Bombardier: what remains of this Quebec flagship? 

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Bombardier has been talking about it for several months, but the last few weeks have been full of twists and turns, especially for two important players in its "catalog": Bombardier Transport and the aircraft of the A220 program (formerly C Series). Insights into the ins and outs of the restructuring of this Quebec company.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Bombardier has been talking about it for several months for its worrying financial situation, but the last few weeks have been full of twists and turns, especially for two important players in the “catalog”: Bombardier Transport and the aircraft of the A220 program (formerly C Series).

“We have completed the turnaround of Bombardier. We turn the page and start writing the next chapter. Almost five years to the day after taking office, Bombardier President and CEO Alain Bellemare seemed relieved when he said these words, in an interview with Press. It was “not impossible” for Bombardier to hope to repay its debt while retaining its two divisions, agrees Mr. Bellemare. "

Source: La Presse, February 18, 2020 

On the one hand, Bombardier announced in early February that it was withdrawing from the A220 (formerly C Series) commercial aircraft program and was selling its shares to Airbus. 591 million US dollars then flowed from this transaction, allowing Bombardier to slightly reduce its tax burden.

"The Canadian manufacturer Bombardier sells to the European aircraft manufacturer and the Government of Quebec its residual stake in the limited partnership Airbus Canada (SCAC), of which it held 33,58%, the three entities announced Thursday in a joint press release. Bombardier will receive from Airbus 591 million US dollars in this transaction which takes “immediate effect” and should allow the flagship Canadian industrial to pay off part of its debt. "

Source: BFM Business, February 13, 2020

On the other hand, two weeks after the announcement of the end of commercial aviation for Bombardier, the company went ahead with another big news: Alstom, French rail giant, was to buy for 8.2 billion euros. dollars its transport division (trains, subways, tramways).

“The sale of its rolling stock division should enable Bombardier to obtain between US $ 4.2 billion $ and US $ 4.5 billion $. The Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ), which owns 32.5 % of Bombardier Transport, will become the largest shareholder of the French giant, with a stake of 18 %. "

Source: Business, February 18, 2020

Bombardier's debt is gigantic and approaches $ 12 billion. It was only a matter of time before the company divested itself of one of its last two divisions to continue the financial turnaround. Bombardier then only retains its business aircraft division with Global, Challenger and Learjet.

Your challenge

Do you know the history of Bombardier? Surrender on this quiz about Joseph-Armand Bombardier and test your knowledge. Just before you join the quiz and answer the questions, watch the presentation that is offered to you on Mr. Bombardier.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

  • History and citizenship education (secondary 4)
  • Contemporary world and financial education

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Communicate with digital
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Collaborate with digital
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning

Suggested digital tools

  • Mentimeter
  • LearningApps
  • Google My Maps or BatchGeo
  • Wix or Blogger

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of the readings and activities, students will be able to take stock of Bombardier's current situation and understand its progress.

Objectives of the activities

  • React to the Bombardier case and understand its current situation.
  • Situate in time and space the different key moments in Bombardier's history.
  • Write a post on the status of large companies in Quebec.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Bombardier : que reste-t-il de ce fleuron québécois? 

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Bombardier fait parler d’elle depuis plusieurs mois, mais les dernières semaines ont été hautes en rebondissements, surtout pour deux acteurs importants de son «catalogue» : Bombardier Transport et les avions du programme A220 (autrefois C Series). Regards sur les tenants et aboutissants de la restructuration de cette entreprise québécoise.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Bombardier fait parler d’elle depuis plusieurs mois pour sa situation financière préoccupante, mais les dernières semaines ont été hautes en rebondissements, surtout pour deux acteurs importants du «catalogue» : Bombardier Transport et les avions du programme A220 (autrefois C Series).

« On a complété le redressement de Bombardier. On tourne la page et on commence à écrire le prochain chapitre. Cinq ans presque jour pour jour après son entrée en poste, le président et chef de la direction de Bombardier, Alain Bellemare, semblait soulagé en prononçant ces mots, en entrevue avec La Presse. Il n’était “pas impossible” pour Bombardier d’espérer rembourser sa dette tout en conservant ses deux divisions, convient M. Bellemare. »

Source : La Presse, 18 février 2020 

D’une part, Bombardier avait annoncé au début du mois de février qu’il se retirait du programme A220 (ex-C Series) d’avions commerciaux et cédait ses parts à Airbus. 591 millions de dollars américains découlent alors de cette transaction, permettant à Bombardier d’alléger quelque peu son fardeau fiscal.

« Le constructeur canadien Bombardier vend à l’avionneur européen et au gouvernement du Québec sa participation résiduelle dans la société en commandite Airbus Canada (SCAC), dont elle détenait 33,58%, ont annoncé jeudi les trois entités dans un communiqué commun. Bombardier recevra d’Airbus 591 millions de dollars américains dans cette transaction qui prend “effet immédiatement” et doit permettre au fleuron industriel canadien d’éponger une partie de sa dette. »

Source : BFM Business, 13 février 2020

D’autre part, deux semaines après l’annonce de la fin de l’aviation commerciale pour Bombardier, l’entreprise allait de l’avant avec une autre grosse nouvelle : Alstom, géant ferroviaire français, allait racheter pour 8,2 milliards de dollars sa division transport (trains, métros, tramways).

« La cession de sa division de matériel roulant devrait permettre à Bombardier d’obtenir entre 4,2 milliards $ US et 4,5 milliards $ US. La Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ), qui détient 32,5 % de Bombardier Transport, deviendra le plus important actionnaire du géant français, avec une participation de 18 %. »

Source : Les affaires, 18 février 2020

La dette de Bombardier est gigantesque et avoisine les 12 milliards de dollars. Ce n’était qu’une question de temps avant que l’entreprise se départisse de l’une de ses deux dernières divisions pour continuer le redressement financier. Bombardier conserve alors uniquement sa division d’avions d’affaires avec Global, Challenger et Learjet.

Ton défi

Connais-tu l’histoire de Bombardier? Rends-toi sur ce quiz à propos de Joseph-Armand Bombardier et teste tes connaissances. Juste avant de te joindre au quiz et répondre aux questions, regarde la présentation qui t’es proposée sur M. Bombardier.


 

SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS

Disciplines et niveaux visés

  • Histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté (4e secondaire)
  • Monde contemporain et éducation financière

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Communiquer avec le numérique
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Collaborer avec le numérique
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Mentimeter
  • LearningApps
  • Google My Maps ou BatchGéo
  • Wix ou Blogger

Intention pédagogique du guide

Au terme des lectures et activités, les élèves seront en mesure de faire le point sur la situation actuelle de Bombardier et d’en comprendre le cheminement.

Objectifs des activités

  • Réagir sur le cas Bombardier et en comprendre sa situation actuelle.
  • Situer dans le temps et dans l’espace les différents moments clés dans l’histoire de Bombardier.
  • Écrire un billet sur le statut  des grosses entreprises au Québec.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir