UQAM researchers demonstrate the effectiveness of the game Slice Fractions

In particular, they found that it allows Grade 3 students to reach the level of Grade 4 students in understanding fractions after only 3 hours of play!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

In particular, they found that it allows Grade 3 students to reach the level of Grade 4 students in understanding fractions after only 3 hours of play!

Stephane Cyr and Martin Riopel, respectively professors at the Faculty of Science (Department of Mathematics) and the Faculty of Educational Sciences (Department of Didactics) of the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM), conducted a study which found that video games Slice Fractions significantly improves student performance in record time.

Slice Fractions offers children from 6 to 12 years old to take on captivating challenges in a colorful and intriguing universe populated by endearing characters. The game is available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Apple TV, as well as most Android devices.

The study was conducted among 139 Quebec students from 3e year, divided into three groups:
- Group 1: only received traditional instruction in fractions;
- Group 2: played at Slice Fractions in class in addition to having a traditional education;
- Group 3: only played the game Slice Fractions in class.

 

Amazing results, even for researchers
The students then answered 14 questions about the fractions taken from the Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS), a standardized test used to assess and compare students around the world. The two groups that used Slice Fractions had a larger and more significant performance gain than students who received only traditional instruction, even and especially for a subset of questions that offered no visual support to students. For example, one of the questions was: What fraction is equivalent to 2/3? The choice of answers given included only text, no visual reference. For researchers, this shows that students were able to transfer their learning, even for abstract notions, while Slice Fractions is a game essentially based on manipulation, procedures and visual representations.

 

Learn at full speed
Another unexpected element of this study is how quickly the game improves understanding of fractions. “Three hours of play in class were enough to allow our subjects to 3e year to achieve a level of performance comparable to that of students of 4e year of the United States and Quebec ”, notes Martin Riopel, co-researcher of the study. The gain is therefore achieved in record time when compared to that of usual classroom teaching and gives children who use the game a head start.

 

In addition to being effective, the game designed by Ululab, a company set up by graduates of UQAM's Faculty of Education, stands out for the excellence of its design, as evidenced by the prestigious awards Editor's Choice and Best of 2014 from the Apple App Store.

On the occasion of the unveiling of the results of this study, Ululab announces a major update of Slice Fractions, featuring 32 new levels of additions, a redesigned navigation interface and compatibility with the latest edition of Apple TV, from Apple.

More details and results in this video summary three minutes.

 

Source: press release

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Des chercheurs de l’UQAM démontrent l’efficacité du jeu Slice Fractions

Ils ont notamment trouvé qu’il permet à des élèves de 3e année d’atteindre le niveau d’élèves de 4e année en ce qui concerne la compréhension des fractions après seulement 3 heures de jeu!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Ils ont notamment trouvé qu’il permet à des élèves de 3e année d’atteindre le niveau d’élèves de 4e année en ce qui concerne la compréhension des fractions après seulement 3 heures de jeu!

Stéphane Cyr et Martin Riopel, respectivement professeurs à la Faculté des sciences (département des mathématiques) et à la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation (département de didactique) de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), ont mené une étude qui a révélé que le jeu vidéo Slice Fractions améliore significativement la performance des élèves, et ce, en un temps record.

Slice Fractions propose aux enfants de 6 à 12 ans de relever des défis captivants dans un univers coloré et intrigant peuplé de personnages attachants. Le jeu est disponible sur iPhone, iPad, iPod touch et Apple TV, ainsi que sur la plupart des appareils Android.

L’étude a été menée auprès de 139 élèves québécois de 3e année, répartis en trois groupes :
– Groupe 1 : a uniquement reçu un enseignement traditionnel des fractions;
– Groupe 2 : a joué à Slice Fractions en classe en plus d’avoir un enseignement traditionnel;
– Groupe 3 : a uniquement joué au jeu Slice Fractions en classe.

 

Des résultats étonnants, même pour les chercheurs
Les élèves ont ensuite répondu à 14 questions portant sur les fractions tirées du Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS), un test standardisé utilisé pour évaluer et comparer des élèves à travers le monde. Les deux groupes qui ont utilisé Slice Fractions ont eu un gain de performance plus important et plus significatif que les élèves qui ont uniquement reçu un enseignement traditionnel, même et surtout pour un sous-ensemble de questions qui n’offraient aucun support visuel aux élèves. Par exemple, l’une des questions était : Quelle fraction est équivalente à 2/3? Le choix de réponses donné ne comprenait que du texte, aucune référence visuelle. Pour les chercheurs, cela démontre que les élèves ont été capables de réaliser un transfert de leur apprentissage, même pour des notions abstraites, alors que Slice Fractions est un jeu essentiellement basé sur de la manipulation, des procédures et des représentations visuelles.

 

Apprendre à toute vitesse
La rapidité avec laquelle le jeu améliore la compréhension des fractions est un autre élément inattendu de cette étude. « Trois heures de jeu en classe ont été suffisantes pour permettre à nos sujets de 3e année d’atteindre un niveau de performance comparable à celui d’élèves de 4e année des États-Unis et du Québec », constate Martin Riopel, cochercheur de l’étude. Le gain se fait donc en un temps record quand on le compare à celui de l’enseignement habituel en classe et donne une longueur d’avance aux enfants qui utilisent le jeu.

 

En plus d’être efficace, le jeu conçu par Ululab, une entreprise mise sur pied par des diplômés de la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’UQAM, se distingue par l’excellence de son design, comme en témoignent les prestigieuses mentions Choix de la rédaction et Le Meilleur de 2014 de l’App Store d’Apple.

À l’occasion du dévoilement des résultats de cette étude, Ululab annonce une mise à jour majeure de Slice Fractions, comprenant 32 nouveaux niveaux sur les additions, une interface de navigation redessinée et la compatibilité avec la plus récente édition de l’Apple TV, d’Apple.

Plus de détails et de résultats dans ce résumé vidéo de trois minutes.

 

Source : communiqué

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct