Implementing technological assistance tools in disadvantaged areas: the experience of a secondary 1 French teacher

Ms. Dominique first integrated a student entitled to a laptop in her class in 2007. “At that time, I had thirty-two students! »Recalls the teacher. "I could hardly see how I was going to take care of it…". Here is where it is today.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Ms. Dominique first integrated a student entitled to a laptop in her class in 2007. “At that time, I had thirty-two students! »Recalls the teacher. "I could hardly see how I was going to take care of it…". Here is where it is today.

By Pierre-Yves Longval, orthopedagogue
Henri-Bourassa High School

The class changes, evolves, transforms over time. Teachers must constantly renew themselves to stay in tune with social changes, whether by using teaching methods adapted to their clientele or constantly reinvented teaching tools. The integration of digital tools is one of the great challenges of the teaching task. Each teacher experiences this transition in a way that is specific to him and that is influenced in particular by the socio-economic context, the resources offered by the school, the difficulties of the pupils having to be the subject of compensation measures and, also according to its own relation to IT tools. Success stories rub shoulders with the less enviable, to the rhythm of the combination of variables that are sometimes difficult to control. Here is the story of professionals from Henri-Bourassa high school, in Montreal-North, and their experience of integrating technology into teaching.

 . . .

Dominique Patenaude teaches French in first secondary. This year, it has three small groups (approximately 10 pupils per group), made up of pupils with learning difficulties without having behavioral difficulties. She uses digital tools mainly to compensate for learning difficulties in reading and writing of her students (automatic correctors, virtual dictionaries, speech synthesis, word predictors, etc.). Dominique has been teaching for twenty-one years. 

Dominique integrated for the first time in her class a pupil entitled to a laptop computer in 2007. At the time of the intervention plans written by hand and the communications "paper" in a dovecote, this young girl of the first secondary came to class as an ambassador, with her three-centimeter-thick laptop. “At that time, I had thirty-two students! »Recalls the teacher. "I could hardly see how I was going to take care of it…". She remembers being supported by a specialist remedial teacher who would pick up the student from class to take him to his office to help him perform tasks requiring the use of the computer. "I washed my hands of it a bit!" She admits, remembering that time. 

Today, Dominique no longer washes his hands of it. On the contrary, she now plunges them, without restraint, into the digital soup. In some of her groups, she may have to use the technological tools for more than half of the students in the class, depending on the task they have to perform.

According to the teacher, and in her specific case, the transition to the use of adapted software and various tools was done quietly, without too many obstacles. Each year, she always saw one more student for whom she had to consider using a digital alternative related to a learning disability. "I wanted to understand the difficulties that the students could experience", launches Dominique passionately, specifying that before knowing what software can do for the student, it is necessary to understand the difficulties which justify its use. “Otherwise, we apply without knowing what we are doing. "

Take the time to empower students to save time

While she appreciates the undeniable and increasingly essential contribution of technologies to her teaching, the first-secondary school teacher nonetheless names obstacles to the integration of the latter. The main irritant, she says, is the addition of work time to an already crowded schedule. “We're always in the action, it's going fast! ". She estimates that she needs double the preparation time to build a business. Indeed, integrating reading and writing assistance software does not happen by itself: when it is not already, it is necessary to digitize the documents, organize them, make sure that the computers work well. and ensure that the student is able to access it.

And despite impeccable preparation, we must anticipate that the student may need help with computer manipulations. Dominique therefore often finds himself in front of students who may have the capacity to perform a task, but who are held back by a lack of technical skills. “They often do not master the basic functions, such as creating a folder to save their texts. We often have to explain it again, ”she says. “I give recovery capsules because in class, I can't do it,” she adds.

The teacher therefore invests time to increase the autonomy of her students in connection with the use of their tools, and this, explicitly during recovery periods that take place at noon or after school. . Fortunately, this strategy works.

A socio-economic context to consider

Another challenge that Dominique Patenaude faces comes from the complex socio-economic context of the neighborhood in which she works (Montreal-North). Coming from all over the world and often struggling to meet their basic needs, poor families entrust their children to her so that they can learn. “Parents work hard and are sometimes in 'survival' mode. Several of my students, mainly those from the hospitality sector, have never had contact with a computer, ”she says. “We live with a language barrier and a lived barrier. She considers it very important to highlight the direct influence of context on the success of a digital plan. It is impossible, in his professional reality, to ignore it.

That said, the teacher is encouraged by the positive effects of using technology for students who need it. Reading difficulties are therefore very well compensated for by text-to-speech software, and the different types of digital dictionaries and automatic correctors promote the production of coherent and readable texts.

Cohesion between teachers and staff: factors for success

According to Dominique Patenaude, we must continue to promote the integration of technological aids by working together, between stakeholders, to make the process universal and cohesive. “You have to have a solid routine. Not just with the students: between us, between teachers, ”she said. “If students developed the same routine of using the computer in the same way, in all classes, they would learn it much faster. "

In addition to the concept of participation and cohesion between teachers in digital practices, the teacher also includes school organization in her reflections and wants the time invested in developing computer skills in students to be recognized. As a tip, she adds for young teachers: “Let your principals know how much time you are investing in these adaptations and ask them to support you. Ask the school workers for help so that they get involved with you for the students who benefit from these tools. Do not remain alone with this management. "

Finally, she reiterates the importance of taking the time to read the help files and consult the intervention plans before attempting to integrate any help tool whatsoever. It also underlines the relevance of consulting the stakeholders responsible for these files and inviting them to get involved in concerted and concrete actions.

This is how Dominique Patenaude perceives the evolution of digital technology, in its context, in his school. For her, the success of the digital switchover, of this inevitable social project that all teachers will sooner or later face, lies in the ability of an environment to work as a team.

We will bring you more visions of teachers from this school over the next few months!

Additional Resources

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Implanter des outils d’aide technologique en milieu défavorisé : l’expérience d’une enseignante de français de 1re secondaire

Mme Dominique a intégré pour la première fois dans sa classe une élève ayant droit à un ordinateur portable en 2007. « À cette époque, j’avais trente-deux élèves! » se rappelle l’enseignante. « Je voyais difficilement comment j’allais m’en occuper… ». Voici où elle en est aujourd’hui.

Par Pierre-Yves Longval, orthopédagogue
École secondaire Henri-Bourassa

La classe change, évolue, se transforme au fil du temps. Les enseignants doivent perpétuellement se renouveler pour rester au diapason des changements sociaux, que ce soit en ayant recours à des méthodes pédagogiques adaptées à leur clientèle ou à des outils didactiques sans cesse réinventés. L’intégration des outils numériques est l’un des grands défis de la tâche enseignante. Chaque enseignant vit cette transition d’une façon qui lui est propre et qui est influencée notamment par le contexte socio-économique, les ressources offertes par l’école, les difficultés des élèves devant faire l’objet de mesures de compensation et, aussi, selon son propre rapport aux outils informatiques. Les histoires à succès côtoient les moins enviables, au rythme de l’agencement de variables qu’on contrôle parfois difficilement. Voici le récit de professionnel(le)s de l’école secondaire Henri-Bourassa, à Montréal-Nord, et leur expérience d’intégration de la technologie en enseignement.

 . . .

Dominique Patenaude enseigne le français en première secondaire. Elle a cette année trois groupes à effectifs réduits (10 élèves par groupe, environ), composés d’élèves ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage sans avoir de difficultés de comportement. Elle utilise les outils numériques principalement pour compenser des difficultés d’apprentissage en lecture et en écriture de ses élèves (correcteurs automatiques, dictionnaires virtuels, synthèse vocale, prédicteurs de mots, etc.). Dominique enseigne depuis vingt et un ans. 

Dominique a intégré pour la première fois dans sa classe une élève ayant droit à un ordinateur portable en 2007. À l’époque des plans d’intervention écrits à la main et des communications « papier » dans un pigeonnier, cette jeune fille de première secondaire est arrivée en classe comme une ambassadrice, avec son ordinateur portable de trois centimètres d’épaisseur. « À cette époque, j’avais trente-deux élèves! » se rappelle l’enseignante. « Je voyais difficilement comment j’allais m’en occuper… ». Elle se rappelle avoir été soutenue par un orthopédagogue spécialisé qui allait chercher l’élève en classe pour l’emmener dans son bureau afin de l’aider à exécuter les tâches nécessitant l’utilisation de l’ordinateur. « Je m’en lavais un peu les mains! » admet-elle en se remémorant cette époque. 

Aujourd’hui, Dominique ne s’en lave plus les mains. Au contraire, elle les plonge maintenant, sans retenue, dans la soupe numérique. Dans certains de ses groupes, elle peut avoir à utiliser les outils technologiques pour plus de la moitié des élèves de la classe, selon la tâche qu’ils ont à effectuer.

Selon l’enseignante, et dans son cas spécifique, la transition vers l’utilisation des logiciels adaptés et des divers outils s’est faite tranquillement, sans trop de heurts. Chaque année, elle voyait toujours un élève de plus pour qui elle devait envisager d’employer une solution de rechange numérique en lien avec une difficulté d’apprentissage. « J’ai voulu comprendre les difficultés que les élèves pouvaient vivre », lance passionnément Dominique, en précisant qu’avant de connaître ce que les logiciels peuvent faire pour l’élève, il faut comprendre les difficultés qui en justifient l’utilisation. « Autrement, on applique sans savoir ce que l’on fait. »

Prendre le temps d’autonomiser les élèves pour gagner du temps

Si elle apprécie l’apport indéniable et de plus en plus indispensable des technologies dans son enseignement, la titulaire de première secondaire nomme toutefois des obstacles à l’intégration de ces dernières. L’irritant principal, confie-t-elle, est l’ajout de temps de travail à un agenda déjà surchargé. « On est toujours dans l’action, ça va vite! ». Elle estime qu’il lui faut le double du temps de préparation pour construire une activité. En effet, intégrer les logiciels d’aide à la lecture et à l’écriture ne se fait pas tout seul : lorsqu’ils ne le sont pas déjà, il faut numériser les documents, les organiser, s’assurer que les ordinateurs fonctionnent bien et s’assurer que l’élève soit capable d’y avoir accès.

Et malgré une préparation impeccable, il faut anticiper que l’élève aura peut-être besoin d’aide pour les manipulations informatiques. Dominique se retrouve donc souvent devant des élèves qui ont peut-être la capacité d’effectuer une tâche, mais qui sont freinés par un manque de compétences techniques. « Ils ne maîtrisent souvent pas les fonctions de base, comme créer un dossier pour enregistrer leurs textes. On doit souvent le réexpliquer, » précise-t-elle. « Je donne des capsules en récupération parce qu’en classe, je n’y arrive pas » ajoute-t-elle.

L’enseignante investit donc du temps pour augmenter l’autonomie de ses élèves en lien avec l’utilisation de leurs outils, et ce, de façon explicite lors de périodes de récupération qui ont lieu sur l’heure du midi ou après l’école. Heureusement, cette stratégie fonctionne.

Un contexte socio-économique à considérer

Un autre défi auquel Dominique Patenaude fait face provient du contexte socio-économique complexe du quartier au sein duquel elle travaille (Montréal-Nord). Provenant des quatre coins du monde et luttant souvent pour subvenir à leurs besoins de base, des familles démunies lui confient leurs enfants afin qu’ils puissent apprendre. « Les parents travaillent fort et sont parfois en mode « survie ». Plusieurs de mes élèves, principalement ceux qui proviennent du secteur de l’accueil, n’ont jamais eu de contact avec un ordinateur », indique-t-elle. « Nous vivons une barrière de langue et une barrière de vécu. » Elle considère que c’est très important de mettre en lumière l’influence directe du contexte sur la réussite d’un plan numérique. Il est impossible, dans sa réalité professionnelle, d’en faire abstraction.

Cela dit, l’enseignante est encouragée par les effets positifs de l’utilisation des technologies pour les élèves qui en ont besoin. Les difficultés en lecture sont donc très bien compensées par les logiciels de synthèse vocale, et les différents types de dictionnaires numériques et correcteurs automatiques favorisent la production de textes cohérents et lisibles.

La cohésion entre enseignants et intervenants : des facteurs de succès

Selon Dominique Patenaude, il faut continuer de favoriser l’intégration des aides technologiques en travaillant ensemble, entre intervenants, pour rendre la démarche universelle et cohésive. « Il faut avoir une routine solide. Pas juste avec les élèves : entre nous, entre enseignants » dit-elle. « Si les élèves développaient la même routine d’utilisation de l’ordinateur de la même façon, dans tous les cours, ils l’assimileraient beaucoup plus vite. »

Outre le concept de participation et de cohésion entre enseignants dans les pratiques numériques, l’enseignante inclut aussi l’organisation scolaire dans ses réflexions et souhaite que le temps investi à développer les compétences informatiques chez les élèves soit reconnue. En guise de conseil, elle ajoute à l’intention des jeunes enseignants : « Informez vos directions du temps que vous investissez pour ces adaptations et demandez-leur de vous soutenir. Demandez de l’aide aux intervenants de l’école afin qu’ils s’investissent avec vous pour les élèves qui bénéficient de ces outils. Ne restez pas seuls avec cette gestion. »

Finalement, elle rappelle l’importance de prendre le temps de lire les dossiers d’aide et de consulter les plans d’interventions avant de tenter d’intégrer quelque outil d’aide que ce soit. Elle souligne également la pertinence de consulter les intervenants responsables de ces dossiers et de les inviter à s’impliquer dans des actions concertées et concrètes.

C’est ainsi que Dominique Patenaude perçoit l’évolution du numérique, dans son contexte, dans son école. Pour elle, la réussite du passage au numérique, de ce projet de société inéluctable auquel tous les enseignants seront confrontés tôt ou tard, réside dans la capacité d’un milieu à travailler en équipe.

Nous vous présenterons d’autres visions d’enseignants de cette école au cours des prochains mois!

Ressources complémentaires


Recevez gratuitement chaque semaine l'École branchée Hebdo pour ne rien manquer de l’actualité pédagogique!