu’il utilise ont une histoire, et sa compétence est moins dans sa maîtrise de langages de programmation particuliers que dans la logique qui les préside.

La programmation, le code, entre désormais de plus en plus tôt dans les programmes scolaires. Le logiciel Scratch est un parfait exemple des objectifs visés par l’apprentissage du code en primaire. Le TICE, ou encore les ateliers des Magic Makers sont symptomatiques de la soudaine importance donnée à la logique de la programmation et de l’algorithme. Les enfants sont invités à appréhender la logique des blocs de commandes et de leurs enchainements. Bien souvent, il s’agit de déplacer visuellement des briques de commande dans un certain ordre. Cet agencement de briques va produire des effets, une progression, une suite d’actions dans des environnements ludiques.

Il ne s’agit pas simplement de savoir parler à une machine, il s’agit de comprendre comment fonctionne la machine. Dans l’agencement de briques de commandes, il est possible de créer des consignes, des conditions, des boucles, de multiplier des possibilités, de tester par l’exécution les actions, d’éprouver la logique des connexions entre des actions et de les ajuster en toute autonomie. On se trompe peu dans cet apprentissage. On expérimente.

Le ton est donné. Voici un apprentissage où on expérimente. Un apprentissage où se tromper est une expérience qui fait progresser. Un apprentissage où l’on peut s’amuser.

Mais ça ne s’arrête pas là.

Les jeux de plateau collaboratif où il n’y a ni gagnant, ni perdant, propose une abstraction de la logique du bénéfice et du succès. C’est un groupe qui atteint ou n’atteint pas un objectif, il s’agit donc d’organiser l’intelligence collective. Un atelier pratique de programmation peut se décliner en autonomie, mais l’esprit de ce type d’atelier trouve tout son sens lorsqu’il est appréhendé sur le mode collaboratif. Fin de la concurrence entre les individus, dès le plus jeune âge, gagner devient une victoire pour tous. Obtenir un résultat complexe via des briques de commandes que chaque groupe aura agencées, et qui, une fois mises bout à bout, produiront l’effet escompté, est une victoire de l’intelligence collective. Dans ce nouveau paradigme, les enfants progressent en « mode projet ».

Le pendant de cette vision de l’apprentissage se révèle dans les dernières avancées de l’intelligence artificielle. Après le e-learning et l’accès à des formations parfois très pointues sans bouger de son salon, voici que la « machine » numérique au sein d’une classe primaire peut proposer d’ajuster tout type d’apprentissage classique (grammaire, conjugaison, orthographe, vocabulaire, langues étrangères, mathématique, histoire, géographie, littérature…) au niveau de l’élève. Pour atteindre un objectif d’apprentissage, le logiciel intelligent va adapter méthodes et contenus aux besoins de l’enfant. Exit l’échec scolaire, l’enfant va progresser à un rythme et selon un chemin unique, personnalisé, adapté à ses propres capacités, et non à ses lacunes. À cela, le mode collaboratif invite les enfants à s’entraider, à mutualiser leurs efforts pour échanger et réfléchir ensemble afin de trouver la bonne réponse.

On voit ainsi comment ce nouvel environnement numérique n’affecte pas seulement des usages, des pratiques, des besoins, mais bien des valeurs. Bien entendu, on peut ironiser, s’inquiéter de cette étrange coïncidence d’un vocabulaire et de valeurs communes entre startups, management et éducation.

Il s’agit de garder les yeux grands ouverts sur ce nouvel environnement aux logiques compromises avec des secteurs connus pour leurs doubles langages. Ainsi, l’expression d’une inquiétude critique reste le corollaire indispensable pour prévenir toute perversion, tout écart ou retournement du vocabulaire et des valeurs qui s’y attachent. Lorsque l’on évoque le monde numérique, on évoque bien souvent l’idée d’un écosystème. Dans cet écosystème, la crainte du détournement des valeurs, des fausses promesses et de la disparition de tout sens critique est une partie du tout.

La SmartCity se développe à peine avec son cortège d’enthousiasme et de craintes, que déjà se profile une SmartSchool dont les promesses troublent avec mélancolie notre vision de l’avenir. Rendre indispensable le numérique et ses outils dans l’éducation des enfants ressemble à s’y méprendre à une fabrique de futurs utilisateurs de Google. Entreprise qui se définit par la transformation des « usages » d’un outil numérique en espèces sonores et trébuchantes. Pourtant, la tactique est simple, le numérique est partout, il est par nature appréhensible, il doit donc s’appréhender au mieux, et dès le plus jeune âge, pour en prévenir les débordements.

Dans cet écosystème du numérique, les « veilleurs » pourraient bien être incarnés au sein de l’éducation par les professeurs dont le statut, le rôle, la fonction et les compétences ne manqueront pas d’évoluer. En témoigne l’esprit de l’Ecole 42 à Paris. Le professeur est un coach, un guide. Pour lui, tout est déjà là, il suffit de se mettre sur les rails et d’expérimenter avec rigueur et créativité.

Les technologies de l’information et de la communication n’ont à priori pas vocation à servir un GAFAM (Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon et Microsoft). Les appels à responsabiliser ces entreprises témoignent d’une menace bien réelle autant que de la volonté de faire passer les enjeux du numérique par des sentiers où seront préservés les fondamentaux du bien commun et de la liberté des individus. Une éthique en somme.

Que devient l’éducateur, le professeur, le pédagogue dans le monde des objets intelligents de la SmartSchool? Est-ce qu’il suffit de brancher une école à un réseau pour qu’elle devienne smart?

Derrière le numérique, il y a des techniques, des technologies, de l’ingénierie, des outils, mais aussi des profits et des intérêts pas toujours reluisants. Il y parfois un esprit de conquête, mais aussi des valeurs, du partage et des idéaux. S’il fallait « designer » l’enseignement de demain, le professeur pourrait avoir ce rôle de coordinateur, d’organisateur, de facilitateur. Organiser le savoir, l’expérimenter, en faire jaillir des valeurs, provoquer l’échange, la critique, éveiller la curiosité, donner le goût du monde qui vient, questionner l’information, les usages, le flux des réseaux de communication.

Encore une fois, dans l’écosystème numérique, la veille est indispensable. Dans les institutions politiques, dans les organisations sociales, dans les pratiques métiers la veille est un souci primordial. Le veilleur est un mutant capable de transmettre et de hiérarchiser avec un esprit critique le flux des informations, de catégoriser les produits comme les outils. Et le veilleur apprend de sa veille. Son apprentissage permanent se renforce du savoir des autres. La relation d’apprentissage va dans les deux sens. Le veilleur ne veille pas que sur ses outils ou ses réseaux connectés. Le veilleur ne veille pas seul. Le veilleur entre en contact, échange avec ceux à qui il transmet l’information. Et de cet échange nait la transmission. Il est cette articulation entre le world wide web et les individus qui la constituent.

Entre le pédagogue, le professeur, le coach et le veilleur, un lien dessine les contours d’un système pédagogique mutant qui pourrait préparer l’enfant à s’épanouir dans le monde connecté de demain. Car les enjeux de l’éducation, eux, restent les mêmes, malgré la numérisation des disciplines : donner toutes les chances aux enfants de s’épanouir dans un monde aux contradictions multiples, faire l’expérience de la complexité des processus de socialisation, s’orienter dans les tumultes de la vie intérieure. Dans ce nouvel environnement numérique, il semblerait que ce ne soit ni les machines intelligentes, ni les objets connectés qui auront toute autorité sur la transmission du savoir, mais les mutants du monde qui vient.