ADVERTISEMENT

The #Edubrèves - October 4, 2022 edition

Here are your #Édubrèves. In this edition: messages of encouragement to all teachers, Mathieu Thibault rewarded for a research-training on teaching high school probabilities with technological tools, challenges to reduce your digital footprint, new self-training on podcast production and distribution, the WOW project is back, book club and inspiring lunches to come, the 11 superpowers of teachers and much more

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Here are your #Ébrèves. Feel free to share them or write me if you have news to share.

In this issue: messages of encouragement to all teachers, Mathieu Thibault awarded for research-training on teaching high school probability with technology tools, challenges to reduce your digital footprint, new self-training on producing and distributing podcasts, the WOW project is back, book club and inspiring lunches to come, the 11 superpowers of teachers and much more.

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this news digest is for entertainment purposes only.


Messages of encouragement to all teachers

Normally, this is the kind of content we would have published at the very end of the #Edubrèves. The school year that has just begun is definitely not like any other. The collateral damage of the last two years has definitely settled into our daily lives. The need for support and encouragement is enormous.

In the last few days, two actors from the education community, Pierre Gagnon from Ludoka, and Sylvain Duclos, a high school teacher, have posted messages on social networks. Take a break, take a deep breath, get back to basics and put things in perspective. Can the current situation become an opportunity to "really" do things differently? 

To watch and share


Professor Mathieu Thibault receives the Dieter Lunkenbein Award

Mathieu Thibaultprofessor in the Department of Education at the Saint-Jérôme Campus, has just published win the Dieter-Lunkenbein 2022 award for the best doctoral thesis in didactics of mathematics in a Quebec university in the last two years.

Professor Thibault's thesis is entitled "Research-training on the teaching of secondary school probabilities with technological tools: training issues". The jury underlined the excellent quality of the thesis, in particular the originality and the great scope of the results of his thesis in which he tackled a little documented subject, the training of probability teaching with technological tools. 

Mathieu Thibault is the author of the article Three issues related to teaching with technology toolsin the fall issue of the École branchée magazine. He presents some of the results of his research-training.


Bulk Resources


Have you heard about the Quebec Summit for Children?

This event, organized by the Association d'éducation préscolaire du Québec (AÉPQ), will take place on 1er and December 2, 2022. Speakers such as Dr. Julien, Steve Masson and Mélanie Bilodeau will be present. Topics such as positive parenting, the power of play, the brain, the impact of digital technology, sleep and caring will be discussed. The opening of the Summit will be hosted by actor Emmanuel Bilodeau.

To consult the program and register.


The WOW project is back

Our WOW Project is back for a second year in a dozen adult education centers in Quebec. It aims to support the learning of Common Core students using technological tools in a collaborative approach. This year, the objective is to refocus on the portraits of the learners and the group in order to identify the priorities in terms of learning needs and the development of digital aids. 

Several articles have emerged as a result of the first year of this project's life, including two articles that appeared in the École branchée news feed:

And this article from the Table de responsable de l'éducation des adultes du Québec : The WOW Project: A Collaborative Approach to Common Core Training (CCT)


Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

Some 72 educators from across Canada have received a Prime Minister's Award for their dedication and commitment to their students. The awards recognize excellence in teaching and excellence in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education and excellence in early childhood education in regional and national categories. 

Since 1994, more than 2,100 outstanding Canadian educators have received a Prime Minister's Award.

Read the press release.

Consult the lists of winners : 


To put on the agenda

  • October 5 (12:00-1:00 p.m.) - Inspiring Lunch: Artificial Intelligence in Education: With Simon Collin, professor at the Faculty of Education of the Université du Québec à Montréal and holder of the Canada Research Chair on Digital Equity in Education, and Carolanne Tremblay, director of educational technologies at Optania, developer of the AI systems Ali, a front-line psychosocial support robot for students, and Isa, an educational tracking system that analyzes the profile of each student and quickly detects those who are likely to fail or drop out. Free registration.
  • October 12 (12:00 to 1:00 p.m.) - École branchée Book Club With three authors of the fall issue of École branchée magazine: Pascal Gauthier (UQAC), France Gravelle (UQAM), Jonathan R. Chevrier Ph. D. (Université Laval). Door prizes offered by our partner, Druide informatique. Free registration.
  • October 15 - 1st Learning Disabilities Institute Parent Day Speakers will explain how the brain learns and suggest healthy habits to adopt for a successful school year. Free registration.
  • October 18 (12:00-1:00 p.m.): Inspiring Lunch: What if every child had the opportunity to learn and succeed? Digital to address language disorders. With Catherine Bazinet, co-founder ofAleo VRa virtual reality game-based educational tool for dyslexic-dysorthographic children, and Marie-Philippe Goyer, speech therapist, educational consultant and founder of ScolAidewhich helps to equip teachers and students in need. Free registration.

To read


A new audio speaker for 3 to 12 year olds

Made in France, Merlin is a new audio speaker that offers a new audio selection, produced by Bayard Jeunesse, Milan Jeunesse and Radio France. Fiction, documentaries, news, musical tales, yoga sessions... more than 200 titles accompany children in their imaginary adventures and their discovery of the world. Merlin offers an unprecedented edutainment experience, based on a unique expertise in audio and youth content.

Merlin is thus betting on audio to serve reading:

  • to learn to recognize sounds and syllables
  • to build up a high "language base
  • to develop his vocabulary.

In closing, follow these two rules!


If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 4 octobre 2022

Voici vos #Édubrèves. Dans cette édition : des messages d'encouragement à tous les enseignants, Mathieu Thibault récompensé pour une recherche-formation sur l’enseignement des probabilités du secondaire avec des outils technologiques, des défis pour réduire son empreinte numérique, nouvelles autoformations sur la production et la diffusion de balados, le projet WOW est de retour, club de lecture et midis inspirants à venir, les 11 superpouvoirs des enseignants et bien plus.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Voici vos #Édubrèves. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : des messages d’encouragement à tous les enseignants, Mathieu Thibault récompensé pour une recherche-formation sur l’enseignement des probabilités du secondaire avec des outils technologiques, des défis pour réduire son empreinte numérique, nouvelles autoformations sur la production et la diffusion de balados, le projet WOW est de retour, club de lecture et midis inspirants à venir, les 11 superpouvoirs des enseignants et bien plus.

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement.


Messages d’encouragement à tous les enseignants

Normalement, c’est le genre de contenu que nous aurions publié à la toute fin des #Édubrèves. Décidément, l’année scolaire qui vient à peine de débuter n’en est pas une comme les autres. Les dommages collatéraux des deux dernières années se sont définitivement bien installés dans nos quotidiens. Le besoin de soutien et d’encouragement est énorme.

Dans les derniers jours, deux acteurs du milieu de l’éducation, Pierre Gagnon de Ludoka, et Sylvain Duclos, enseignant au secondaire, ont publié des messages sur les réseaux sociaux. Prendre une pause, prendre une bonne respiration, revenir à l’essentiel et relativiser. Est-ce que la situation actuelle peut devenir l’occasion de « vraiment » faire autrement? 

À regarder et à partager


Le professeur Mathieu Thibault reçoit le Prix Dieter-Lunkenbein

Mathieu Thibault, professeur au Département des sciences de l’éducation au Campus de Saint-Jérôme, vient de remporter le prix Dieter-Lunkenbein 2022 pour la meilleure thèse de doctorat en didactique des mathématiques dans une université québécoise au cours des deux dernières années.

La thèse du professeur Thibault est intitulée Recherche-formation sur l’enseignement des probabilités du secondaire avec des outils technologiques : enjeux de formation ». Le jury a souligné l’excellente qualité de la thèse, en particulier l’originalité et la grande portée des résultats de sa thèse dans laquelle il s’est attaqué à un sujet peu documenté, la formation à l’enseignement des probabilités au moyen d’outils technologiques. 

Mathieu Thibault est auteur de l’article Trois enjeux liés à l’enseignement à l’aide d’outils technologiques, dans le numéro d’automne du magazine de l’École branchée. Il y présente une partie des résultats de sa recherche-formation.


Ressources en vrac


Avez-vous entendu parler du Sommet Québécois pour l’enfance?

Cet événement, organisé par l’Association d’éducation préscolaire du Québec (AÉPQ), se déroulera le  1er et 2 décembre 2022. Des conférenciers tels que le Dr. Julien, Steve Masson et Mélanie Bilodeau seront présents. Des sujets comme la parentalité positive, le pouvoir du jeu, le cerveau, l’impact du numérique, le sommeil et la bienveillance seront abordés. L’ouverture de ce Sommet sera animée par l’acteur Emmanuel Bilodeau.

Pour consulter la programmation et s’inscrire.


Le projet WOW est de retour

Le Projet WOW est de retour pour une deuxième année dans une dizaine de centres d’éducation des adultes au Québec. Il vise à soutenir l’apprentissage des élèves de la formation de base commune à l’aide d’outils technologiques dans une approche collaborative. Cette année, l’objectif est de se recentrer sur les portraits des personnes apprenantes et du groupe afin d’en dégager les priorités en matière de besoins d’apprentissage et de développement d’aides numériques. 

Plusieurs articles ont vu le jour à la suite de la première année de vie de ce projet, dont deux articles parus dans le fil d’actualité de l’École branchée :

Et cet article de la Table de responsable de l’éducation des adultes du Québec : Le projet WOW : une approche collaborative en formation de base commune (FBC).


Prix du Premier ministre pour l’excellence en enseignement

Quelque 72 éducateurs de partout au Canada ont reçu un Prix du Premier ministre pour leur dévouement et leur engagement envers leurs élèves. Il s’agit de prix souligne l’excellence dans l’enseignement et l’excellence dans l’enseignement des sciences, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) et l’excellence en éducation de la petite enfance dans des catégories régionale et nationale. 

Depuis 1994, ce sont plus de 2 100 éducateurs canadiens d’exception qui se sont vu remettre un Prix du Premier ministre.

Lire le communiqué de presse.

Consulter les listes de lauréats : 


À mettre à l’agenda

  • 5 octobre (12h à 13h) – Midi Inspirant : Intelligence artificielle en éducation : Avec Simon Collin, professeur à la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université du Québec à Montréal et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur l’équité numérique en éducation, et Carolanne Tremblay, directrice des technologies éducatives chez Optania, développeur des systèmes d’IA Ali, un robot conversationnel de soutien psychosocial de première ligne pour les étudiants, et Isa, un système de suivi éducatif qui analyse le profil de chaque étudiant et détecte rapidement ceux qui sont susceptibles d’échouer ou de décrocher. Inscription gratuite.
  • 12 octobre (12h à 13h) – Club de lecture de l’École branchée : Avec trois auteurs du numéro de l’automne du magazine École branchée : Pascal Gauthier (UQAC), France Gravelle (UQAM), Jonathan R. Chevrier Ph. D. (Université Laval). Prix de présence offerts par notre partenaire, Druide informatique. Inscription gratuite.
  • 15 octobre – 1ère Journée-parents de l’Institut des troubles d’apprentissage : des conférencières expliqueront comment le cerveau apprend et proposeront de saines habitudes à adopter pour une année scolaire réussie. Inscription gratuite.
  • 18 octobre (12h à 13h) : Midi Inspirant : Et si chaque enfant avait la possibilité d’apprendre et de réussir ? Le numérique pour remédier aux troubles du langage. : Avec Catherine Bazinet, co-fondatrice d’Aleo VR, outil pédagogique sous forme de jeux en réalité virtuelle destiné aux enfants dyslexiques-dysorthographiques, et Marie-Philippe Goyer, orthopédagogue, conseillère pédagogique et fondatrice de ScolAide, qui aide à outiller enseignants et élèves en difficultés. Inscription gratuite.

À lire

  • Travail d’équipe, collaboration et droit à l’erreur sont à l’honneur dans la classe d’Annie Lavallée. (un article du journal Le Nouvelliste)
  • À travers des témoignages inspirants, découvrez les 11 superpouvoirs des enseignants (un livre de Septembre éditeur)
  • L’école Saint-Paul en Mauricie obtient son accréditation du programme eSTIMe qui permet aux élèves de la maternelle à la 6e année de faire l’apprentissage de la programmation informatique et robotique. (un article du journal Le Nouvelliste)

Une nouvelle enceinte audio pour les 3 à 12 ans

Fabriquée en France, Merlin est une nouvelle enceinte audio qui propose une sélection audio inédite, produite par Bayard Jeunesse, Milan Jeunesse et Radio France. Fictions, documentaires, actualités, contes musicaux, séances de yoga… plus de 200 titres accompagnent les enfants dans leurs aventures imaginaires et leur découverte du monde. Merlin offre une expérience de divertissement ludo-éducatif sans précédent, basée sur une expertise unique de l’audio et des contenus jeunesse.

Merlin fait ainsi le pari de l’audio au service de la lecture :

  • pour apprendre à reconnaître les sons et les syllabes
  • pour se constituer un « socle linguistique » élevé
  • pour développer son vocabulaire.

En terminant, suivez ces deux règles!


Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :