Posted in:

Towards an “exit profile” of digital competence? Reflection for preschool education

2nd year students in the bachelor's degree in preschool education and elementary education at the University of Montreal offer an exit profile of a student's digital competence after their transition to preschool education.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



Add to favorites (0)

Second-year students in the Baccalaureate in preschool education and elementary education at the University of Montreal, as part of their ICT Integration 1 course, offer an exit profile of a student's digital competence after passing through preschool education.

By Audrey Raynault, B.Ed., M.Éd., Ph.D. 
Postdoctoral fellowship for Periscope network at Laval University and lecturer at the University of Montreal. Former teacher and educational advisor. 
and Andréanne Coursol, Valérie D'Amours, Guylaine Lalonde, Catherine Legault, Marcel-Nicolas Murillo
Second-year undergraduate students in preschool and elementary education at the University of Montreal

On October 2 and 3, 2019 the event took place Digital trends and Quebec winds: uses of digital technology in education. This event of the Transfer Center for Education Success in Quebec (CTREQ), organized in collaboration with the PÉRISCOPE Network and with the support of the Ministry of Education and Higher Education, allowed various actors to reflect on the use of digital technology in Quebec schools. 

In one of the focus groups, the fact that to date, for all levels of education, no exit profile is proposed in the Reference Framework for Digital Competence in Education (MEES, 2019) has been addressed. An exit profile describes the characteristics that the learner develops at the end of his training. It integrates the skills and knowledge to be developed in addition to the values and attitudes to be promoted (Prégent, Bernard, Kozanitis, 2009). However, the participants were curious to know the perception on this subject on the part of the students who take the university courses of integration of technologies in education. Indeed, the 2019 fall cohort represents the first contingent of university students to integrate the content of the Digital Competence Reference Framework (MEES, 2019) into their teaching activities related to this course.

Thus, after taking their first course in the integration of technologies in education dedicated to preschool education, second-year students of the Baccalaureate in preschool education and elementary education at the University of Montreal began a reflection on a digital competence output profile for students after their passage to 5-year-old kindergarten. 

Approach 

In the fall of 2019, second-year students in the Baccalaureate in preschool education and elementary education at the University of Montreal, as part of their Integration of ICT 1 course (PPA2111), reflected in order to propose a "profile exit ”of the digital competence of a 5-6 year old pupil after passing through 5 year preschool education. Following this course, they believe that a thoughtful use of technologies from kindergarten onwards proves to be a practice that takes students into account in order to equip them to face the challenges of the fourth industrial revolution, that of the digital one. 

They first shared their first ideas, on an individual basis, posting on various social media in order to get the public to react to their proposals. They used what is called a knowledge co-development approach (knowledge building) for this exercise. Based on their shared thoughts and public feedback on them, they came up with an exit profile. 

Based on the first and main two dimensions of the Digital Competence Reference Framework (MEES, 2019), namely Act as an ethical citizen in the digital age and develop and Mobilize your technological skills, they believe that this exit profile for kindergarten students could specifically target the following two dimensions: Innovate and be creative with digital and Collaborate digitally. 

In addition, they ruled out from their proposals the idea of targeting the dimension Developing critical thinking with regard to the use of digital technology as a backdrop to an exit profile. Indeed, several professionals from the preschool education sector have instead advised them to make prevention linked to the healthy use of digital technology and to strengthen the activities that lead students to create their identity and personality, a skill of the program.

Suggested output profile

By mobilizing one or more skills (6) from the Training Program at the Quebec Preschool Education School (PFÉQ), they propose an exit profile of the digital competence of a six-year-old student after passing through a class. preschool education 5 years. It comes in two elements: 

1- The student will have initiated the development of his technological skills with digital tools that allow him to co-create or create during the learning process. Used in this way, it can be assumed that these different technologies can promote learning opportunities in preschool students in which they will be active. 

2- The pupil will have been initiated into the healthy use of technologies and digital technology as soon as he enters kindergarten by learning how to manage screen time in various contexts in which digital technology proves to be a lever for learn, in order to maximize the opportunities for active use and minimize those for passive consumption (Romero, 2015).

Thus, they believe that the child could develop several communication skills and strategies for organizing his thought with educational and playful applications that allow creation and collaboration. For example, they believe that by introducing them to programming, robotics and certain applications or software allowing them to tell and create, in particular stories, children will certainly develop the six skills of the PFÉQ in preschool education, but also skills related to executive functions (activation, inhibition of impulsivity, cognitive flexibility, planning and organization, working memory, emotional regulation).

A complementary proposal to the recently announced Development Continuum

Unveiled in January 2020, the Continuum of development of digital competence (MEES, 2020) "aims to specify the scope of the elements of the twelve dimensions of digital competence and to situate them on a progression matrix in three levels: beginner, intermediate and advanced (...)", it "contributes to the operationalization of the Digital Competence Reference Framework by specifying specific behaviors, situations or contexts ”(MEES, 2020, p.5). In this regard, the levels of progression of the dimensions of the Continuum, even the one said beginner, sometimes seem more or less suitable and imprecise for preschool education. 

Indeed, the students and their lecturer believe that all the dimensions of the Framework are relevant to preschool education, but they have attempted through this exercise to select more specifically the dimensions of digital competence for an adapted exit profile. at this level of education. “Our proposal appears to us to be complementary to the Continuum (MEES, 2020) launched recently,” explains Audrey Raynault. "Through this first exercise, we wish to raise a reflection on the exit profiles or end-of-cycle expectations of digital competence for all levels of education in order to promote its judicious planning and its interdisciplinary integration of preschool education in university. "

References

Prégent, R., Bernard, H. and Kozanitis, A. (2009). Teaching at university using a curriculum approach: a guide for new professors and lecturers. Presses inter Polytechnique.

Romero, M. (2015). Educational uses of ICT: from consumption to participatory co-creation. Spotted at https://www.vteducation.org/fr/articles/collaboration-avec-les-technologies/usages-pedagogiques-des-tic-de-la-consommation-a-la

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Vers un « profil de sortie » de la compétence numérique? Réflexion pour l’éducation préscolaire

Des étudiants de deuxième année au Baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement au primaire à l’Université de Montréal, dans le cadre de leur cours Intégration des TIC 1, proposent un profil de sortie de la compétence numérique d’un élève après son passage à l’éducation préscolaire.

Par Audrey Raynault, B.Ed., M.Éd., Ph.D. 
Au postdoctorat pour le Réseau Périscope à l’Université Laval et chargée de cours à l’Université de Montréal. Ancienne enseignante et conseillère pédagogique. 
et Andréanne Coursol, Valérie D’Amours, Guylaine Lalonde, Catherine Legault, Marcel-Nicolas Murillo
Étudiants de deuxième année au Baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement au primaire à l’Université de Montréal

Les 2 et 3 octobre 2019 avait lieu l’événement Courants numériques et vents québécois : les utilisations du numérique en éducation. Cet événement du Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducation au Québec (CTREQ), organisé en collaboration avec le Réseau PÉRISCOPE et avec le soutien du ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur, a permis à divers acteurs de réfléchir à l’usage du numérique dans le milieu scolaire québécois. 

Dans l’un des groupes de discussion, le fait qu’à ce jour, pour tous les ordres d’enseignement, aucun profil de sortie n’est proposé dans le Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique en éducation (MEES, 2019) a été abordé. Un profil de sortie décrit les caractéristiques que l’apprenant développe à l’issue de sa formation. Il intègre les compétences et connaissances à développer en plus des valeurs et des attitudes à promouvoir (Prégent, Bernard, Kozanitis, 2009). Or, les participants étaient curieux de connaître la perception à ce sujet de la part des étudiants qui suivent les cours universitaires d’intégration des technologies en éducation. En effet, la cohorte d’automne 2019 représente le premier contingent d’étudiants universitaires à intégrer le contenu du Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique (MEES, 2019) dans leurs activités d’enseignement liées à ce cours.

C’est ainsi qu’après avoir fait leur premier cours d’intégration des technologies en éducation dédié à l’éducation préscolaire, des étudiants de deuxième année du Baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement au primaire de l’Université de Montréal ont amorcé une réflexion autour d’un profil de sortie de compétence numérique des élèves après leur passage à la maternelle 5 ans. 

La démarche 

À l’automne 2019, des étudiants de deuxième année au Baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement au primaire à l’Université de Montréal, dans le cadre de leur cours Intégration des TIC 1 (PPA2111), ont réfléchi afin de proposer un « profil de sortie » de la compétence numérique d’un élève de 5-6 ans après son passage à l’éducation préscolaire 5 ans. À la suite de ce cours, ils croient qu’un usage réfléchi des technologies dès la maternelle s’avère être une pratique soucieuse des élèves pour les outiller à faire face aux enjeux de la quatrième révolution industrielle, celle du numérique. 

Ils ont d’abord partagé leurs premières idées, de manière individuelle, en publiant sur divers médias sociaux afin d’amener le public à réagir à leurs propositions. Ils ont utilisé ce qu’on appelle une démarche de coélaboration de connaissances (knowledge building) pour cet exercice. À la lumière de leurs réflexions communes et des rétroactions du public à l’égard de celles-ci, ils ont proposé un profil de sortie. 

Basé sur les deux premières et principales dimensions du Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique (MEES, 2019), à savoir Agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique et développer et Mobiliser ses habiletés technologiques, ils estiment que ce profil de sortie pour les élèves de maternelle pourrait cibler particulièrement les deux dimensions suivantes : Innover et faire preuve de créativité avec le numérique et Collaborer à l’aide du numérique. 

Par ailleurs, ils ont écarté de leurs propositions l’idée de cibler la dimension Développer sa pensée critique à l’égard du numérique comme toile de fond d’un profil de sortie. En effet, plusieurs professionnels issus du secteur de l’éducation préscolaire leur ont plutôt conseillé de faire de la prévention liée à un usage sain du numérique et de renforcer les activités qui amènent les élèves à créer leur identité et personnalité, une compétence du programme.

Proposition de profil de sortie

En mobilisant une ou des compétences (6) du Programme de formation à l’école québécoise de l’éducation préscolaire (PFÉQ), ils proposent un profil de sortie de la compétence numérique d’un élève de six ans après son passage dans une classe d’éducation préscolaire 5 ans. Il se décline en deux éléments : 

1- L’élève aura amorcé le développement de ses habiletés technologiques avec les outils numériques qui lui permettent de cocréer ou de créer pendant la démarche d’apprentissage. Utilisées ainsi, on peut présumer que ces différentes technologies peuvent favoriser chez les élèves de l’éducation préscolaire des occasions d’apprentissage dans lesquelles ils seront actifs. 

2- L’élève aura été initié à l’usage sain des technologies et du numérique dès son passage à la maternelle par un apprentissage de la gestion du temps d’écran dans des contextes variés dans lesquels le numérique s’avère être un levier pour apprendre, pour ainsi maximiser les opportunités d’usages actifs et minimiser ceux de consommation passive (Romero, 2015).

Ainsi, ils estiment que l’enfant pourrait développer plusieurs habiletés de communication et des stratégies d’organisation de sa pensée avec des applications éducatives et ludiques qui permettent la création et la collaboration. Par exemple, ils croient qu’en les initiant à la programmation, à la robotique et à certaines applications ou logiciels leur permettant de raconter et de créer, notamment des histoires, les enfants développeront, certes les six compétences du PFÉQ en éducation préscolaire, mais aussi des habiletés reliées aux fonctions exécutives (activation, inhibition de l’impulsivité, flexibilité cognitive, planification et organisation, mémoire de travail, régulation émotionnelle).

Une proposition complémentaire au Continuum de développement annoncé récemment

Dévoilé en janvier 2020, le Continuum de développement de la compétence numérique (MEES, 2020) « vise à préciser la portée des éléments des douze dimensions de la compétence numérique et à les situer sur une matrice de progression en trois niveaux : débutant, intermédiaire et avancé (…) », il « contribue à l’opérationnalisation du Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique en spécifiant des comportements, des situations ou des contextes précis » (MEES, 2020, p.5). À ce sujet, les niveaux de progression des dimensions du Continuum, même celui dit débutant, semblent parfois plus ou moins adaptés et imprécis pour l’éducation préscolaire. 

En effet, les étudiants et leur chargée de cours croient que toutes les dimensions du Cadre sont pertinentes à l’éducation préscolaire, mais ils ont tenté par cet exercice de sélectionner de manière plus spécifique les dimensions de la compétence numérique pour un profil de sortie adapté à cet ordre d’enseignement. « Notre proposition nous apparaît complémentaire au Continuum (MEES, 2020) lancé récemment », explique Audrey Raynault. « Par ce premier exercice, nous souhaitons soulever une réflexion sur les profils de sortie ou des attentes de fin de cycle de la compétence numérique pour tous les ordres d’enseignement afin de favoriser sa planification judicieuse et son intégration interdisciplinaire de l’éducation préscolaire à l’université. »

Références

Prégent, R., Bernard, H. et Kozanitis, A. (2009). Enseigner à l’université dans une approche-programme : guide à l’intention des nouveaux professeurs et chargés de cours. Presses inter Polytechnique.

Romero, M. (2015). Usages pédagogiques des TIC: de la consommation à la cocréation participative. Repéré à https://www.vteducation.org/fr/articles/collaboration-avec-les-technologies/usages-pedagogiques-des-tic-de-la-consommation-a-la



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : NOS ABONNÉS NE VOIENT PAS CES ANNONCES