The school library: a learning center at the service of success

Can the library as a learning center be a winning factor in educational success? School librarians believe it!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

The world is changing, and so are school libraries. This is the leitmotif that seems to have guided the authors of a document entitled The 21st century school library: a 4-axis model.

The document proposes “A dynamic model of the school library and its use [which is developing] in 4 axes [and which] encourages us to rethink the uses, the actors and the place. The four axes are: pedagogy, culture, digital technology and collaboration, which are presented as complementary and interdependent on each other.

The Association for the Promotion of School Documentary Services (APSDS) believes that once redesigned in this way, the school library will be able to better contribute to "training students so that they become citizens actively participating in the development of society. ".

A thesis for educational success

Moreover, it is largely based on this document that the association prepared the brief that it presented to the Ministry of Education and Higher Education as part of the public consultations on educational success. We can read in this memoir that:

“… The traditional, widely used school library model is no longer adequate to meet the learning needs of students. (…) The world is changing and the integration of digital technologies and the omnipresence of information must also influence new practices in the school library to expand its uses and integrate it into the process of meaningful learning for students. "

According to the APSDS, the school library of 21e century is no longer in the era of "every man for himself" and silence. “It is a place of exchange and mobility: the use of tablets, e-readers and laptops encourages movement in space as well as interactivity and collaborative learning. We must deconstruct certain conceptions to initiate new forms of learning in line with what digital reality induces in our current societies. "

It is possible to consult the full thesis here.

Can the library be a center of learning and be a winning factor in the educational success of students? School librarians believe it! Some schools have already started to implement this innovative vision of the school library, such as the Cardinal-Léger school, of the Pointe-de-l'Île school board, which this video allows to discover:

 

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Clement Labergehttp://www.remolino.qc.ca
A graduate in high school science education, Clément is the co-founder of Infobourg, the website now called L'École branchée.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

La bibliothèque scolaire : centre d’apprentissage au service de la réussite

Publié le :

La bibliothèque comme centre d’apprentissage peut-elle être un facteur gagnant dans la réussite éducative? Les bibliothécaires scolaires le croient!
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le monde change, les bibliothèques scolaires aussi. C’est le leitmotiv qui semble avoir guidé les auteures d’un document intitulé La bibliothèque scolaire du XXIe siècle : un modèle en 4 axes.

Le document propose « un modèle dynamique de la bibliothèque scolaire et de son utilisation [qui se développe] en 4 axes [et qui] incite à repenser les usages, les acteurs et le lieu. » Les quatre axes sont : la pédagogie, la culture, le numérique et la collaboration, qui sont présentés comme complémentaires et interdépendants les uns des autres.

L’Association pour la promotion des services documentaires scolaires (APSDS) croit qu’une fois repensée de cette façon, la bibliothèque scolaire pourra mieux contribuer à « former les élèves pour qu’ils deviennent des citoyens participant activement à l’essor de la société ».

Un mémoire pour la réussite éducative

C’est d’ailleurs en s’appuyant largement sur ce document que l’association a préparé le mémoire qu’elle a présenté au ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur dans le cadre des consultations publiques sur la réussite éducative. On peut lire dans ce mémoire que :

« …le modèle traditionnel de la bibliothèque scolaire, largement répandu, n’est plus adéquat pour répondre aux besoins en apprentissage des élèves. (…) Le monde change et l’intégration des technologies numériques et l’omniprésence de l’information doivent aussi influencer de nouvelles pratiques dans la bibliothèque scolaire pour en élargir les usages et l’intégrer dans le processus des apprentissages signifiants pour les élèves. »

Selon l’APSDS, la bibliothèque scolaire du 21e siècle n’est plus à l’ère du « chacun pour soi » et du silence. « Elle est un lieu d’échanges et de mobilité : l’usage des tablettes, des liseuses et des portables encourage les déplacements dans l’espace de même que l’interactivité et l’apprentissage collaboratif. Il faut déconstruire certaines conceptions pour initier de nouvelles formes d’apprentissage en adéquation avec ce que la réalité numérique induit dans nos sociétés actuelles. »

Il est possible de consulter le mémoire complet ici.

La bibliothèque peut-elle représenter un centre d’apprentissage et être un facteur gagnant dans la réussite éducative des élèves? Les bibliothécaires scolaires le croient! Certaines écoles ont déjà commencé à mettre en oeuvre cette vision innovatrice de la bibliothèque scolaire, comme l’école Cardinal-Léger, de la Commission scolaire Pointe-de-l’Île, que cette vidéo permet de découvrir :

 

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
Clément Labergehttp://www.remolino.qc.ca
Diplômé en enseignement des sciences au secondaire, Clément est le cofondateur de l'Infobourg, le site Web qui s'appelle aujourd'hui L'École branchée.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!