The Gift of Reading celebrates the presentation of its 400,000th book!

At the end of the 16th edition of its Reading as a Gift program, the Literacy Foundation will give its 400,000th new children's book to a child living in underprivileged areas. This year alone, more than 40,000 books will be offered to young people aged 0 to 12 across Quebec.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

At the end of the 16e edition of its program Reading as a gift, the Literacy Foundation will donate its 400,000e new children's book for a child living in a disadvantaged environment. This year alone, more than 40,000 books will be offered to young people aged 0 to 12 across Quebec.

Since 1999, throughout the province, hundreds of thousands of new books have been distributed in the community.

This year, 40,022 books were collected from the general public and children's book publishers. Since the fall of 2014, the program has been able to count on the collaboration of 250 bookstores and libraries and on more than a hundred fundraising activities organized by businesses and individuals wishing to get involved in this great cause. All of these books have been sorted and categorized for distribution in the region of origin of each donor. Book distribution activities will take place in May 2015 in many of the 546 beneficiary establishments across Quebec: elementary schools, childcare centers (CPE), family community organizations (OCF) and non-profit organizations.

One of the objectives of the program being to arouse children's interest in reading from an early age, nearly 17,000 books will be distributed to children aged 0 to 5 years.

Salome_Corbo_sourire_hr
The actress Salomé Corbo, spokesperson this year.

Raise awareness among several generations
As part of the handing over of books, the Literacy Foundation also sets itself the task of making parents aware of their role as educators and role models. “It often happens that a parent with a weak reader takes a literacy initiative in order to be able to read a story to their child or help them with their homework,” said Diane Mockle, President and CEO of the Foundation. A reference line information sheet Info-Alpha (1 800 361-9142) accompanies the book given to each child in order to reach parents with weak readers.

It is the actress Salomé Corbo who acts as spokesperson this year. “Sometimes all it takes is a small window to better see the world around us. Giving a new book to a child means breaking through the wall, bringing in the light and finally allowing them to discover the field of possibilities, ”she emphasizes. The program Reading as a gift aims to prevent reading difficulties likely to lead to dropping out of school and then to illiteracy.

 

LectureCadeau

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

La lecture en cadeau célèbre la remise de son 400 000e livre!

Au terme de la 16e édition de son programme La lecture en cadeau, la Fondation pour l'alphabétisation remettra son 400 000e livre jeunesse neuf à un enfant vivant en milieu défavorisé. Cette année seulement, plus de 40 000 ouvrages seront offerts à des jeunes de 0 à 12 ans aux quatre coins du Québec.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Au terme de la 16e édition de son programme La lecture en cadeau, la Fondation pour l’alphabétisation remettra son 400 000e livre jeunesse neuf à un enfant vivant en milieu défavorisé. Cette année seulement, plus de 40 000 ouvrages seront offerts à des jeunes de 0 à 12 ans aux quatre coins du Québec.

Depuis 1999, dans toute la province, des centaines de milliers de livres neufs ont ainsi été distribués au sein de la communauté.

Cette année, 40 022 livres ont été recueillis auprès du grand public et des maisons d’édition de livres jeunesse. Depuis l’automne 2014, le programme a pu compter sur la collaboration de 250 librairies et bibliothèques et sur plus d’une centaine d’activités de collecte organisées par des entreprises et des personnes désireuses de s’engager dans cette belle cause. Tous ces livres ont été triés et catégorisés en vue de leur distribution dans la région de provenance de chaque donateur. Des activités de remise de livres auront ainsi lieu en mai 2015 dans bon nombre des 546 établissements bénéficiaires partout au Québec : écoles primaires, centres de la petite enfance (CPE), organismes communautaires Famille (OCF) et organismes sans but lucratif.

L’un des objectifs du programme étant de susciter l’intérêt des enfants pour la lecture dès le plus jeune âge, près de 17 000 livres seront distribués à des enfants âgés de 0 à 5 ans.

Salome_Corbo_sourire_hr
La comédienne Salomé Corbo, porte-parole cette année.

Sensibiliser plusieurs générations
Dans le cadre de la remise des livres, la Fondation pour l’alphabétisation se donne également comme mission de sensibiliser les parents à leur rôle d’éducateurs et de modèles. « Il arrive souvent qu’un parent faible lecteur entreprenne une démarche en alphabétisation afin de pouvoir lire une histoire à son enfant ou l’aider à faire ses devoirs », souligne Diane Mockle, présidente-directrice générale de la Fondation. Un feuillet de renseignements sur la ligne de référence Info-Alpha (1 800 361-9142) accompagne le livre remis à chaque enfant dans le but de rejoindre les parents faibles lecteurs.

C’est la comédienne Salomé Corbo qui agit en tant que porte-parole cette année. « Il suffit parfois d’une petite fenêtre pour mieux voir le monde qui nous entoure. Offrir un livre neuf à un enfant, c’est percer le mur, faire entrer la lumière et lui permettre enfin de découvrir le champ des possibles », souligne-t-elle. Le programme La Lecture en cadeau vise à prévenir les difficultés de lecture susceptibles de mener au décrochage scolaire puis à l’analphabétisme.

 

LectureCadeau

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :