ADVERTISEMENT

Developing creativity with mathematics

How do you connect art and math? High school math teacher Mélanie Morissette found an original way to do so by using the Polypad application with her students. The students even had the opportunity to participate in an international contest (and one of them won!).

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (1)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Susanne Bergmann

How do you connect art and math? High school math teacher Mélanie Morissette found an original way to do so by using the Polypad application with her students. Her students (her school is all-girls) even had the opportunity to participate in an international competition (and one of them won!).

For years, the 1st and 5th grade math teacher has beene Mélanie Morissette, a high school teacher at Collège Saint-Joseph in Gatineau, was looking for ideas on social networks to further develop her students' creativity. She finally discovered the free Polypad application, produced by Mathigon, and took training to use it optimally.

Polypad is a virtual manipulation tool for geometry, number operations, fractions, algebra, probability and statistics. Melanie began using the application with her students during a geometry class.

A drawing contest

While researching the app, she discovered that there was an inaugural drawing contest for high school youth (ages 12 and up), the Polypad Art Contest - Mathigon. Despite the lack of examples for inspiration, she encouraged her students to participate.

And what a great success! This resulted in some interesting creations, such as 3D drawings, artworks or pavements (geometrical shapes), which were submitted to the contest. To discover the creations of the first edition of this contest, consult the examples provided by Mélanie Morissette : Polypad drawings - Google Docs.

After the end of classes, the teacher received a nice surprise: one of her students, Inass Boujda, was among the finalists! Here is the work in question: 

Africa (mathigon.org)

Creativity and mathematics

Frequently, creativity and mathematics are perceived as two completely separate worlds. Yet it is possible to bring them together. According to the teacher, one should not hesitate to challenge students with this type of problem solving. "Even for students who are less comfortable with traditional problem solving, using such a tool can stimulate their imagination. Indeed, every time we offer them a creative task, they manage to surprise us!" She cites the example of her fellow teachers who give the same creative task to their students year after year, and each year the students still surprise their teachers with new creations.

Workshop at the GRMS Congress

Get ready... We have the scoop! Mélanie Morissette, who is also a member of the board of directors of the Groupe des responsables en mathématique au secondaire (GRMS), has confirmed that there will be a workshop on the Polypad platform at the next conference. It will be held on November 3 and 4, 2022 in Trois-Rivières.


Other creations

Simone Racine

Victoria Pilon

Frédérique Gauthier

Nicole Croitoru

Adriana Mesa Rojas 

Rosalie Verkade

Marie-Maude Maranda-Lefier

Jasmine Adam

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Développer sa créativité avec les mathématiques

Comment connecter les arts et les mathématiques? L’enseignante de mathématiques au secondaire Mélanie Morissette a trouvé une façon originale de le faire en utilisant l’application Polypad avec ses élèves. Celles-ci ont même eu l’opportunité de participer à un concours international (et l’une d’elles s’est démarquée!).

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (1)

Par Susanne Bergmann

Comment connecter les arts et les mathématiques? L’enseignante de mathématiques au secondaire Mélanie Morissette a trouvé une façon originale de le faire en utilisant l’application Polypad avec ses élèves. Celles-ci (son école accueille uniquement des filles) ont même eu l’opportunité de participer à un concours international (et l’une d’elles s’est démarquée!).

Depuis des années, l’enseignante de mathématiques en 1re et 5e secondaire au Collège Saint-Joseph de Gatineau, Mélanie Morissette, cherchait sur les réseaux sociaux des idées pour développer davantage la créativité de ses élèves. Elle a finalement découvert l’application gratuite Polypad, produit par Mathigon, et a suivi des formations pour l’utiliser de manière optimale.

Polypad est un outil virtuel de manipulation pour la géométrie, les opérations sur les nombres, les fractions, l’algèbre, la probabilité et la statistique. C’est plus particulièrement lors d’une séquence en géométrie que Mélanie a commencé à utiliser l’application avec ses élèves.

Un concours de dessin

En faisant des recherches sur l’appli, elle a découvert qu’un premier concours de dessin pour les jeunes du secondaire (12 ans et plus) était organisé, le Polypad Art Contest – Mathigon. Malgré l’absence d’exemples pour s’inspirer, elle a encouragé ses élèves à y participer.

Et quelle belle réussite! Cela a donné des créations intéressantes, telles que des dessins en 3D, des œuvres artistiques ou des dallages (formes géométriques), qui ont été soumises au concours. Pour découvrir les créations de la première édition de ce concours, consultez les exemples fournis par Mélanie Morissette : Dessins Polypad – Google Docs.

Et voilà, après la fin de classes, l’enseignante a reçu une belle surprise : une de ses élèves, Inass Boujda, faisait partie des finalistes!!  Voilà l’œuvre en question: 

Africa (mathigon.org)

Créativité et mathématiques

Fréquemment, la créativité et les mathématiques sont perçues comme deux mondes complètement séparés. Pourtant, il est possible de les réunir. Selon l’enseignante, il ne faut pas hésiter à lancer des défis aux élèves avec ce type de résolution de problèmes. « Même pour des élèves qui sont moins confortables avec la résolution classique, l’utilisation d’un tel outil pourra stimuler leur imagination. En effet, chaque fois qu’on leur propose une tâche créative, ils parviennent à nous faire surprendre! » Elle cite l’exemple de ses collègues enseignantes qui redonnent la même tâche créative à leurs élèves d’année en année, et chaque année, les élèves surprennent encore leurs enseignantes avec de nouvelles créations.

Atelier au Congrès du GRMS

Préparez-vous… Nous avons obtenu un scoop! Mélanie Morissette, qui est aussi membre du conseil d’administration du Groupe des responsables en mathématique au secondaire (GRMS), nous a confirmé qu’il y aura un atelier au sujet de la plateforme Polypad lors du prochain congrès. Celui-ci se tiendra les 3 et 4 novembre 2022 à Trois-Rivières.


D’autres créations

Simone Racine

Victoria Pilon

Frédérique Gauthier

Nicole Croitoru

Adriana Mesa Rojas 

Rosalie Verkade

Marie-Maude Maranda-Lefier

Jasmine Adam

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :