ADVERTISEMENT

"I made two virtual reality films against bullying with my students"

Bullying in schools is a universal reality. More specifically, in the Wallonia-Brussels region of Belgium, one in three students is a victim. Young people have chosen to write and produce two documentaries to raise awareness of this reality among their peers and thus reduce the number of harassment situations in their environment.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Bullying in schools is a universal reality. More specifically, in the Wallonia-Brussels region of Belgium, one in three students is a victim. Young people have chosen to write and produce two documentaries to raise awareness of this reality among their peers and thus reduce the number of harassment situations in their environment.

Social studies teacher Laurent Di Pasquale guided and accompanied them in this project. As the pandemic was in full swing and student morale was down in January 2021, he had the idea of proposing that they make a film in virtual reality to engage them in a collective and collaborative project. In the end, two films were made and his students chose the theme of bullying.

He shared his experience at the most recent AQUOPS conference held in Quebec City from April 12 to 14, 2022. It also offers several resources within a collaborative Padlet wall.

Why virtual reality?

Virtual reality allows to digitally simulate an environment. Depending on the technologies used (headset or other), it allows to create an immersive atmosphere for the viewer. "We create emotion!"

It is possible to watch already existing productions, on YouTube for example. Some of them even offer possibilities of interaction in the environment. The most adventurous will create their own productions from a 360 degree camera.

Laurent saw an educational potential in this technology. To motivate his students, of course, to allow them to realize a complex project from A to Z, but also to offer them the possibility to create positive memories in a rather depressing period. 

"We were alternating school and home at 50 % of the time. We all needed to find meaning in what we were doing, to have fun together. My students will remember that year (2021) as the year they made virtual reality films, not the year of confinement!" the teacher says.

Two documentaries

Two films were made. The first video allows you to put yourself in the shoes of a student who is being bullied at school; the second in the posture of the witness. The perspective used, the ambient sounds (notably heartbeats and voices), everything is designed to allow the audience to live and feel the moment, from emotions to discomfort. In the end, they become aware of the impact of harassment on the victims. 

Prior to filming, the students researched bullying to better understand the phenomenon. Each student then wrote a script proposal that was evaluated by the teacher. The final script was created by merging all of these proposals.

The technological equipment to be used for shooting and editing is presented in the Padlet. Suggestions can even be added if you have already experienced such a project. Laurent himself did the editing, under the constant encouragement of his students in the #Teams channel dedicated to the project.

The benefits of this project

  • Work on cross-cutting skills (e.g. reading and writing)
  • Work on 21st century skills (e.g., collaboration and communication)
  • Giving meaning to learning
  • Motivating students
  • Develop self-confidence

Awareness-raising work

Once the videos were complete, the kids didn't stop there. Their school purchased 10 Oculus Quest 2 virtual reality headsets at the start of the 2022 school year. Workshops were then able to be held for other students in the school to view the documentaries and share their thoughts about bullying. A team of students is now self-sufficient in supporting the use of the headsets in the school, as well as being able to do anti-bullying prevention.

Before a workshop is held

  • Think about the spatial organization of the classroom
  • Think about the need and have a goal in mind
  • Start with one helmet and increase the number gradually

During the workshop

  • Regularly and verbally check that the use is going well
  • Offer time without headphones for discussion
  • Ensure that no one experiences physical discomfort (nausea or headaches) with the use of the helmets

"Emotions support attention, working memory, encoding, consolidation in memory or even processes related to executive control." - Sander, 2013

Have you ever done a virtual reality video project with your students? Write to us: we would love to share your experience!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

« J’ai réalisé deux films en réalité virtuelle contre le harcèlement avec mes élèves »

L’intimidation en contexte scolaire est une réalité universelle. Plus précisément, dans la région de Wallonie-Bruxelles en Belgique, un élève sur trois en est victime. Des jeunes ont choisi de scénariser et de réaliser deux documentaires pour sensibiliser leurs camarades à cette réalité et ainsi diminuer le nombre de situations de harcèlement dans leur milieu.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’intimidation en contexte scolaire est une réalité universelle. Plus précisément, dans la région de Wallonie-Bruxelles en Belgique, un élève sur trois en est victime. Des jeunes ont choisi de scénariser et de réaliser deux documentaires pour sensibiliser leurs camarades à cette réalité et ainsi diminuer le nombre de situations de harcèlement dans leur milieu.

C’est l’enseignant de sciences sociales Laurent Di Pasquale qui les a guidés et accompagnés dans ce projet. Alors que la pandémie battait son plein et que le moral des élèves était en baisse en janvier 2021, il a eu l’idée de leur proposer de réaliser un film en réalité virtuelle pour les engager dans un projet collectif et collaboratif. Ce sont finalement deux films qui ont été réalisés et ce sont ses élèves qui ont choisi le thème de l’intimidation.

Il a partagé son expérience lors du plus récent colloque de l’AQUOPS qui s’est tenu à Québec du 12 au 14 avril 2022. Il offre aussi plusieurs ressources à l’intérieur d’un mur Padlet collaboratif.

Pourquoi la réalité virtuelle?

La réalité virtuelle permet de simuler numériquement un environnement. Selon les technologies utilisées (casque ou autres), elle permet de créer une ambiance immersive pour celui qui visionne la production. « On crée de l’émotion! »

Il est possible de regarder des productions déjà existantes, sur YouTube par exemple. Certaines offrent même des possibilités d’interaction dans l’environnement. Les plus aventuriers créeront eux-mêmes leurs productions à partir d’une caméra 360 degrés.

Laurent a vu un potentiel pédagogique dans cette technologie. Pour motiver ses élèves, bien sûr, pour leur permettre de réaliser un projet complexe de A à Z, ensuite, mais également pour leur offrir la possibilité de créer des souvenirs positifs dans une période assez déprimante. 

« Nous étions en alternance école-maison à 50 % du temps. Nous avions tous besoin de trouver du sens dans ce que nous faisons, d’avoir du plaisir ensemble. Mes élèves se souviendront de cette année-là (2021) comme étant celle où ils ont réalisé des films en réalité virtuelle et non pas comme de l’année du confinement! », dit l’enseignant.

Deux documentaires

Deux films ont été réalisés. La première vidéo permet de se mettre dans la peau d’un élève qui subit du harcèlement à l’école; la deuxième dans la posture du témoin. La perspective utilisée, les sons d’ambiance (notamment des battements de cœur et des voix), tout est pensé pour permettre aux spectateurs de vivre et ressentir le moment, des émotions jusqu’à l’inconfort. Au final, ils prennent conscience de l’impact du harcèlement sur les victimes. 

Avant de passer au tournage, les élèves ont effectué des recherches sur le harcèlement pour mieux comprendre le phénomène. Chacun a ensuite rédigé une proposition de scénario qui a été évaluée par l’enseignant. C’est la fusion entre toutes ces propositions qui a permis de constituer le scénario final.

Le matériel technologique à utiliser pour le tournage et le montage est présenté dans le Padlet. Des suggestions peuvent même être ajoutées si vous avez déjà expérimenté un tel projet. C’est Laurent lui-même qui s’est chargé du montage, sous les encouragements constants de ses élèves dans le canal #Teams dédié au projet.

Les avantages de ce projet

  • Travailler des compétences de façon transversale (ex. lire et écrire)
  • Travailler des compétences du 21e siècle (ex. : collaboration et communication)
  • Donner du sens aux apprentissages
  • Motiver les élèves
  • Développer la confiance en soi

Travail de sensibilisation

Une fois les vidéos terminées, les jeunes ne se sont pas arrêtés là. Leur école a fait l’achat de 10 casques de réalité virtuelle Oculus Quest 2 à la rentrée 2022. Des ateliers ont alors pu être organisés pour permettre à d’autres élèves de l’établissement de visionner les documentaires et de partager leurs impressions au sujet de l’intimidation. Une équipe d’élèves est maintenant autonome pour soutenir l’utilisation des casques dans l’école, en plus de pouvoir faire de la prévention contre le harcèlement.

Avant la tenue d’un atelier

  • Réfléchir à l’organisation spatiale de la classe
  • Réfléchir au besoin et avoir un objectif en tête
  • Débuter avec un seul casque et augmenter le nombre progressivement

Pendant l’atelier

  • S’assurer régulièrement et oralement que l’utilisation se déroule bien
  • Proposer du temps sans casque pour discuter
  • S’assurer que personne n’a d’inconfort physique (nausées ou maux de tête) avec l’utilisation des casques

« Les émotions soutiennent l’attention, la mémoire de travail, l’encodage, la consolidation en mémoire ou encore des processus liés au contrôle exécutif. » – Sander, 2013

Avez-vous déjà réalisé un projet de vidéo en réalité virtuelle avec vos élèves? Écrivez-nous : nous aimerions partager votre expérience!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :