ADVERTISEMENT

All I know is I don't know anything!

The director's corner: Marc-André Girard speaks today of the danger of not considering professional development in education as an integral part of the career of a teacher or a director. “I know what I know and I know a lot. But is it enough? I have often said it: in education, the most dangerous thing is to believe that you know everything about your profession. "

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

I know what I know and I know a lot. But is it enough? For many, regardless of their field of professional activity, that is enough. Indeed, part of what defines a professional is to know more than the average person about this field of activity. However, for others, this is insufficient, because what they know above all is that they do not know everything! In fact, the more we know, the more we realize that we know very little! In short, the extent of our knowledge helps us to become aware of our own ignorance. Phew! 

I have often said it: in education, the most dangerous thing is to believe that you know everything about your profession. Let us recall it bluntly: initial training initiated the teacher to the profession. It is continuing education that will allow him to flourish during his 35-year career with students, through various social changes. 

What about what I don't know yet? I take the time and the energy to discover it, one bite at a time, at a pace that varies from person to person, which is dictated not only by the need to acquire knowledge (learn to know), but above all for it. reinvest in practice (learn to act). Thus, as much as possible, I strive to promote my school by allowing others to benefit from it. The others are my colleagues and the partners in the education of young people entrusted to my care: the school team, the parents, the community, etc. 

When it comes to “whenever possible”, it must be understood that one can only act on one's own willingness to learn and develop professionally. Taking a few steady steps in this direction is a great start. However, to hope to be able to shine on your environment and initiate a potential domino effect, there are several other things to take into consideration. Here are a few :

  1. Organizational culture: Are there sharing mechanisms between colleagues? Are colleagues open to this kind of sharing? 
  2. Opening of the management: there are managers who fear those who shine and who try to limit the opportunities for professional development in this direction. Fortunately, the opposite is also true, others believe that a teacher who shines allows other teachers to do the same and thus ensure the influence of the school and its community, for the benefit of the students;
  3. Trust : to allow the dissemination of knowledge and practices, there is necessarily a certain level of friction of professional autonomy. Trust allows these areas of autonomy to tie up for a time and thus facilitate collaboration free from friction, rivalry or misplaced pride. 
  4. Management leadership: there is no recipe for perfect leadership because the context plays a major role, as do the personal traits of the leader.

The virtuous circle of continuing education

We all feel that we are competent in our respective fields. Come to think of it, feeling competent is insidious. Isn't it dangerous to claim to have a perfect (or almost) mastery of your profession? Shouldn't we all adopt a lifelong learner posture? However, as we learn more and share our experiences, we all realize that in fact we know very little about our own profession. Even when confronted with new knowledge, we sometimes wonder: "how come I didn't know this?" ". "How could I have intervened in such a way before? In a sense, we could speak of a feeling of healthy incompetence when we sometimes wonder how we managed to carry out our activities in a school setting without having had all this prior knowledge ... This is reminiscent, in a sense, of the Dunning-Kruger effect (of which I will have opportunity to speak again in a future article).

Fortunately, by taking the time to continue training, we tend to reduce this unpleasant feeling and start feeling competent again. This is how this virtuous circle begins, which shows us that we all have something to learn and that there is always room for improvement in our professional practice. What matters is to reinvest this learning as soon as possible. 

Sans titre.tiff
(c) Marc-André Girard, 2020

Thus, the main professional challenge that arises is to try to reduce the gap that opens between the extent of what we know and the amount of knowledge related to our field of expertise. If it is impossible to know everything and we must admit that there will always be an element of professional ignorance, the fact remains that it is our responsibility to take the necessary measures to reduce the said breach. . 

Contrary to what is often conveyed in education, what matters is not what we have in terms of didactic material (textbooks, notebooks, etc.) or technology (computer, Internet, etc.). It is also not the socioeconomic environment in which our school is located. What matters is what we know and, above all, what we know how to do with what we have. 

In fact, let me clarify: what matters is not what we know, but what we do not know. This forces us to be curious and to always want to know more in order to be able to do better what we already do well (to quote my colleague Jacques Cool). What we do know is a drop; what we don't know is an ocean. In this sense, Socrates was right: "All I know is that I know nothing"!

“All I know is I don't know anything. "

Socrates

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Tout ce que je sais, c’est que je ne sais rien!

Le coin du directeur : Marc-André Girard parle aujourd'hui du danger de ne pas considérer le développement professionnel en éducation comme faisant partie intégrante de la carrière d'un enseignant ou d'une direction. « Je sais ce que je sais et j’en connais beaucoup. Mais est-ce suffisant ? Je l’ai souvent dit : en éducation, le plus dangereux est de croire que l'on sait tout sur sa profession. »

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Je sais ce que je sais et j’en connais beaucoup. Mais est-ce suffisant? Pour plusieurs, peu importe leur champ d’activités professionnelles, cela suffit. En effet, une partie de ce qui définit un professionnel, c’est d’en savoir davantage que le commun des mortels sur ledit champ d’activité. Or, pour d’autres, ceci est insuffisant, car ce qu’ils savent par-dessus tout, c’est qu’ils ne savent pas tout! En fait, plus on en sait, plus on réalise qu’on en sait bien peu! Bref, l’étendue de nos connaissances aide à la prise de conscience de notre propre ignorance. Ouf! 

Je l’ai souvent dit : en éducation, le plus dangereux est de croire que l’on sait tout sur sa profession. Rappelons-le sans détour : la formation initiale initie l’enseignant à la profession. C’est la formation continue qui lui permettra de s’épanouir pendant 35 ans de carrière auprès des élèves, à travers les diverses mutations sociales. 

Et pour ce que je ne connais pas encore? Je prends le temps et l’énergie pour le découvrir, une bouchée à la fois, à un rythme qui varie selon les individus, lequel est dicté non seulement par la nécessité d’acquérir des connaissances (apprendre pour savoir), mais surtout pour les réinvestir dans la pratique (apprendre pour agir). Ainsi, dans la mesure du possible, je m’évertue à faire rayonner mon école en permettant aux autres d’en profiter. Les autres, ce sont mes collègues et les partenaires de l’éducation des jeunes confiés à mes bons soins : l’équipe-école, les parents, la communauté, etc. 

Lorsqu’il est question de la « mesure du possible », il faut comprendre qu’on ne peut agir que sur sa propre volonté d’apprendre et de se développer professionnellement. Faire quelques pas réguliers en ce sens, c’est un excellent début. Cependant, pour espérer pouvoir rayonner sur son milieu et initier un potentiel effet domino, il y a plusieurs autres choses à prendre en considération. En voici quelques-unes :

  1. Culture organisationnelle : y a-t-il des mécanismes de partage entre collègues? Les collègues sont-ils ouverts à ce genre de partage? 
  2. Ouverture de la direction : il existe des directions qui craignent ceux qui rayonnent et qui tentent de limiter les occasions de développement professionnel en ce sens. Heureusement, le contraire est aussi vrai, d’autres croient qu’un enseignant qui rayonne permet à d’autres enseignants de faire de même et ainsi, d’assurer le rayonnement de l’école et de sa communauté, au bénéfice des élèves;
  3. La confiance : pour permettre le rayonnement de la connaissance et des pratiques, il y a nécessairement un certain niveau de friction des autonomies professionnelles. La confiance permet à ces zones d’autonomies de s’arrimer pour un temps et ainsi faciliter une collaboration exempte de frictions, rivalités ou orgueil déplacé. 
  4. Le leadership de la direction : il n’existe aucune recette de leadership parfait car le contexte joue un rôle prépondérant, tout comme les traits personnels du leader.

Le cercle vertueux de la formation continue

Nous avons tous l’impression d’être compétents dans nos domaines respectifs. En y pensant bien, le fait de se sentir compétent est insidieux. N’est-ce pas dangereux de prétendre maîtriser parfaitement (ou presque) sa profession? Ne devrions-nous pas tous adopter une posture d’apprenant à vie? Toutefois, en approfondissant nos connaissances et en partageant nos expériences, nous réalisons tous qu’en fait, nous n’en connaissons que très peu sur notre propre profession. Même que, lorsque confrontés à de nouvelles connaissances, nous nous questionnons parfois : « comment se fait-il que je ne savais pas ceci? ».  « Comment ai-je pu intervenir de telle façon auparavant? » En un sens, nous pourrions parler d’un sentiment de saine incompétence lorsqu’on se demande parfois comment on a fait pour mener nos activités dans un cadre scolaire sans avoir eu toutes ces connaissances préalables… Cela n’est pas sans rappeler, en un sens, l’effet Dunning-Kruger (dont j’aurai l’occasion de reparler dans un prochain article).

Heureusement, en prenant le temps de continuer à se former, on a tendance à diminuer ce sentiment désagréable et recommencer à se sentir compétent. Ainsi s’initie ce cercle vertueux qui nous démontre que nous en avons tous à apprendre et qu’il y a toujours place à l’amélioration dans notre pratique professionnelle. Ce qui importe, c’est de réinvestir ces apprentissages aussitôt que possible. 

Sans titre.tiff
(c) Marc-André Girard, 2020

Ainsi, le principal défi professionnel qui se pose est de tenter de diminuer la brèche qui s’ouvre entre l’étendue de ce que nous connaissons et la somme des connaissances reliées à notre champ d’expertise. S’il est impossible de tout savoir et qu’il faut admettre qu’il y aura toujours une part d’ignorance professionnelle, il n’en demeure pas moins qu’il est de notre responsabilité de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour réduire ladite brèche. 

Contrairement à ce qui est souvent véhiculé en éducation, ce qui importe, ce n’est pas ce qu’on possède en termes de matériel didactique (manuels, cahiers, etc.) ou technologique (ordinateur, Internet, etc.). Ce n’est pas non plus l’environnement socioéconomique dans lequel notre école est implantée. Ce qui importe, c’est ce que nous savons et, surtout, ce que nous savons faire avec ce que nous avons. 

En fait, je précise : ce qui compte n’est pas ce que nous savons, mais bien ce que nous ne savons pas. Cela nous force à être curieux et à toujours vouloir en savoir plus pour pouvoir faire mieux ce que l’on fait déjà bien (pour citer mon collègue Jacques Cool). Ce que nous savons est une goutte; ce que nous ignorons est un océan. En ce sens, Socrate avait bien raison : « Tout ce que je sais, c’est que je ne sais rien »!

« Tout ce que je sais, c’est que je ne sais rien. »

Socrate

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!