ADVERTISEMENT

Day 7 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: Finnish inclusive education

Day 7 of the Quebec-Finland expedition: What the students call the “comprehensive school” translates into an “inclusive school”. It is the heart of the success of the Finnish school system. And the winning elements of this inclusion may not be what you expected!

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and documents it here!

“If this reform had not taken place, it is clear that my sisters and I would not have had the benefit of a good education. My father had clearly warned us that he could not afford it ”.

It is in these terms that the director of the Sodankylä school, Heidi Lakkala, described the educational reform which, in a way, is similar to that which followed the Parent Report in Quebec in 1964. That was in the early 1970s and ironically, Heidi would have been a school principal for her entire career. With two doctorates, she alone embodies the success of such a reform for which Finland is internationally renowned. Born into a poor family, she was part of the first cohort of reform students in 1972. With success, she continued her studies until the third cycle and she will have devoted her career to education not only to live. a life better off than the one she lived, when she was young, but she will have been able to help ensure that thousands of students can also take advantage of this inclusion in turn to seize the opportunity offered to them, that of benefit from an excellent education system offered to everyone, regardless of their socioeconomic status, regardless of their ethnic origin, gender or learner profile.

On a family level, when we met her, Heidi was celebrating the success of one of her son's doctorate in medicine, which she believes is attributable to the quality of the inclusive education that her son received throughout. his life, with parental support, of course!

What the Finns call in English the "comprehensive school", which we can translate as "the inclusive school", recognizes that each student is unique and that despite his profile, his difficulties and his origins, he has the right to an education. of quality, no matter where it is in Finland. This applies for Finns, Samis and immigrants.

Referring back to 1972, it was ambitious: to increase the quality of education, reduce inequities, especially those relating to students living outside urban areas, and train a highly qualified workforce. All this, by making this inclusive school compulsory from grades 1 to 9, after which students must choose a journey. The reform was imposed on an experimental basis, from north to south, from Lapland to the capital. The North really needed it: the population is mainly of Sami origin, lives far from urban centers and is dispersed in the vastness of the territory.

What does an inclusive school look like on the ground?

At the time, Finnish education was centralized and controlled by the government, despite the implantation of a deeply humanist vision in 1945, in the aftermath of World War II. Therefore, the Finns have consciously chosen to center the system on the pupil and not on the teacher or on the school structure per se. This priority remained for almost 30 years and served as the basis for the 1972 reform.

Inclusive schooling can therefore be considered at all levels of the Finnish school hierarchy. On the one hand, the government of the day transferred all its authority over education to the municipalities. In the same vein, city decision-makers recognize the importance of giving as much latitude as possible to teachers and school administrators; decisions should be made as close to the student as possible. Consequently, the municipal authority must give access to a maximum of resources to the teachers and the administration so that they can put in place the necessary measures to support the pupils in a suitable way. For its part, the administration must deploy an organizational model that allows teachers to collaborate in order to help students. School issues are more and more complex and collaboration, by pooling each other's strengths and ideas, makes it possible to better alleviate the students' difficulties. Finally, the teachers must exercise their autonomy on a daily basis and thus do everything in their power to provide the necessary assistance to the pupils, in the action and, also, to see to avoid the emergence of other problems of educational order.

Here is a convincing example. As we know, in the classes, there are students of different learning levels: summarily, there are those who experience difficulties, but there are also those who are performing, not to mention those who are in "the environment ". Consequently, after studying the profiles of the arriving pupils, the mathematics teachers of one level of the secondary school of Sodankylä choose to distribute the equivalent of three groups of pupils in four classes, with four teachers.

These classes are distributed as follows: a class of students in difficulty with few students, a class of successful students filled to the maximum with students who want and can go faster and further and two classes of students " means ". Teachers choose to overcrowd classes to offer a more favorable learning environment to those who need it, thanks to a teaching supervision which is intended to be proximal. This is the proposal that is formulated.

So far, nothing really revolutionary. However, this project involves the hiring of one more teacher, a project which will be carried by the school administration up to the Education Department of the City of Sodankylä. And it is not easy to carry such a file, because the teaching team of mathematics is not the only one with such an idea. Heidi Lakkala must therefore present her staffing needs in this regard, which this year includes 63 teachers and 21 teacher assistants for a school which aims for a maximum ratio of one teacher for sixteen students. It should be remembered that pupil-to-class ratios do not exist in Finland, which gives schools and municipalities the latitude to make their own decisions.

In short, inclusion in Finnish education is ...

The key to inclusion in Finnish schools is neither the professional autonomy of teachers nor of management; it is rather the recognition of this autonomy by the authorities.

The school is inclusive because those who are hard at work in it have power over its orientations.

The school is also inclusive because decisions are made close to the students and those who are in the decision-making cuckolds must put in place all the resources possible to allow the actors of the schools to make decisions according to the needs of the young people.

Nevertheless, the needs of the latter continue to become more complex and Heidi is worried about them: "since the pandemic, more young people are in distress and I feel that I am not able to help them all", says -she lowering her eyes. In short, an inclusive school is not a defined model: it is rather its capacity to constantly follow the needs of the students and to adapt to them, and therein lies the great challenge!

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Jour 7 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : l’éducation inclusive finlandaise

Jour 7 de l'expédition Québec-Finlande : Ce que les élèves appellent la « comprehensive school » se traduit par une « école inclusive ». C'est le coeur de la réussite du système scolaire finlandais. Et les éléments gagnants de cette inclusion ne sont peut-être pas ceux auxquels vous vous attendiez!

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

« Si cette réforme n’avait pas eu lieu, il est clair que mes soeurs et moi n’aurions pu profiter d’une bonne éducation. Mon père nous avait clairement averties qu’il n’en avait pas les moyens ».

C’est en ces termes que la directrice de l’école de Sodankylä, Heidi Lakkala, a décrit la réforme de l’éducation qui se veut, en quelque sorte, similaire à celle qui a suivi le Rapport Parent au Québec, en 1964. Ça, c’était au début des années 1970 et l’ironie du sort aura voulu que Heidi soit directrice d’école pendant toute sa carrière. Détentrice de deux doctorats, elle incarne à elle seule la réussite d’une telle réforme qui fait la renommée internationale de la Finlande. Née d’une famille pauvre, elle a fait partie de la première cohorte des élèves de la réforme en 1972. Avec succès, elle aura poursuivi ses études jusqu’au troisième cycle et elle aura consacré sa carrière à l’éducation pour non seulement vivre une vie mieux nantie que celle qu’elle a vécue, étant jeune, mais elle aura pu contribuer à faire en sorte que des milliers d’élèves puissent aussi profiter de cette inclusion à leur tour pour saisir la chance qui leur est offerte, celle de profiter d’un excellent système d’éducation offert à tous, peu importe leur situation socioéconomique, peu importe leur origine ethnique, leur genre ou leur profil d’apprenant.

Sur le plan familial, lorsque nous l’avons rencontrée, Heidi célébrait la réussite du doctorat en médecine d’un de ses fils, réussite attribuable, estime-t-elle, à la qualité de l’éducation inclusive dont son fils a bénéficié toute sa vie, avec le soutien parental, évidemment!

Ce que les Finlandais appellent en anglais la « comprehensive school », que nous pouvons traduire comme étant « l’école inclusive », reconnait que chaque élève est unique et que malgré son profil, ses difficultés et ses origines, il a droit à une éducation de qualité, peu importe où il se trouve sur le territoire finlandais. Cela s’applique pour les Finlandais, les Samis et les immigrants.

En se rapportant en 1972, c’était ambitieux : augmenter la qualité de l’enseignement, diminuer les iniquités, notamment, celles relatives aux élèves qui vivent hors des zones urbaines et former une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée. Le tout, en rendant cette école inclusive obligatoire de la 1re à la 9e année, après laquelle les élèves doivent choisir un parcours. La réforme a été imposée à titre expérimental, du nord vers le sud, de la Laponie vers la capitale. Le Nord en avait bien besoin : la population est majoritairement d’origine Samie, vit loin des centres urbains et est dispersée dans l’immensité du territoire.

À quoi une école inclusive ressemble-t-elle sur le terrain?

À l’époque, l’éducation finlandaise était centralisée et contrôlée par le gouvernement, malgré l’implantation d’une vision profondément humaniste en 1945, dans les suites de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Dès lors, les Finlandais ont choisi sciemment de centrer le système sur l’élève et non sur l’enseignant ou sur la structure scolaire en soi. Cette priorité est demeurée près de 30 années et a servi de base à la réforme de 1972.

L’école inclusive s’envisage donc à tous les niveaux de la hiérarchie scolaire finlandaise. D’une part, le gouvernement de l’époque a transféré toute son autorité en matière d’éducation aux municipalités. Dans la même veine, les décideurs de la ville reconnaissent l’importance de donner le plus de latitude possible aux enseignants et aux directions d’école; les décisions doivent se prendre le plus près possible de l’élève. En conséquence, l’instance municipale doit donner accès à un maximum de ressources aux enseignants et à la direction pour qu’ils puissent mettre en place les mesures nécessaires pour accompagner les élèves de façon convenable. De son côté, la direction doit déployer un modèle organisationnel qui permet aux enseignants de collaborer dans le but d’aider les élèves. Les problématiques scolaires sont de plus en plus complexes et la collaboration, par la mise en commun des forces et des idées de chacun, permet de mieux pallier les difficultés des élèves. Enfin, les enseignants, eux, doivent exercer leur autonomie quotidiennement et ainsi faire tout ce qui est en leur pouvoir pour apporter l’aide nécessaire aux élèves, dans l’action et, aussi, voir à éviter l’émergence d’autres problématiques d’ordre pédagogique.

Voici un exemple probant. Comme nous le savons, dans les classes, il y a des élèves de différents niveaux d’apprentissage : sommairement, il y a ceux qui éprouvent des difficultés, mais il y a aussi ceux qui sont performants, sans compter ceux qui sont dans « le milieu ». Conséquemment, après l’étude des profils des élèves qui arriveront, les enseignants de mathématiques d’un niveau de l’école secondaire de Sodankylä choisissent de répartir l’équivalent de trois groupes d’élèves dans quatre classes, avec quatre enseignants.

Ces classes se répartissent de la façon suivante : une classe d’élèves en difficultés avec peu d’élèves, une classe d’élèves performants remplie au maximum avec des élèves qui veulent et peuvent aller plus vite et plus loin et deux classes d’élèves « moyens ». Les enseignants font le choix de surcharger des classes pour offrir un environnement d’apprentissage plus propice à ceux qui en ont besoin, grâce à un encadrement enseignant qui se veut proximal. C’est la proposition qui est formulée.

Jusque là, rien de bien révolutionnaire. Toutefois, ce projet implique l’embauche d’un enseignant de plus, projet qui sera porté par la direction de l’école jusqu’à la direction de l’Éducation de la Ville de Sodankylä. Et ce n’est pas facile de porter un tel dossier, car l’équipe enseignante de mathématiques n’est pas la seule à avoir une telle idée. Heidi Lakkala doit ainsi présenter ses besoins d’effectifs enseignants en ce sens, lesquels comportent, cette année, 63 enseignants et 21 aide-enseignants pour une école qui vise un ratio maximal d’un enseignant pour seize élèves. Rappelons que les ratios d’élèves par classe n’existent pas en Finlande, ce qui donne la latitude aux écoles et aux municipalités de prendre leurs propres décisions.

En résumé, l’inclusion en éducation finlandaise, c’est…

La clé de l’inclusion dans les écoles finlandaises, ce n’est ni l’autonomie professionnelle des enseignants ni celle de la direction; c’est plutôt la reconnaissance de cette autonomie par les instances.

L’école est inclusive parce que ceux qui sont à pied d’œuvre dans celles-ci ont du pouvoir sur ses orientations.

L’école est inclusive aussi parce que les décisions se prennent près des élèves et que ceux qui sont dans les cocus décisionnels doivent mettre en place toutes les ressources possibles pour permettre aux acteurs des écoles la prise de décisions en fonction des besoins des jeunes.

Néanmoins, les besoins de ces derniers continuent de se complexifier et Heidi s’inquiète pour eux : « depuis la pandémie, plus de jeunes sont en détresse et j’ai l’impression de ne pas être en mesure de tous les aider », dit-elle en baissant les yeux. Bref, une école inclusive n’est pas un modèle défini : c’est plutôt sa capacité de suivre constamment les besoins des élèves et de s’y adapter, et il est là, le grand défi!

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :