ADVERTISEMENT

The hologram in education (bonus: create your own hologram!)

Used for several years in the field of show and entertainment, holograms are now penetrating the educational world.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Used for several years in the field of show and entertainment, holograms are now penetrating the educational world.

In that moment augmented reality is popular in education. This is a process that allows you to add multimedia elements (images, sounds, animations, visual effects, etc.) to real content. For its part, virtual reality also allows, for example, to rotate an image and zoom with great precision.

Developments in virtual and augmented reality have also made it possible to innovate on the holographic level. A hologram is the result of a photographic process that allows a three-dimensional image to be projected onto virtually any surface.

HoloLens: concretely visualize the concepts studied

Developed by Microsoft and currently used around the world, HoloLens is a kind of helmet allowing you to "see" holograms created from your computer. In education, its potential is particularly noted in the field of biology and medical sciences.

The holograms created by HoloLens can allow, among other things, to visualize a human body in 3D. Pupils who learn biology and anatomy can thus concretely visualize the concepts they are studying. Far from being trivial, the possibilities of augmented reality and holograms in the field of science are so great that, in several countries, these technologies are finding their place in medical schools. In the United Kingdom, we even think of replace traditional dissections with hologram simulations.

Some technology experts believe that the holographic technology could soon revolutionize the world of images.

A "homemade" hologram with a tablet!

In 2015, the Pixels team of the newspaper Le Monde successfully recreated a simple experience to learn about holograms. All it takes is a mobile tablet, a shiny transparent plastic sheet, internet access and a little geometry to achieve this. A great experience to do in class, detailed in the article. Although it is not exactly a hologram (it would then require lasers), the principle remains interesting!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

L’hologramme en éducation (en prime : créez votre propre hologramme!)

Utilisés depuis quelques années dans le domaine du spectacle et du divertissement, les hologrammes percent maintenant le milieu de l’éducation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Utilisés depuis quelques années dans le domaine du spectacle et du divertissement, les hologrammes percent maintenant le milieu de l’éducation.

En ce moment, la réalité augmentée est populaire en éducation. Il s’agit d’un procédé qui permet d’ajouter des éléments multimédia (images, sons, animations, effets visuels, etc.) à un contenu réel. Pour sa part, la réalité virtuelle permet aussi, par exemple, de faire pivoter une image et de zoomer avec une grande précision.

Les développements en matière de réalité virtuelle et augmentée ont également permis d’innover sur le plan holographique. Un hologramme est le résultat d’un procédé photographique qui permet de projeter une image en trois dimensions sur pratiquement n’importe quelle surface.

HoloLens : visualiser concrètement les notions étudiées

Développé par Microsoft et présentement utilisé un peu partout sur la planète, HoloLens est une sorte de casque permettant de « voir » des hologrammes créés à partir de son ordinateur. En éducation, son potentiel se fait notamment remarquer dans le domaine de la biologie et des sciences médicales.

Les hologrammes créés par HoloLens peuvent permettre, entre autres, de visualiser un corps humain en 3D. Les élèves qui apprennent la biologie et l’anatomie peuvent ainsi visualiser concrètement les notions qu’ils étudient. Loin d’être anodines, les possibilités de la réalité augmentée et des hologrammes dans le domaine des sciences sont si importantes que, dans plusieurs pays, ces technologies trouvent leur place dans les facultés de médecine. Au Royaume-Uni, on songe même à remplacer les traditionnelles dissections par des simulations par hologrammes.

Certains experts en technologies sont d’avis que la technologie holographique pourrait prochainement révolutionner le monde de l’image.

Un hologramme « maison » avec une tablette!

En 2015, l’équipe Pixels du journal Le Monde recréait avec succès une simple expérience permettant de s’initier aux hologrammes. Il suffit d’une tablette mobile, d’une feuille de plastique transparente et brillante, d’un accès à Internet ainsi que d’un peu de géométrie pour y parvenir. Une belle expérience à réaliser en classe, détaillée dans l’article. Bien que ce ne soit pas exactement un hologramme (il faudrait alors des lasers), le principe reste intéressant!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct