Rethinking Secondary 4 History Teaching to Engage Students

In Quebec, the Secondary IV history course is "a big year", as teachers of this sanctioned discipline often say. In this context, how can we rethink the teaching of this course in order to better engage students in their learning, while ensuring that the annual objectives are met? Two projects along these lines were presented at the 2022 Acfas Congress.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

In Quebec, the 4e Secondary school is "a big year", as teachers of this sanctioned subject often say. In this context, how can we rethink the teaching of this subject in order to better engage students in their learning, while ensuring that the annual objectives are met? Two projects along these lines were presented at the 2022 Acfas Congress.

Heritage at a Glance

The project Heritage at a Glance has proven itself. For the past 10 years, it has allowed students from 4e to explore the heritage of the Châteauguay region. Véronique Charleboisa history teacher in Secondary 3 and 4 at Heritage College in Châteauguay, presented the project. According to her, it allows young people to develop a sense of belonging to their community, while improving their understanding of history.

"Students have a hard time connecting the national historical narrative that is taught with the local narrative, the history of their community. The project allows them to link the two and discover bits of their own family history," she explained.

In this project, students are first introduced to digital photography during their history class. They then travel to their community to photograph different elements (religious, architectural, military, industrial, natural heritage, etc.). Then, they must conduct research and write a text that explains the heritage value of one of their photographs.

"The process is insecure for students at first. They ask themselves, 'Is this or that element valuable enough for me to document? As the project progresses, they develop their autonomy in their search for information and take a fresh look at their environment," says Ms. Charlebois.

In their quest for information, they can consult people around them or refer to historical works. The school has acquired many books on local history to help them enrich their bibliography.

Their photographs and texts are then presented to the entire community through the LePailleur HouseThe Châteauguay Museum and Historic Site of Quebec has turned this into a real exhibition-competition. The public can then vote for the favorite photograph of the year.

"The youth are impressed with the seriousness given to their project. Museum standards are applied to their photos and texts when preparing the exhibition. It is very rewarding for them. Year after year, we feel a growing excitement in the community, while the public is eager to discover the students' new productions."

L’attribut alt de cette image est vide, son nom de fichier est Capture-de%CC%81cran-2022-05-11-a%CC%80-14.38.15.png.

Interpreting a work of art in history class

The project of Catinca Adriana Stan, a professor at Laval University, was born from two observations: "In history classes, images are generally used in an accessory way to accompany the text. Moreover, the work of interpreting historical documents leaves little room for the students' feelings and rarely allows them the freedom to interpret them themselves, i.e. to give their opinion.

In 2021, she conducted research in a class of 4e secondary school, also from Collège Héritage in Châteauguay. About thirty students analyzed war posters, paintings, statues and monuments using an analysis grid that combines aesthetic and historical reading (evidence, meaning, continuity and change, causes and consequences, historical perspective, moral dimension).

They had to answer questions like:

  • What surprises, delights or saddens you about this work?
  • Why did the artist create it? What information/messages did he want to convey?
  • What do we learn about history from the work?
  • Can this work help us understand the present?

During six sessions, they learned to express their feelings and to better contextualize the works of art through modeling and guided practice at first, then independently.

"At the beginning of the project, kids said they had little interest in history, were afraid of the end-of-year departmental exam, and placed little importance on the works in the books," says Stan.

There was a turning point, according to her, in the 5e workshop, as the youth were asked to select a piece of art and analyze it. "We reached a higher level. The students produced high quality writing, which was generally longer than the minimum length required. We felt we had touched them. They revealed great historical empathy. They interpreted the posture, the facial expressions of the characters, they made connections between the colors used and the feelings expressed," enthuses the teacher.

The project was designed to allow students to develop their documentary analysis skills and historical thinking. They also developed their interpretive independence. "They realized that there is a story, a value, a message behind each work and they made connections. They especially appreciated being allowed to choose which work they would present to their peers."

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Repenser l’enseignement de l’histoire en 4e secondaire pour engager les élèves

Au Québec, le cours d’histoire de 4e secondaire est « une grosse année », comme le disent souvent les enseignants de cette discipline sanctionnée. Dans ce contexte, comment en repenser l’enseignement afin d’engager davantage les élèves dans leurs apprentissages, tout en s’assurant d’atteindre les objectifs annuels? Deux projets en ce sens ont été présentés lors du Congrès 2022 de l’Acfas.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Au Québec, le cours d’histoire de 4e secondaire est « une grosse année », comme le disent souvent les enseignants de cette discipline sanctionnée. Dans ce contexte, comment en repenser l’enseignement afin d’engager davantage les élèves dans leurs apprentissages, tout en s’assurant d’atteindre les objectifs annuels? Deux projets en ce sens ont été présentés lors du Congrès 2022 de l’Acfas.

Coup d’œil sur le patrimoine

Le projet Coup d’œil sur le patrimoine a fait ses preuves. Depuis 10 ans, il permet à des élèves de 4e secondaire d’explorer le patrimoine de la région de Châteauguay. Véronique Charlebois, enseignante d’histoire en 3e et 4e secondaire au Collège Héritage de Châteauguay, a présenté le projet. Selon elle, il permet aux jeunes de développer un sentiment d’appartenance envers leur communauté, tout en améliorant leur compréhension de l’histoire.

« Les élèves ont de la difficulté à associer la trame historique nationale qui est enseignée avec la trame locale, l’histoire de leur communauté. Le projet leur permet de lier les deux et de découvrir des bouts d’histoires de leur propre famille », a-t-elle expliqué.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, les élèves sont d’abord initiés à la photographie numérique pendant  leur cours d’histoire. Ils se déplacent ensuite dans leur communauté afin de photographier différents éléments (patrimoine religieux, architectural, militaire, industriel, naturel, etc.). Puis, ils doivent mener des recherches et écrire un texte qui explique la valeur patrimoniale d’une de leurs photographies.

« La démarche est insécurisante pour les élèves au départ. Ils se demandent : est-ce que tel ou tel élément a assez de valeur pour que je la documente? Au fil du projet, ils développent leur autonomie dans la recherche d’information et jettent un regard nouveau sur leur environnement », fait valoir Mme Charlebois.

Dans leur quête d’information, ils peuvent consulter des personnes de leur entourage ou se référer à des ouvrages historiques. L’école a d’ailleurs fait l’acquisition de nombreux livres sur l’histoire locale afin de les aider à enrichir leur bibliographie.

Leurs photographies et leurs textes sont ensuite présentés à toute la communauté, grâce à la Maison LePailleur, Musée et site historique de Châteauguay, qui en fait une véritable exposition-concours. Le public peut alors voter pour la photographie coup de cœur de l’année.

« Les jeunes sont impressionnés par le sérieux accordé à leur projet. Les normes muséales sont appliquées à leurs photos et textes lors de la préparation de l’exposition. C’est très valorisant pour eux. Année après année, on sent un engouement croissant dans la communauté, alors que le public a hâte de découvrir les nouvelles productions des élèves. »

L’attribut alt de cette image est vide, son nom de fichier est Capture-de%CC%81cran-2022-05-11-a%CC%80-14.38.15.png.

Interpréter une œuvre d’art en classe d’histoire

Le projet de Catinca Adriana Stan, professeure à l’Université Laval, est né de deux constats : « En classe d’histoire, les images sont généralement utilisées de façon accessoire pour accompagner du texte. De plus, le travail d’interprétation des documents historiques fait peu de place au ressenti des élèves et leur laisse rarement la liberté de les interpréter eux-mêmes, c’est-à-dire de donner leur opinion ».

En 2021, elle a mené une recherche dans une classe de 4e secondaire, également du Collège Héritage de Châteauguay. Une trentaine d’élèves ont analysé des affiches de guerre, des peintures, des statues et monuments en utilisant une grille d’analyse, qui combine la lecture esthétique et la lecture historique (l’évidence, la signification, la continuité et le changement, les causes et les conséquences, la perspective historique, la dimension morale).

Ils devaient répondre à des questions comme :

  • Qu’est-ce qui vous surprend, vous réjouit, vous attriste dans cette œuvre?
  • Pourquoi l’artiste l’a-t-il créée? Quelles informations/messages souhaitait-il transmettre?
  • Qu’est-ce que nous apprenons sur l’histoire à partir de l’œuvre?
  • Cette œuvre peut-elle nous aider à comprendre le présent?

Pendant six séances, ils ont appris notamment à exprimer leur ressenti et à mieux contextualiser les œuvres d’art par de la modélisation et de la pratique guidée dans un premier temps, puis de façon autonome.

« Au début du projet, les jeunes se disaient peu intéressés par l’histoire, ils craignaient l’examen ministériel de fin d’année et accordaient peu d’importance aux œuvres dans les livres », dit Mme Stan.

Il y a eu un tournant, selon elle, lors du 5e atelier, alors que les jeunes ont été invités à choisir une œuvre d’art et à l’analyser. « Nous avons atteint un niveau supérieur. Les élèves ont produit des textes de grande qualité, qui étaient généralement plus longs que la longueur minimale demandée. On a senti qu’on les avait touchés. Ils ont révélé une grande empathie historique. Ils ont interprété la posture, l’expression faciale des personnages, ils ont fait des liens entre les couleurs utilisées et les sentiments exprimés », s’enthousiasme la professeure.

Le projet visait à permettre aux élèves de développer leur compétence d’analyse documentaire et leur pensée historique. Ils ont aussi développé leur autonomie interprétative. « Ils ont réalisé qu’il y a une histoire, des valeurs, un message derrière chaque ouvrage et ils ont fait des liens. Ils ont surtout apprécié qu’on leur laisse choisir quelle œuvre ils allaient présenter à leurs camarades. »

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :