ADVERTISEMENT

Day 3 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: A brief overview of the Finnish school system

Have you ever wondered about the similarities and differences that may exist between the Finnish and Quebec school systems? Find the answers to your questions in this little overview of the Finnish school system!

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and document it here!

Let's start with an interesting fact: the children of Finland start school a year after those of Quebec.

Indeed, what they call “päiväkoti” corresponds to preschool 4 years old for us, even if the little Finns are 5.

Our pupils enter kindergarten at age 5, while their Finnish companions at age 6 in the equivalent program: "esikoulu". Consequently, the former count on 23.5 hours of educational services per week, while the latter, on the other hand, count on 19 hours for the same period. From what I could understand, there is no rush: they will have their whole life to work. This would be why, in a caricatured way, school starts a year later than our children. In addition, in Quebec, unlike in Finland, kindergarten is not compulsory. 

Our students therefore begin their school career at 6 years old, compared to 7 for the Finns. The former rely on 25 hours of educational services per week and the latter slowly increase the load as they progress in their primary course: 

  • 1st and 2nd years: 20 hours;
  • 3rd year: 22 hours;
  • 4th year: 24 hours;
  • 5th and 6th years: 26 hours.

The rest of their secondary school career is divided into two stages. The first portion is what we might call “Lower secondary” for grades 7, 8 and 9. The students take classes there for the equivalent of 30 hours per week, while their fellow Quebecers take at least 25 hours of classes per week. 

The second portion includes the 10th, 11th and 12th years. The student then chooses one of the following two routes: 

He can continue to finish his secondary studies (“upper secondary”). This path will lead him directly to university and he has a very low dropout rate: 3 % (2019). 

He can also choose a vocational course in technical schools. These allow young people to explore trades that do not require university training, in one of the eight areas offered, including those stemming from technology, manual work and education. It is often said that there is no dead end in Finnish education. Indeed, this path can also lead to certain university programs. However, it presents a school dropout rate from 9.4 % (2019). 

School attendance is newly compulsory up to the age of 18, compared to 17 years earlier or 16 in Quebec. In addition, especially in the “upper” course, some students choose to do their three years in four years to finish their course at 19 in a less intensive way. 

Finally, for the more curious, the Finnish school year lasts 190 days and it runs from mid-August to the beginning of June. These are 10 days more than in Quebec. 

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Jour 3 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : Petit aperçu du système scolaire finlandais

Vous vous êtes déjà questionné sur les similarités et les différences qui peuvent exister entre les systèmes scolaires finlandais et québécois ? Trouvez les réponses à vos questions dans ce petit aperçu du système scolaire finlandais !

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

Débutons avec un fait intéressant : les enfants de la Finlande commencent l’école un an après ceux du Québec.

En effet, ce qu’ils appellent « päiväkoti » correspond à la prématernelle 4 ans pour nous, même si les petits Finlandais en ont 5.

Nos élèves entrent en maternelle à 5 ans, alors que leurs compagnons finlandais, eux, à 6 ans dans le programme équivalent : « esikoulu ». Dès lors, les premiers comptent sur 23,5 heures de services pédagogiques hebdomadairement, alors que les seconds, eux, comptent sur 19h pour la même période. Selon ce que j’ai pu comprendre, rien ne presse : ils auront toute leur vie pour travailler. Ce serait pourquoi, de façon caricaturale, l’école commence une année plus tardivement que nos enfants. De plus, au Québec, contrairement à la Finlande, la maternelle n’est pas obligatoire. 

Nos élèves amorcent donc leur parcours scolaire à 6 ans, contre 7 pour les Finlandais. Les premiers comptent sur 25 h de services pédagogiques par semaine et les seconds, eux, augmentent lentement la charge au fur et à mesure qu’ils évoluent dans leur parcours primaire : 

  • 1re et 2e années : 20 heures;
  • 3e année : 22 heures;
  • 4e année : 24 heures;
  • 5e et 6e années : 26 heures.

La suite de leur parcours scolaire au secondaire se divise en deux étapes. La première portion correspond à ce que nous pourrions qualifier de « début du secondaire » (Lower secondary ») pour la 7e, la 8e et 9e année. Les élèves y suivent des cours pour l’équivalent de 30 heures par semaine, alors que leurs compagnons québécois, eux, suivent minimalement 25 heures de cours par semaine. 

La deuxième portion inclut les 10e, 11e et 12e années. L’élève choisit alors un des deux parcours suivants : 

Il peut poursuivre la fin de ses études secondaires (« upper secondary »). Ce parcours le mènera directement à l’université et il présente un très faible taux de décrochage scolaire : 3 % (2019). 

Il peut aussi choisir un parcours vocationnel dans des écoles techniques. Ces dernières permettent aux jeunes d’explorer des métiers ne nécessitant pas de formation universitaire, dans l’un des huit volets proposés, dont ceux issus de la technologie, des travaux manuels et de l’éducation. On dit souvent qu’il n’y a pas de cul-de-sac en éducation finlandaise. En effet, ce parcours peut aussi mener dans certains programmes universitaires. Il présente toutefois un taux de décrochage scolaire de 9,4 % (2019). 

La fréquentation scolaire est nouvellement obligatoire jusqu’à 18 ans, comparativement à 17 ans auparavant ou à 16 ans au Québec. De plus, surtout dans le parcours « upper », des élèves choisissent de faire leurs trois années en quatre ans pour terminer leur parcours à 19 ans de façon moins intensive. 

Enfin, pour les plus curieux, l’année scolaire finlandaise dure 190 jours et elle s’échelonne de la mi-août au début juin. Ce sont 10 jours de plus qu’au Québec. 

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :