augmented reality

Demystifying virtual reality in the classroom

The educational team of the Laval School Services Center presents the Extended Reality website, which contains a multitude of resources demonstrating that it is possible to carry out very simple virtual reality projects with students.

Google Expeditions and Tour Creator: it's (soon) the end!

Google recently announced the upcoming end of its Expeditions and Tour Creator applications. Laurent, our collaborator, offers you alternatives for those who wish to continue using immersive technology to promote learning.

The fall of the Berlin Wall, 30 years later

On the night of November 9-10, 1989, Germany was the center of attention around the world. Indeed, it was that night that the 3-meter-high and 155-km-long wall that had divided the city of Berlin for 28 years was destroyed. Look at a product of the Cold War and a symbol of the division of the world into two blocks.

Notre-Dame-de-Paris cathedral: a heritage to rebuild

An emblematic monument of Paris and a UNESCO World Heritage Site, Notre-Dame Cathedral was engulfed in flames on April 15, 2019. After a long struggle, the firefighters finally succeeded in extinguishing the fire, but not without damage, which had been spreading for about fifteen hours. The spire, bell and two-thirds of the roof collapsed in the heat, while the entire building structure was fortunately saved. Insights into a rich history that began in the 12th century.

Reinventing learning: portrait of an innovative teacher

Jean-Philippe Payer received the Ken Spencer Prize for innovation in teaching in Canada. A prestigious award that highlights the work and involvement of this teacher who dared to adopt a different perspective to promote learning among his students.

Tattoos: beyond fashion!

Tattoos no longer need presentation: one in five people in Canada wears at least one and more and more major events celebrate the diversity of this colorful form of expression. Look at a phenomenon which goes beyond fashion and which is very present in all spheres of our society.

The Ocean School: an innovative, interactive and immersive tool

The Ocean School, a new learning experience that transforms the way we learn about the ocean, interact with it and get involved in its preservation, will be launched on Thursday, October 4.

A smooth transition to augmented reality books

An enrichment project at Franco-Terrace Catholic School allows students to deepen reading strategies and give a new vocation to books in the library thanks to augmented reality.

Virtual and augmented reality: a world of possibilities for education

On the occasion of CréaCamp on November 17, 2017 in Montreal, Stéphanie Dionne, from École branchée, spoke with one of the facilitators of the event, Ms. Chantal Rivard. They discuss virtual and augmented reality in education.

The limits of augmented reality in education

Highly relevant, augmented reality technology serves the education community well, but is not yet perfect. Here are some limitations.

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

réalité augmentée

Démystifier la réalité virtuelle en classe

L’équipe pédagonumérique du Centre de services scolaire de Laval présente le site Web Réalité étendue, qui contient une multitude de ressources démontrant qu'il est possible de réaliser des projets de réalité virtuelle très simples avec les élèves.

Google Expéditions et Tour Creator : c’est (bientôt) la fin!

Google annonçait dernièrement la fin prochaine de ses applications Expéditions et Tour Creator. Laurent, notre collaborateur, vous propose des alternatives pour ceux qui souhaitent continuer d'utiliser la technologie immersive pour favoriser les apprentissages.

La chute du mur de Berlin, 30 ans plus tard

Dans la nuit du 9 au 10 novembre 1989, l'Allemagne fut le centre d'attention du monde entier. En effet, c'est cette nuit-là que le mur de 3 mètres de haut et de 155 km de long qui divisait la ville de Berlin depuis 28 ans a été détruit. Regard sur un produit de la guerre froide et un symbole du partage du monde en deux blocs.

La cathédrale Notre-Dame-de-Paris : un patrimoine à reconstruire

Monument emblématique de Paris et classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, la cathédrale Notre-Dame fut la proie des flammes le 15 avril 2019. Après une longue lutte, les pompiers ont finalement réussi à éteindre le feu, mais non sans dommages, qui se propageait depuis une quinzaine d'heures. La flèche, la cloche et les deux tiers du toit se sont effondrés sous la chaleur, tandis que l'ensemble de la structure du bâtiment a pu être heureusement sauvée. Regards sur une histoire riche qui débuta au XIIe siècle.

Réinventer l’apprentissage : portrait d’un enseignant innovant

Jean-Philippe Payer a reçu le prix Ken Spencer pour l’innovation en enseignement au Canada. Un prix prestigieux qui souligne le travail et l’implication de cet enseignant qui a osé adopter une perspective différente pour favoriser les apprentissages chez ses élèves.

Les tatouages : au-delà de la mode!

Les tatouages n'ont plus besoin de présentation : une personne sur cinq au Canada en arbore au moins un et de plus en plus d'événements majeurs célèbrent la diversité de ce mode d'expression des plus colorés. Regard sur un phénomène qui va au-delà de la mode et qui est bien présent dans toutes les sphères de notre société.

L’École de l’Océan : un outil novateur, interactif et immersif

L’École de l’Océan, une nouvelle expérience d’apprentissage qui transforme notre façon d’apprendre sur l’océan, d’interagir avec lui et de nous impliquer pour sa sauvegarde, sera lancée le jeudi 4 octobre.

Une transition harmonieuse vers le livre en réalité augmentée

Un projet d'enrichissement à l'école catholique Franco-Terrace permet aux élèves d'approfondir des stratégies de lecture et donner une nouvelle vocation aux livres de la bibliothèque grâce à la réalité augmentée.

Réalité virtuelle et augmentée : un monde de possibilités pour l’éducation

À l'occasion du CréaCamp du 17 novembre 2017 à Montréal, Stéphanie Dionne, de l'École branchée, s'est entretenue avec l'une des facilitatrices de l'événement, Mme Chantal Rivard. Elles discutent de réalité virtuelle et augmentée en éducation.

Les limites de la réalité augmentée en éducation

Fort pertinente, la technologie de réalité augmentée sert bien le milieu de l’éducation, mais n’est pas encore parfaite. En voici quelques limites.

Prochaines formations en direct