The effective approach to distance teaching

In this text, Véronique C. Plouffe proposes a series of strategies aimed at maximizing learning results in a distance education context while minimizing the amount of effort provided by teachers, in order to reduce the risk of burnout. professional.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

By Véronique C. Plouffe, MBA, CRHA, Professor of Business Administration, Collège La Cité and student at Laval University

In this text, Véronique C. Plouffe proposes a series of strategies aimed at maximizing learning results in a distance education context while minimizing the amount of effort provided by teachers, in order to reduce the risk of burnout. professional.

The appearance of COVID-19 generated a massive transfer to distance education in the spring of 2020. Originally, it was a question of being able to maintain access to education through technologies, which distance education in emergency situations is called (emergency remote teaching). 

Although a recent survey conducted in the United States indicates that 75 % college students (post-secondary) prefer classroom or hybrid education, several institutions have nonetheless observed some benefits of distance education and plan to keep it, at least in part, in their educational offer.

In this context, it becomes important to reflect on certain challenges brought by online education such as faculty mental health. They may experience exhaustion, demotivation and a feeling of incompetence in the face of a lack of resources or the overwhelming workload following the transfer to a distance learning mode. 

To reduce the risk of burnout, even more difficult to identify when working from home, here we offer you a series of strategies aimed at maximizing the possible learning outcomes in a distance education setting while minimizing the amount of teacher effort. They will also speak, we hope, as much to those who teach in education as to those in higher education. 

Introspection is in order

First, be aware of the state of mind with which you approach distance education. Do you hope that everything will go back to "as before" or do you think that you are bad with technologies? Choosing to see distance education as an opportunity to grow and develop skills would make it possible to change their perception of the situation

It is no longer a question of surviving distance education, but of thriving in it.

It is no longer a question of surviving distance education, but of thriving in it. 

We know that each teaching service involves a good dose of preparatory work. Start by recognizing your stress, beliefs and emotional work that distance education requires. A greater dose of empathy for yourself could relieve you of negative emotions that make the work harder to bear. 

Less is more!

In the preparation of educational activities, apply the 3 R rule : Reduce, Reuse and Recycle. 

First, we reduce by wondering about the need for this task that we want to accomplish to achieve the learning objective. Is this activity which will take an hour to prepare essential? This elaborate layout too? 

Then, we reuse it by checking whether we can adapt already existing activities. This is a great saving of time on the drafting of instructions, on the layout or the evaluation grid. 

Finally, we recycle by collaborating with colleagues and by using material already available on different sharing platforms (including here is a directory, in English) or through textbook publishers. We will then of course make sure to respect copyright.

Avoid always wanting to test and use new apps. The philosophy less is more also has its place in the choice of technological tools. You will save time by doing a limited selection of solutions which will be most effective for your teaching.

Each new tool involves time to become familiar with its components and adds time to support young people who use the tool for the first time. Focusing on a small bank of well-chosen tools will make your planning easier and reduce the stress associated with novelty.

Go to the point as to the information needed and the tasks to be accomplished. It can be easy to fall into the trap of wanting to give a little more in order to cover all the bases and think about meeting the expectations of the learners. Knowing that only 20 to 30 % of university students would actually read compulsory resources, an informed choice will avoid overloading for all.

Small practical tips

Take advantage of the benefits of distance learning to reduce the burden of preparing for courses. Rather than making long presentations (just as long to prepare and more or less listened to by the students), use asynchronous training to suggest existing readings or videos. In class, you can take the opportunity to discuss and suggest practice activities. 

Another idea to reduce preparation time when it comes to presenting theoretical content is to call on a guest specialist. Welcoming a new person into the classroom has the advantage of energizing the course and often arouses the interest of the students for a longer period, thanks to the novelty effect and the potential to develop their professional network for the older ones.

Receive a regular feedback encourages students to invest more in the preparation required between classes and keep them more motivated. Take advantage of your training platform to, if it allows it, program in advance recognition messages to be sent when a learner completes a task. He will automatically receive your messages of encouragement.

In conclusion…

Just as distance learning requires special skills in students of all ages, distance teaching also requires adapting to new ways of doing things. Although the teacher's objective remains the same, the means available and the working methods differ. The avenues presented in this article are only a brief overview. It's a safe bet that several other good practices will emerge over time.

Editor's note: This text was first published on the blog of the Chair of Leadership in Teaching (CLÉ) on innovative teaching practices in a digital context - National Bank. It has been edited for publication in our pages.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’approche efficace pour enseigner à distance

Dans ce texte, Véronique C. Plouffe propose une série de stratégies visant à maximiser les résultats d’apprentissage en contexte d’enseignement à distance tout en minimisant la quantité d’efforts fournis par les enseignants, ceci afin de réduire les risques d’épuisement professionnel.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Véronique C. Plouffe, MBA, CRHA, Professeure en administration des affaires, Collège La Cité et étudiante à l’Université Laval

Dans ce texte, Véronique C. Plouffe propose une série de stratégies visant à maximiser les résultats d’apprentissage en contexte d’enseignement à distance tout en minimisant la quantité d’efforts fournis par les enseignants, ceci afin de réduire les risques d’épuisement professionnel.

L’apparition de la COVID-19 a engendré un transfert massif vers l’enseignement à distance au printemps 2020. À l’origine, il s’agissait de pouvoir maintenir un accès à l’éducation par le biais des technologies, ce qu’on appelle de l’enseignement à distance en situation d’urgence (emergency remote teaching). 

Bien qu’un récent sondage mené aux États-Unis indique que 75 % des étudiants de niveau collégial (post-secondaire) préfèrent l’enseignement en classe ou en formule hybride, plusieurs institutions ont tout de même observé certains avantages à l’enseignement à distance et envisagent de maintenir celui-ci, du moins en partie, dans leur offre pédagogique.

Dans ce contexte, il devient important de réfléchir à certains défis apportés par l’enseignement en ligne comme la santé mentale du corps professoral. Celui-ci peut expérimenter de l’épuisement, de la démotivation et un sentiment d’incompétence devant le manque de ressources ou la charge de travail trop prenante suivant le transfert vers un mode d’enseignement à distance. 

Afin de réduire les risques d’épuisement professionnel, encore plus difficile à identifier en télétravail, nous vous proposons ici une série de stratégies visant à maximiser les résultats d’apprentissage possibles dans un contexte d’enseignement à distance tout en minimisant la quantité d’efforts fournis par l’enseignant. Ils parleront d’ailleurs, nous l’espérons, autant à ceux qui enseignent en éducation qu’à ceux de l’enseignement supérieur. 

Une introspection s’impose

Prenez d’abord conscience de l’état d’esprit avec lequel vous abordez l’enseignement à distance. Espérez-vous que tout redeviendra « comme avant » ou encore croyez-vous que vous êtes mauvais avec les technologies? Choisir de voir l’enseignement à distance comme une occasion de croître et de développer ses compétences permettrait de modifier sa perception de la situation

Il ne s’agit plus de survivre à l’enseignement à distance, mais d’y prospérer.

Il ne s’agit plus de survivre à l’enseignement à distance, mais d’y prospérer. 

On sait que chaque prestation d’enseignement implique une bonne dose de travail préparatoire. Commencez par reconnaître votre stress, vos croyances et le travail émotionnel que requiert l’enseignement à distance. Une plus grande dose d’empathie envers vous-même pourrait vous soulager d’émotions négatives rendant le travail plus lourd à porter. 

Moins, c’est plus!

Dans la préparation des activités pédagogiques, appliquez la règle des 3 R : Réduire, Réutiliser et Recycler. 

D’abord, on réduit en se questionnant sur la nécessité de cette tâche qu’on veut accomplir pour atteindre l’objectif d’apprentissage. Cette activité qui prendra une heure à préparer est-elle essentielle? Cette mise en page élaborée aussi? 

Ensuite, on réutilise en vérifiant si on peut adapter des activités déjà existantes. Il s’agit là d’une belle économie de temps sur la rédaction des consignes, sur la mise en page ou encore la grille d’évaluation. 

Finalement, on recycle en collaborant avec des collègues et en reprenant du matériel déjà disponible sur différentes plateformes de partage (dont voici un répertoire, en anglais) ou via les éditeurs de manuels scolaires. On s’assurera alors bien sûr de respecter les droits d’auteur.

Évitez de toujours vouloir tester et utiliser de nouvelles applications. La philosophie less is more a également sa place dans le choix des outils technologiques. Vous économiserez du temps en faisant une sélection limitée des solutions qui seront les plus efficaces pour votre enseignement.

Chaque nouvel outil implique du temps pour se familiariser avec ses composantes et ajoute au temps d’accompagnement auprès des jeunes qui utilisent l’outil pour la première fois. Vous concentrer sur une petite banque d’outils bien choisis facilitera votre planification et réduira le stress associé à la nouveauté.

Allez à l’essentiel quant à l’information nécessaire et aux tâches à accomplir. Il peut être facile de tomber dans le piège de vouloir en donner un peu plus afin de couvrir toutes les bases et penser combler les attentes des apprenants. Sachant que seulement 20 à 30 % des étudiant(e)s de niveau universitaire feraient réellement la lecture des ressources obligatoires, un choix éclairé évitera une surcharge pour tous.

Petits trucs pratiques

Profitez des avantages de l’enseignement à distance pour réduire la charge de préparation des cours. Plutôt que de faire de longs exposés (tout aussi longs à préparer et plus ou moins écoutés par les étudiants), utilisez la formation asynchrone pour proposer des lectures ou des vidéos existantes. En classe, vous pourrez en profiter pour discuter et proposer des activités de mise en pratique. 

Une autre idée pour réduire le temps de préparation lorsqu’il s’agit de présenter du contenu théorique est de faire appel à un spécialiste invité. Accueillir une nouvelle personne en classe a l’avantage de dynamiser le cours et attise souvent l’intérêt des étudiants pour plus longtemps, grâce à l’effet de nouveauté et le potentiel de développer leur réseau professionnel pour les plus vieux.

Recevoir une rétroaction régulière encourage les élèves à s’investir davantage dans la préparation requise entre les cours et les garde plus motivés. Profitez de votre plateforme de formation pour, si elle le permet, programmer à l’avance des messages de reconnaissance à envoyer lorsqu’un apprenant complète une tâche. Il recevra automatiquement vos messages d’encouragement.

En conclusion…

Au même titre qu’apprendre à distance requiert des habiletés particulières chez les étudiants de tous âges, enseigner à distance nécessite également de s’adapter à de nouvelles façons de faire. Bien que l’objectif de l’enseignant demeure le même, les moyens à disposition et les méthodes de travail diffèrent. Les pistes présentées dans cet article n’en sont qu’un court aperçu. Il y a fort à parier que plusieurs autres bonnes pratiques émergeront au fil du temps.

NDLR : Ce texte a d’abord été publié sur le blogue de la Chaire de leadership en enseignement (CLÉ) sur les pratiques pédagogiques innovantes en contexte numérique – Banque Nationale. Il a été édité pour sa publication dans nos pages.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :