#EB25ans - And that's how the first CréaCamp was born!

To mark our 25 years of activity, Maxime Pelchat tells us how the CréaCamp formula was designed and how this approach has been able to adapt over the past year.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

To mark our 25 years of activity, Maxime Pelchat tells us how the CréaCamp formula was designed and how this approach has adapted over the past year. Next see you on May 21!

As with many success stories, it all started over coffee. I remember that morning in May 2016, sitting in the cafeteria of a high school in Quebec. It was an educational day animated by the Edcamp atmosphere, piloted by the leadership of Audrey Miller. While the hundreds of participants, from a multitude of schools in the region, distributed to the identified premises to share on the proposed topics, I went to the organizing committee table to get a coffee cup. official event.

Pouring myself a coffee, I throw my appreciation to Audrey, who did the same by catching his breath after the launch of the activities.

- It's a really good concept, the Edcamps. It is fun to see the commitment of the participants.
- Put some on! she replies. Some people just need to break the ice to suggest topics in the first time block. After that, the machine is gone for the day.

I take a sip and think aloud.

- Imagine if, instead of just discussing a subject, we could really get into action. When a facilitator in a room knows their topic well and shares resources and tips, everyone starts wanting to give it a try right away. 
- It's true that these are the most interesting rooms when someone shares something concrete, she answers. And it encourages other participants to share too. And to help each other. It's less formal than in a workshop at a big convention.

I did not go to join a room at this first block of hours after all that morning. Coffee in hand, Audrey and I naturally embarked on a storm of ideas around a hybrid concept, combining the organic spirit of the Edcamp formula with the framework of a more structured training event.

The heart of this new concept was already taking shape: to offer participants an initiation into a subject and time to experiment straight away, with the help of a resource person with expertise in the subject.

The first objective also emerged, that is to set out again in its middle at the end of the day not only with the head full of ideas, but with a concrete experience, traces, a beginning of project to be refined to experiment it. as quickly as possible with his students. That the creative process is already in action.

Just before the participants come back to the cafeteria for the break, Audrey gives me “a real crea-camp in the background! "

This is how the basics of CréaCamp were deposited for a coffee.

The idea remained alive and the following fall, we slowly but surely embarked on the planning of a first event for the following spring. Together with my colleagues Sarah Shallow-Tardif and Pierre-Olivier Cloutier, we have determined a few key themes to address. While we took care of the logistics of the host school, Audrey used her contacts to find the best facilitators to support the participants. The École branchée would take care of publicizing the event and collecting registrations. At Audrey's request, I scribbled a visual signature CréaCamp on my tablet to help give the concept an identity (note that it is this “beta work” that has remained ever since!).

Thus on May 17, 2017, at the invitation of École branchée, around sixty participants gathered at Mont-Saint-Sacrement high school to experience this new kind of day. In a relaxed atmosphere, four themes were presented to them in the form of a pitch motivator. According to their interests, the participants were divided into the workshops to experience active and creative support.

This first edition was a success and even before the end of the school year, the École branchée announced the holding of CréaCamp days in other schools in the province in the fall.

Since then, the CréaCamp offer has multiplied, in a multitude of regions, sometimes with disciplinary themes, including two editions for school administrators. The École branchée was recognized in 2018 by the Quebec Ministry of Education as an official partner in the training offer to implement the Digital Action Plan, in particular with the CréaCamp days.

The team was able to adapt the CréaCamp formula to the needs of the environments, with shorter editions, or even co-developed directly with a school team. And when the pandemic forced us all to switch to virtual mode, the team rolled up its sleeves to transform its face-to-face offer to remote. Although the challenge was great, it is clear that the CréaCamps have never been as alive as they have been in the last year.

The École branchée can count on a solid network of collaborators and partners to bring this concrete continuing education experience to life, even remotely.

I therefore greet all these teachers, these CPs, these facilitators who have been involved since 2017 in doing CréaCamps an opportunity for professional development that reflects educational ideals that are increasingly highlighted: flexibility, sharing, differentiation, creativity and, at the heart of it all, human relationships.

The story of CréaCamp is a good example of the strength of the networking that exists between the actors in the field and the organizations on the periphery that want to support them. The École branchée team continues to inspire and help bring out the best in education. 

I take this 25th anniversary to raise my cup to Audrey who was able to put into action an idea born around a spring coffee. I look forward to our next coffee in attendance, who knows what will emerge this time ... 🙂

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

#EB25ans – Et c’est comme ça que le premier CréaCamp est né!

Pour souligner nos 25 ans d'activités, Maxime Pelchat nous raconte comment la formule CréaCamp a été conçue et comment cette approche a su s'adapter dans la dernière année.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Pour souligner nos 25 ans d’activités, Maxime Pelchat nous raconte comment la formule CréaCamp a été conçue et comment cette approche a su s’adapter dans la dernière année. Prochain rendez-vous le 21 mai!

Comme pour bien des histoires à succès, tout a commencé autour d’un café. Je me souviens de ce matin de mai 2016, assis dans la cafétéria d’une polyvalente de Québec. C’était une journée pédagogique animée par l’ambiance Edcamp, pilotée par le leadership d’Audrey Miller. Alors que la centaine de participants, issus d’une multitude d’écoles de la région, se répartissaient vers les locaux identifiés pour partager sur les sujets proposés, je me suis dirigé vers la table du comité organisateur afin de me procurer une tasse à café officielle de l’événement.

En me versant un café, je lance mon appréciation à Audrey, qui faisait de même en reprenant son souffle après le lancement des activités.

– C’est vraiment un bon concept, les Edcamps. C’est l’fun de voir l’engagement des participants.
– Mets-en! me répond-elle. Faut juste que certains brisent la glace pour proposer des sujets dans le premier bloc horaire. Après, la machine est partie pour la journée.

Je prends une gorgée et je réfléchis tout haut.

– Imagine si, au lieu de seulement discuter autour d’un sujet, on pouvait vraiment se mettre en action. Quand un animateur d’une salle connaît bien son sujet et partage des ressources et des trucs, tout le monde se met à vouloir essayer tout de suite. 
– C’est vrai que ce sont les salles les plus intéressantes quand quelqu’un partage du concret, me répond-elle. Et ça incite les autres participants à partager eux aussi. Et à s’entraider. Ça fait moins formel que dans un atelier d’un gros congrès.

Je ne suis pas allé rejoindre une salle à ce premier bloc horaire finalement ce matin-là. Cafés en main, Audrey et moi nous sommes lancés naturellement dans une tempête d’idées autour d’un concept hybride, alliant l’esprit organique de la formule Edcamp au cadre d’un événement de formation plus structuré.

Le cœur de ce nouveau concept prenait déjà forme : offrir aux participants une initiation à un sujet et du temps pour expérimenter tout de suite, avec l’aide d’une personne-ressource experte du sujet.

L’objectif premier se dégageait aussi, soit de repartir dans son milieu à la fin de la journée non pas avec seulement la tête pleine d’idées, mais avec une expérience concrète, des traces, un début de projet à peaufiner pour l’expérimenter le plus rapidement possible avec ses élèves. Que le processus créatif soit déjà en action.

Juste avant que les participants reviennent vers la cafétéria pour la pause, Audrey me lance « un vrai créa-camp dans le fond! »

Voilà comment les bases du CréaCamp ont été déposées, le temps d’un café.

L’idée est demeurée vivante et l’automne suivant, on se lançait lentement mais sûrement dans la planification d’un premier événement pour le printemps suivant. De concert avec mes collègues Sarah Shallow-Tardif et Pierre-Olivier Cloutier, nous avons déterminé quelques thèmes phares à aborder. Alors que nous nous occupions de la logistique de l’école hôte, Audrey faisait aller ses contacts pour dénicher les meilleurs facilitateurs pour accompagner les participants. L’École branchée allait s’occuper de faire connaître l’événement et récolter les inscriptions. À la demande d’Audrey, j’ai griffonné une signature visuelle CréaCamp sur ma tablette pour contribuer à donner une identité au concept (notez que c’est cette « œuvre bêta » qui est restée depuis!).

C’est ainsi que le 17 mai 2017, à l’invitation de l’École branchée, convergeaient une soixantaine de participants à l’école secondaire Mont-Saint-Sacrement pour vivre ce nouveau genre de journée. Dans une ambiance décontractée, quatre thèmes leur étaient présentés sous la forme d’un pitch motivateur. Selon leurs intérêts, les participants se divisaient dans les ateliers pour vivre un accompagnement actif et créatif.

Cette première édition fut un succès et avant même la fin de l’année scolaire, l’École branchée annonçait la tenue de journées CréaCamp dans d’autres écoles de la province à l’automne.

Depuis, l’offre CréaCamp s’est multipliée, dans une multitude de régions, parfois avec des thématiques disciplinaires, dont deux éditions pour les gestionnaires scolaires. L’École branchée a été reconnue en 2018 par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec comme partenaire officiel de l’offre de formation pour mettre en oeuvre le Plan d’action numérique, notamment avec les journées CréaCamp.

L’équipe a su adapter la formule CréaCamp aux besoins des milieux, avec des éditions plus courtes, ou encore co-élaborée directement avec une équipe-école. Et lorsque la pandémie nous a tous contraints à basculer en mode virtuel, l’équipe s’est relevé les manches pour transformer son offre présentielle vers le distanciel. Bien que le défi fut de taille, force est de constater que les CréaCamps n’ont jamais été aussi vivants que depuis la dernière année.

L’École branchée peut compter sur un solide réseau de collaborateurs et de partenaires pour faire vivre cette expérience de formation continue concrète, même à distance.

Je salue donc tous ces profs, ces CP, ces facilitateurs qui se sont impliqués depuis 2017 à faire des CréaCamps une occasion de développement professionnel qui reflète des idéaux en éducation qui sont de plus en plus mis en lumière : la flexibilité, le partage, la différenciation, la créativité et, au coeur de tout ça, la relation humaine.

L’histoire du CréaCamp est un bel exemple de la force du réseautage qui existe entre les acteurs sur le terrain et les organismes en périphérie qui veulent les épauler. L’équipe de l’École branchée continue d’inspirer et de contribuer à faire ressortir le meilleur de ce qui se fait en éducation. 

Je profite de ce 25e anniversaire pour lever ma tasse à Audrey qui a su mettre en action une idée née autour d’un café printanier. J’ai bien hâte à notre prochain café en présence, qui sait ce qui en émergera cette fois-là… 🙂

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!