Careers of the future presented by Quebec experts

Quebec is one of the world leaders in technology, especially in artificial intelligence. Young people may have heard this statement before. However, they probably don't see the possibilities that are available to them when it comes to making a career choice. A web series now demystifies the world of artificial intelligence for them.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Quebec is one of the world leaders in technology, especially in artificial intelligence. Young people may have heard this statement before. However, they probably don't see the possibilities that are available to them when it comes to making a career choice. A web series now demystifies the world of artificial intelligence for them.

Ms. Ravy Por founded the organization Heroes of our country in order to democratize technology education among young Quebecers. Coming from a modest background in Quebec City, she had the opportunity to access higher education and make her place in the world of technology, even though school counselors had never told her about this possibility. Today, she is the Executive Director and leader of the Center of Excellence in Artificial Intelligence and Emerging Technologies for the global strategic consulting firm KPMG.

At the age of 11, the young woman, whose Cambodian parents immigrated to Quebec before she was born, had the opportunity to volunteer and tutor students in difficulty. Ravy, who had a real talent for math and science, wanted to pass on her passion. Then, technology was added to her expertise. Today, she wishes to inspire young Quebecers and lead them to become the digital creators of tomorrow.

Interview with Frantz Saintellemy, President and Chief Operating Officer of LeddarTech, Founder of Group 3737.

Valuing Quebec's experts

Through Héros de chez nous, she offers a first web series, called AI Tech Break: the jobs of the future which demystifies the fields of the future and proposes meetings with Quebec experts in artificial intelligence. The series of 8 short episodes is available to schools through the Télé-Québec in the classroom and of TFO Idello since mid-May.

After an introduction to AI, the other episodes deal with AI in different fields: transportation, environment, health, video games, quantum and ethics. The objective is to demonstrate that AI is something concrete in different sectors.

 Each episode is built according to the same scenario:

- Notions related to AI are stated;

- 2D animations illustrate the concepts;

- Interviews with Quebec specialists with atypical profiles help inspire young people;

- Avenues of exploration are offered so that young people can position themselves as the workers of tomorrow (examples of jobs of the future).

Additional materials and teaching guides are provided with each episode.

Interview with Nathalie de Marcellis-Warin of CIRANO

Workshops and conferences

Ravy has already had the opportunity to visit elementary and high schools in Quebec to speak to students. She now hopes to do so on a more regular basis in order to bring the series to life and further the experience with young people. She also proposes more practical workshop series.

"Young people are curious, they must be able to be in discovery mode. I want to open up the possibilities for them, show them examples of Quebecers who are inspiring role models. Everyone must feel that they can make their own way and succeed," says the young woman.

In addition : 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Des métiers d’avenir présentés par des experts québécois

Le Québec est l’un des chefs de file mondiaux en technologie, et plus particulièrement en intelligence artificielle. Les jeunes ont peut-être déjà entendu cette affirmation. Par contre, ils ne voient probablement pas les possibilités qui s’offrent à eux lorsque vient le temps de faire un choix de carrière. Une websérie démystifie maintenant l’univers de l’intelligence artificielle pour eux.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le Québec est l’un des chefs de file mondiaux en technologie, et plus particulièrement en intelligence artificielle. Les jeunes ont peut-être déjà entendu cette affirmation. Par contre, ils ne voient probablement pas les possibilités qui s’offrent à eux lorsque vient le temps de faire un choix de carrière. Une websérie démystifie maintenant l’univers de l’intelligence artificielle pour eux.

Mme Ravy Por a fondé l’organisme Héros de chez nous afin de démocratiser l’éducation technologique auprès des jeunes québécois. Issue d’un milieu modeste dans la ville de Québec, elle a eu l’occasion d’accéder à des études supérieures et de faire sa place dans le monde des technologies, même si les orienteurs scolaires ne lui avaient jamais parlé de cette possibilité. Elle est aujourd’hui directrice exécutive et leader du Centre d’excellence en intelligence artificielle et technologies émergentes pour l’entreprise mondiale de conseil stratégique KPMG.

Dès l’âge de 11 ans, la jeune femme, dont les parents cambodgiens ont immigré au Québec avant sa naissance, a eu l’occasion de faire du bénévolat et de s’engager comme tutrice auprès d’élèves en difficultés. Ravy, qui avait un véritable talent pour les mathématiques et les sciences, a voulu leur transmettre sa passion. Puis, les technologies se sont greffées à son expertise. Elle souhaite aujourd’hui inspirer les jeunes Québécois et les amener à devenir des créateurs du numérique de demain.

Entrevue avec Frantz Saintellemy, président et chef de l’exploitation de LeddarTech, Fondateur du Groupe 3737.

Valoriser les experts du Québec

À travers Héros de chez nous, elle propose une première websérie, baptisée Pause-Techno IA : les métiers du futur qui démystifie les domaines de l’avenir et propose des rencontres avec des experts québécois en intelligence artificielle. La série de 8 courts épisodes est accessible pour le milieu scolaire à travers le catalogue de Télé-Québec en classe et de TFO Idello depuis la mi-mai.

Après une introduction à l’IA, les autres épisodes traitent de l’IA dans différents domaines : transport, environnement, santé, jeux vidéo, quantique et éthique. L’objectif est de démontrer que l’IA est quelque chose de concret dans différents secteurs.

 Chaque épisode est construit selon le même scénario :

–   Des notions en lien avec l’IA sont énoncées;

–   Des animations 2D permettent d’illustrer les notions;

–   Des entretiens avec des spécialistes québécois aux profils atypiques permettent d’inspirer les jeunes;

–   Des pistes d’exploration sont offertes afin que les jeunes se positionnent en tant que travailleurs de demain (exemples de métiers du futur).

Du matériel complémentaire et des guides pédagogiques sont proposés avec chaque épisode.

Entrevue avec Nathalie de Marcellis-Warin du CIRANO

Des ateliers et conférences

Ravy a déjà eu l’occasion de se rendre dans des écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec afin de s’adresser aux élèves. Elle souhaite maintenant avoir l’occasion de le faire plus régulièrement afin de faire vivre la série et de pousser l’expérience plus loin avec les jeunes. Elle propose également des séries d’ateliers plus pratiques.

« Les jeunes sont curieux, ils doivent pouvoir se placer en mode découverte. Je veux ouvrir les possibles pour eux, leur montrer des exemples de Québécois qui sont des modèles inspirants. Tous doivent sentir qu’ils peuvent faire leur chemin et réussir », soutient la jeune femme.

En complément : 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :