ADVERTISEMENT

Survey of secondary school history teachers

(Press release) The spokesperson for the Coalition for History, Robert Comeau and the historian and researcher, Josiane Lavallée made public on March 1 the results of a survey carried out among secondary school history teachers which revealed that they are dissatisfied with the programs they have to teach because they are too focused on education for citizenship and the present and not enough on the acquisition of historical knowledge.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

(Press release) The spokesperson for the Coalition for History, Robert Comeau and the historian and researcher, Josiane Lavallée released on March 1 the results of a survey of high school history teachers that revealed that they are dissatisfied with the programs they have to teach because they are too focused on citizenship education and present and not enough on the acquisition of historical knowledge.

Ms. Lavallée argues in her 72-page study: "While it is true that the past sheds light on the present, the fact remains that history should never be put at the service of the present to support any ideology, whether this ideology is progressive or not. ”

“The Coalition for History conducted a sample survey to which 215 high school history teachers responded. This corresponds to approximately 20 % of history teachers from all regions of Quebec. A majority of the responses received demonstrate the dissatisfaction of secondary school history teachers. They denounce history programs, particularly with regard to the introduction of citizenship education in history lessons, the virtual absence of the history of the Quebec nation and of the political dimension. of the history and structure of the program in 3e and 4e secondary school where the same history is taught for two years, without forgetting the absence of a compulsory course in 20th century history ”notes the researcher.

The spokesperson for the Coalition for History, Robert Comeau, recalled the Coalition's previous studies funded by the Lionel-Groulx Foundation on the decline in history teaching at the college level and the lack of training in the historical discipline at the university in teacher training programs . Mr. Comeau argued that in his "Speech on school and nation", Francois Hollande of the French Socialist Party argues that "The school should be at the forefront of political commitments, because it is the condition of our cohesion national ”and insists on the importance of“ valuing knowledge, because school is first and foremost made to transmit knowledge. ”

Erase parts of history

As for the historian, novelist and biographer (author of The novel by Julie Papineau, Lady Cartier and The Fallen Girls), Micheline Lachance, she insisted on the importance of giving political history its rightful place : “Isn't erasing parts of history also serving a cause? Let's not be afraid of words: we are currently witnessing an attempt to rewrite the past by erasing in one stroke the pages that define us as a different people. "

“The Coalition for History, concludes Josiane Lavallée, asks the Minister of Education to review the content of history programs in high school. History teachers really need a more balanced history curriculum to teach our young people all dimensions of history, including political history and the crucial and founding events of our history. At the undergraduate level, history teachers are calling for an increase in the hours of history teaching. ”

Josiane Lavallée holds a master's degree in history from the University of Montreal and a bachelor's degree in history teaching from UQÀM. She taught secondary and primary for almost ten years and was a career counselor in a teachers' union.

This research was made possible thanks to the financial support of the Honor Loan Foundation, whose president Gaston Bergeron was warmly thanked by the representatives of the Coalition for History.

The Coalition for History, initiated in 2009 by the SSJB of Montreal, promotes the teaching of history at all levels of education to allow young Quebecers of all origins to acquire a better knowledge of the history of Quebec, of Canada and of western and non-western world history.

The full version of the study can be obtained at the following address: http://www.coalitionhistoire.org/sites/default/files/une-histoire-javellisee-au-service-du-present.pdf

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Enquête auprès des enseignants d’histoire du secondaire

(Communiqué) Le porte-parole de la Coalition pour l'histoire, Robert Comeau et l'historienne et chercheure, Josiane Lavallée rendait public le 1er mars les résultats d'une enquête réalisée auprès des enseignants d'histoire du secondaire qui révèle qu'ils sont insatisfaits des programmes qu'ils ont à enseigner, car ils sont trop axés sur l'éducation à la citoyenneté et le présent et pas assez sur l'acquisition des connaissances historiques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

(Communiqué) Le porte-parole de la Coalition pour l’histoire, Robert Comeau et l’historienne et chercheure, Josiane Lavallée rendait public le 1er mars les résultats d’une enquête réalisée auprès des enseignants d’histoire du secondaire qui révèle qu’ils sont insatisfaits des programmes qu’ils ont à enseigner, car ils sont trop axés sur l’éducation à la citoyenneté et le présent et pas assez sur l’acquisition des connaissances historiques.

Mme Lavallée fait valoir dans son étude de 72 pages : «S’il est vrai que le passé éclaire le présent, il n’en demeure pas moins que l’histoire ne devrait jamais être mise au service du présent pour cautionner une quelconque idéologie, et ce, que cette idéologie soit progressiste ou non.»

«La Coalition pour l’histoire a procédé à une enquête par sondage à laquelle  215 enseignants d’histoire du niveau secondaire ont répondu. Ce qui correspond à environ 20 % des enseignants d’histoire provenant de toutes les régions du Québec. Les réponses reçues démontrent de façon majoritaire l’insatisfaction des professeurs d’histoire du niveau secondaire.  Ils dénoncent les programmes d’histoire, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’introduction de l’éducation à la citoyenneté dans les cours d’histoire, à la quasi-absence de l’histoire de la nation québécoise et de la dimension politique de l’histoire et à la structure du programme en 3e et 4e secondaire où l’on enseigne deux ans la même histoire, sans oublier l’absence d’un cours obligatoire en histoire du XXe siècle  »  constate la chercheure.

Le porte-parole de la Coalition pour l’histoire, Robert Comeau, a rappelé les précédentes études de la Coalition financées par la Fondation Lionel-Groulx portant sur le recul de l’enseignement de l’histoire au niveau collégial et le peu de formation dans la discipline historique à l’université dans les programmes de formation des maîtres. Monsieur Comeau a fait valoir que dans son «Discours sur l’école et la nation», Francois Hollande du Parti socialiste français fait valoir que «L’école devrait être au premier rang des engagements politiques, car c’est la condition de notre cohésion nationale » et insiste sur l’importance de «valoriser le savoir, car l’école est d’abord faite pour transmettre des connaissances.»

Gommer des pans d’histoire

Quant à l’historienne, romancière et biographe (auteure de Le Roman de Julie Papineau, Lady Cartier et Les Filles tombées),  Micheline Lachance, elle a insisté sur l’importance de redonner à l’histoire politique la place qui lui revient : «Gommer des pans de l’histoire, n’est-ce pas aussi servir une cause? N’ayons pas peur des mots : nous assistons en ce moment à une tentative pour réécrire le passé en effaçant d’un trait les pages qui nous définissent comme peuple différent.»

«La Coalition pour l’histoire, conclut Josiane Lavallée, demande à la ministre de l’Éducation de revoir les contenus des programmes d’histoire au secondaire. Les professeurs d’histoire ont vraiment besoin d’un programme d’histoire plus équilibré pour enseigner à nos jeunes toutes les dimensions de l’histoire, y compris l’histoire politique et les événements cruciaux et fondateurs de notre histoire.  Au  premier cycle, les enseignants d’histoire réclament une augmentation d’heures d’enseignement de l’histoire.»

Josiane Lavallée est titulaire d’une maîtrise en histoire de l’Université de Montréal et un baccalauréat en enseignement de l’histoire de l’UQÀM. Elle a enseigné au secondaire et au primaire pendant près de dix ans et a été conseillère à la vie professionnelle dans un syndicat d’enseignants.

Cette recherche a été rendu possible grâce à l’apport financier de la Fondation du prêt d’honneur dont le président Gaston Bergeron a été chaudement remercié par les représentants de la Coalition pour l’histoire.

La Coalition pour l’histoire, initiée en 2009 par la SSJB de Montréal, fait la promotion de l’enseignement de l’histoire à tous les ordres d’enseignement pour permettre aux jeunes Québécois et Québécoises de toutes origines d’acquérir une meilleure connaissance de l’histoire du Québec, du Canada et de l’histoire du monde occidental et non occidental.

On peut obtenir la version intégrale de l’étude à l’adresse suivante : http://www.coalitionhistoire.org/sites/default/files/une-histoire-javellisee-au-service-du-present.pdf

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :