ADVERTISEMENT

Mandatory virtual training?

In Michigan, Alabama and Florida, students must have completed virtual training in order to graduate from high school. These states believe that it is an essential skill in the 21st century and others plan to follow suit, according to a report from the Francophone Distance Learning Network of Canada (REFAD).

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

In Michigan, Alabama and Florida, students must have completed virtual training in order to graduate from high school. These states believe that this is an essential skill in the 21e century and others plan to follow suit, one indicates in a Report of the Francophone Distance Education Network of Canada (REFAD).

Canada is not there yet, but the document nonetheless highlights some trends and forecasts on what awaits distance education, but also in the classroom, in the coming years. “Already, neither teachers nor libraries are the repositories of knowledge or the primary sources of knowledge for students. They have turned massively to the Internet, helped in particular by the development of user-friendly search engines, it is written. […] The role of the teacher is therefore necessarily called upon to change. "

And it's not just the students' sources of information that have changed, they themselves have changed. “We are in the era of the snapshot. The student expects immediate access to information. His attention is brief. He is multitasking. People are less passive, ”say specialists interviewed.

Bernard Morin, director of distance education at the Faculty of Continuing Education at the University of Montreal, predicts that forty years from now, there will no longer be any distinction between distance education, line, indoor, hybrid, synchronous or asynchronous since everything will have been integrated into the practices.

Elementary and secondary

In British Columbia, about 50virtual schools have been set up and could possibly develop complete distance learning curricula for secondary school. “Initiatives like those of the Obama administration, aiming for fully digitized textbooks within five years, also go in this direction. We can therefore think that the use of distance education at the secondary level will be one of the great phenomena in education in the years to come ”, one writes. Moreover, the United States is not the only one. The South Korea also announced plans to have paperless classrooms by 2013.

At the elementary level, just 3 % of schools across the country have students participating in online courses. "Elements such as the low birth rate and its effects on rural schools, a certain popularity of home schooling and the increased mobility of parents could contribute to an expansion at this level", we note.

Click here to read the report Profile, perspectives and results of distance learning in French-speaking Canada in full.

Read also :

Schools without borders… or almost!

Teaching in the age of hackers

The impact of technologies is of concern

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Une formation virtuelle obligatoire?

Au Michigan, en Alabama et en Floride, les élèves doivent avoir complété une formation virtuelle afin de décrocher leur diplôme d’études secondaires. Ces états estiment qu’il s’agit d’une compétence incontournable au 21e siècle et d’autres envisagent d’emboîter le pas, indique-t-on dans un rapport du Réseau d’enseignement francophone à distance du Canada (REFAD).

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Au Michigan, en Alabama et en Floride, les élèves doivent avoir complété une formation virtuelle afin de décrocher leur diplôme d’études secondaires. Ces états estiment qu’il s’agit d’une compétence incontournable au 21e siècle et d’autres envisagent d’emboîter le pas, indique-t-on dans un rapport du Réseau d’enseignement francophone à distance du Canada (REFAD).

Le Canada n’en est pas là, mais le document fait néanmoins ressortir quelques tendances et prévisions sur ce qui attend l’enseignement à distance, mais aussi en classe, au cours des prochaines années. « Déjà, ce ne sont plus ni les professeurs, ni les bibliothèques qui sont les dépositaires du savoir ou les premières sources de connaissances des étudiants. Ceux-ci se sont massivement tournés vers Internet, aidés notamment par le développement de moteurs de recherche conviviaux, écrit-on. […] Le rôle de l’enseignant est donc nécessairement appelé à se transformer. »

Et il n’y a pas que les sources d’informations des étudiants qui se sont modifiées, eux-mêmes ont changé. « On est à l’époque de l’instantané. L’étudiant s’attend à un accès immédiat à l’information. Son attention est brève. Il est multitâche. Les gens sont moins passifs », mentionnent des spécialistes interrogés.

Bernard Morin, directeur de la formation à distance à la Faculté de l’éducation permanente à l’Université de Montréal, prédit que d’ici une quarantaine d’années, il n’y aura plus de distinction entre la formation à distance, en ligne, en salle, hybride, synchrone ou asynchrone puisque le tout aura été intégré dans les pratiques.

Au primaire et au secondaire

En Colombie-Britannique, une cinquantaine d’écoles virtuelles ont été mises en place et pourraient, éventuellement, développer des curriculums complets à distance pour le secondaire. « Des initiatives comme celles de l’administration Obama, visant des livres de classe entièrement numérisés d’ici cinq ans, vont également dans ce sens. On peut donc penser que l’utilisation de la formation à distance au niveau secondaire sera l’un des grands phénomènes en éducation dans les années à venir », écrit-on. D’ailleurs, les États-Unis ne sont pas les seuls. La Corée du Sud a également annoncé son intention d’avoir des classes sans papier d’ici 2013.

Au primaire, à peine 3 % des écoles au pays comptent des élèves participant à des cours en ligne. « Des éléments comme la dénatalité et ses effets sur les écoles rurales, une certaine popularité de l’enseignement à domicile et la mobilité accrue des parents pourraient contribuer à un élargissement à ce palier », note-t-on.

Cliquez ici pour lire le rapport Profil, perspectives et bilan de l’apprentissage à distance au Canada francophone en entier.

À lire aussi :

Des écoles sans frontières… ou presque!

Enseigner à l’ère des hackers

L’impact des technologies préoccupe

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct