ADVERTISEMENT

The Techno Discovery Camp is back this summer

The Techno Discovery Camp is intended for young people aged 11 to 16 and is run by university engineering students. It aims to introduce them to the digital world.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Pandemic obliges, the 4th edition of the Techno Discovery Camp will take place exclusively online this summer. The program of activities related to the digital world is intended for young people aged 11 to 16 and is run by university engineering students.

The objective of Techno Discovery Camp since its inception is to give the tech bite, motivate the pursuit of science studies and present career opportunities in technology to young people. The main motivation remains to inspire them by making them discover technological organizations, professions and a thousand and one ways to change the world thanks to technologies. 

Each week, during the summer, several themes are offered; each with a possibility of increasing in complexity as the learning progresses (beginner, intermediate, advanced). Classes are offered in groups of 5 to 8 young people to maximize interactions. Virtual tours of companies have also been planned to introduce young people to companies that are evolving in the field of technology in all regions of Quebec.

In all, these are 24 courses which will take place every week between July and August. Among the courses offered: initiation to programming with Scratch, microprocessors with micro: bit, cybersecurity, easy recognition, conversational agents. Groups will also be reserved for girls for each theme in order to promote the awakening of their interest in technology.

The first Techno Camp was created in 2018 at the initiative of Luc Sirois and Prompt, an organization of which he was the director before becoming Chief Innovator of Quebec. Prompt's mission is to financially support collaborative research partnerships between researchers and businesses in order to strengthen innovation ecosystems in Quebec, in strategic sectors such as artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, quantum, 5G.

Photo credit: Photo by Caspar Camille Rubin sure Unsplash

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Le Camp découverte Techno de retour cet été

Le Camp découverte Techno est destiné aux jeunes de 11 à 16 ans et est animé par des étudiants universitaires en génie. Il vise à leur faire découvrir l'univers du numérique.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Pandémie oblige, la 4ème édition du Camp découverte Techno aura lieu exclusivement en ligne cet été. Le programme d’activités en lien avec l’univers numérique est destiné aux jeunes de 11 à 16 ans et est animé par des étudiants universitaires en génie.

L’objectif du Camp découverte Techno depuis sa création est de donner la piqûre des technos, motiver la poursuite des études en sciences et présenter les possibilités de carrières en technologies aux jeunes. La motivation principale reste de les inspirer en leur faisant découvrir des organisations à vocation technologique, les professions et mille et une façons de changer le monde grâce aux technologies. 

Chaque semaine, durant l’été, plusieurs thématiques sont proposées; chacune avec une possibilité de croître en complexité au fur et à mesure de l’apprentissage (débutant, intermédiaire, avancé). Les cours sont offerts en groupes de 5 à 8 jeunes pour maximiser les interactions. Des visites virtuelles d’entreprises ont également été prévues pour faire découvrir aux jeunes des entreprises qui évoluent dans le domaine des  technologies dans toutes les régions du Québec.

En tout, ce sont 24 cours qui auront lieu chaque semaine entre les mois de juillet et août. Parmi les cours offerts : initiation à la programmation avec Scratch, microprocesseurs avec micro:bit, cybersécurité, reconnaissance faciles, agents conversationnels. Des groupes seront également réservés aux filles pour chaque thématique afin de favoriser l’éveil de leur intérêt pour la technologie.

Le premier Camp Techno a vu le jour en 2018 à l’initiative de Luc Sirois et de Prompt, organisme dont il était le directeur avant de devenir Innovateur en chef du Québec. La mission de Prompt est de soutenir financièrement des partenariats de recherche collaborative entre chercheurs et entreprises afin de renforcer les écosystèmes d’innovation au Québec, dans des secteurs stratégiques tels que l’intelligence artificielle, la cybersécurité, le quantique, la 5G.

Crédit photo: Photo de Caspar Camille Rubin sur Unsplash

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :