ADVERTISEMENT

New virtual environments for socializing

David Croteau, music teacher at the distance education services of the Center de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM), gave us a guided tour of the Gather.town virtual environment that he uses with his elementary students.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

With the pandemic, actual social contact is limited, but the need to interact and chat with people is well and truly present. For the past few weeks, teacher David Croteau has been using the Gather.town virtual environment with his students. He has seen their motivation and level of engagement grow rapidly. 

Beyond videoconferencing platforms such as Teams and Classroom, new virtual environments promoting human contact are beginning to be deployed. Although they are not intended for schools, more and more teachers are appropriating them.

These virtual environments, like Gather.town, Kumospace, Inspace.chat and others, all offer similar functionality. The users who connect to it transform into an avatar and can "circulate" in space. When they meet other avatars (therefore, people), the microphones and cameras activate and they can chat privately together, without creating a general cacophony. Large group discussions are also possible.

The Profweb site recently published an article which details several of these environments.

Gather.town

For their part, the École branchée team turned their attention to Gather.town after teachers have testified of their use in the Facebook group ICT in education. It must be said that with its allure of video games from the 1980s, it has something to please elementary and secondary students, as well as teachers nostalgic for that time.

The free version allows up to 25 people to move around and interact at the same time, which is suitable for multiple class groups. The environment can be built from existing models. It is also possible to create a whole new “virtual world”. Indoor (library, cinema, classroom, etc.) and outdoor (park, playground, etc.) spaces are available. Smart objects can be placed in the world, they can lead to documents or websites.

David Croteau, music teacher at the distance education services of the Center de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM), offered me a guided tour of the virtual environment he created in a few hours. While he discovered Gather.town with friends, he quickly saw potential for use with his students. They have been attending the virtual school full-time since the start of the 2020 school year. They come from different primary levels and mostly have special needs.

Gather.town environment developed by David Croteau.

“This kind of environment offers a different way of interacting with each other. Even when students work as a team, they see the other teams around them. They have the impression of being really together in the same place. It's an opportunity to break loneliness. I really see it as a perfect tool for socialization, especially for distance school students, ”he says. As the tool is accessible even outside of school hours, he has also noticed that students meet there to discuss in the evening or on weekends.

In his "virtual world", David has recreated practice rooms for different musical instruments, a traditional classroom with a whiteboard, a cinema room for listening to videos related to the subject, and so on. Students can then move around according to the tasks they have to accomplish.

The teacher has the possibility of placing himself in “spotlight” mode to address the whole group. No matter where they are in the environment, the students then hear his instructions. The teacher can also "force" students to follow him when moving from room to room.  

David Croteau is still in Gather.town discover and explore mode, but he certainly intends to continue using it. He already sees other possibilities, in particular to allow pupils from different classes to interact with each other.

In this regard, the Virtual School of the Center de services scolaire de Laval has recently started to use the digital tool to bring all the students of the school together during recess.

Some instructions for use were deposited in the digital kit of the CSS de Laval.


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
12- Innovate and be creative with digital technology

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

De nouveaux environnements virtuels pour socialiser

David Croteau, enseignant de musique aux services éducatifs à distance du Centre de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM), nous a offert une visite guidée de l’environnement virtuel Gather.town qu’il utilise avec ses élèves du primaire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Avec la pandémie, les contacts sociaux réels sont limités, mais le besoin d’interagir et de discuter avec des gens est bel et bien présent. Depuis quelques semaines, l’enseignant David Croteau utilise avec ses élèves l’environnement virtuel Gather.town. Il a vu leur motivation et leur niveau d’engagement croître rapidement. 

Au-delà des plateformes de visioconférence comme Teams et Classroom, de nouveaux environnements virtuels favorisant les contacts humains commencent à se déployer. Bien qu’ils ne soient pas destinés au milieu scolaire, de plus en plus d’enseignants se les approprient.

Ces environnements virtuels, comme Gather.town, Kumospace, Inspace.chat et autres, offrent tous des fonctionnalités similaires. Les utilisateurs qui s’y connectent se métamorphosent en avatar et peuvent « circuler » dans l’espace. Lorsqu’ils rencontrent d’autres avatars (donc, des personnes), les micros et caméras s’activent et ils peuvent discuter de façon privée ensemble, sans créer de cacophonie générale. Les discussions en grand groupe sont aussi possibles.

Le site Profweb a récemment publié un article qui présente en détail plusieurs de ces environnements.

Gather.town

Pour sa part, l’équipe de l’École branchée a porté son attention sur Gather.town après que des enseignants aient témoigné de leur utilisation dans le groupe Facebook Les TIC en éducation. Il faut dire qu’avec ses allures de jeux vidéo des années 1980, il a de quoi plaire aux élèves du primaire et du secondaire, ainsi qu’aux enseignants nostalgiques de cette époque.

La version gratuite permet jusqu’à 25 personnes de circuler et interagir en même temps, ce qui est convenable pour plusieurs groupes-classes. L’environnement peut être constitué à partir de modèles existants. Il est aussi possible de créer un tout nouveau « monde virtuel ». Des espaces intérieurs (bibliothèque, cinéma, salle de classe, etc.) et extérieurs (parc, terrain de jeux, etc.) sont disponibles. Des objets intelligents peuvent être placés dans le monde, ils peuvent mener vers des documents ou des sites Web.

David Croteau, enseignant de musique aux services éducatifs à distance du Centre de services scolaire de Montréal (CSSDM), m’a offert une visite guidée de l’environnement virtuel qu’il a créé en quelques heures. S’il a découvert Gather.town avec des amis, il a rapidement perçu un potentiel d’utilisation avec ses élèves. Ceux-ci fréquentent l’école virtuelle à temps plein depuis la rentrée 2020. Ils sont de différents niveaux du primaire et ont majoritairement des besoins particuliers.

Environnement Gather.town développé par David Croteau.

« Ce genre d’environnement offre une façon différente d’interagir les uns avec les autres. Même lorsque les élèves travaillent en équipe, ils voient les autres équipes autour d’eux. Ils ont l’impression d’être réellement ensemble dans un même lieu. C’est une occasion de briser la solitude. J’y vois vraiment un outil parfait pour la socialisation, surtout pour les élèves de l’école à distance », dit-il. Comme l’outil est accessible même en dehors des heures de classe, il a d’ailleurs constaté que des élèves s’y donnent rendez-vous pour discuter en soirée ou la fin de semaine.

Dans son « monde virtuel », David a récréé des salles de pratique pour différents instruments de musique, une salle de classe traditionnelle avec un tableau blanc, une salle de cinéma pour écouter des vidéos en lien avec la matière, etc. Les élèves peuvent alors circuler en fonction des tâches qu’ils ont à accomplir.

L’enseignant a la possibilité de se placer en mode « spotlight » pour s’adresser à tout le groupe. Peu importe, où ils se trouvent dans l’environnement, les élèves entendent alors ses consignes. L’enseignant peut également « forcer » les élèves à le suivre lors d’un déplacement d’une pièce à l’autre.  

David Croteau est encore en mode découverte et exploration de Gather.town mais il entend certainement poursuivre l’utilisation. Il voit déjà d’autres possibilités, notamment pour permettre aux élèves de différentes classes d’interagir entre eux.

À ce sujet, l’École virtuelle du Centre de services scolaire de Laval a récemment commencé à utiliser l’outil numérique pour rassembler tous les élèves de l’école ensemble au moment des récréations.

Quelques consignes d’utilisation ont été déposées dans la Trousse numérique du CSS de Laval.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!