ADVERTISEMENT

"Before crinkling the academic, we must crinate the human being"

During the last CréaCamp, the workshop in which I participated allowed me to develop a more current and adapted vision of evaluation, which must be at the service of learning and not the other way around.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

These wise words, spoken by Catherine michaud during the last CréaCamp, made me question the way I evaluated my students.

Through discussions with colleagues, our wonderful facilitators and myself, the workshop in which I participated allowed me to develop a more current and relevant vision of evaluation, which must be at the service of the learning and not the other way around. It is not by focusing on the academic that we obtain results, but by placing the student in the right place in his success. 

"If the teaching model has to change, so does the evaluation model"

We see more and more models of autonomous learning, by projects. We see flexible furniture appear in our classrooms and our teaching teaches us how to swing with the tulip chairs as well. Our students watch videos, search for information on their own, develop their own lecture notes. In short, convincing practices place our students at the center of their learning, the teacher acts more as a guide than as a teacher.It is when we want to assess our students that there is a break between the teaching model and the function of assessment. We are asked to isolate a skill, to do paper-based evaluations and to respect a framework with dates, reports, notes. 

It is therefore imperative to question ourselves. Are the exams I have chosen useful, necessary? Have my students learned? Am I asking too much, not enough? How do I know that? What will I do with the students who haven't learned? What freedom does the compulsory framework offer me?

As my father used to say to me: “the road is long and rocky, but the sun is shining on the horizon”. Asking ourselves questions as a professional can only make us grow. Several avenues can be taken in order to help our students to become the main actors in the film that is their schooling. 

How to get there?

As I mentioned, we must be aware that it is by changing our practices little by little that we can achieve the goals that we have set for ourselves, and not by going there drastically.  

First of all, feedback is a great way to involve the student in their learning. Indeed, when we come back to an exercise with him, we allow him to see what worked, what was more difficult and thus improve what was less successful. Our role is then to guide him in how to do it. Feedback can be used in the classroom directly or remotely using applications such as FlipGrid or Notability on which you can record your voice (a tutorial is placed in a hyperlink). The goal is also to keep records of what we work with our young people in order to verify that our evaluations faithfully represent the learning achieved. The more feedback we give, the better we know our groups and the more we can adapt our teaching!

Self-assessment of our students can also be a very relevant tool for better understanding the way our young people perceive themselves and their learning. Here again, we have a guiding role to play, because it is necessary to set up self-assessment grids in order to help them target their strengths and their challenges. Here are some from elsewhere an example created during the CréaCamp Bellechasse which can be used in all subjects. You will see that it is built from positive words and also from a picture of batteries. In fact, I use this image in class so that the students associate the learning related to the course objective (stated at the start of the period) with a color. The next class, I ask them to remember the color from the last class and increase by one color using tools presented in class.   

In short, the important thing in questioning evaluation is to be consistent with the teacher that you are and that you aspire to be. What happens in our classroom must be in harmony with our values, our principles and our intentions. This is not an opportunity to play a role or to aspire to what we are not, but to establish new practices with rigor and structure and above all, being aware that it is possible to be wrong. Trust your students, teach them to be the main players in their success.

Good luck in your questioning and in your new attempts!

In addition, Carrefour education offers you its file on the evaluation of learning.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

« Avant de crinquer l’académique, on doit crinquer l’être humain »

Publié le :

Lors du dernier CréaCamp, l’atelier auquel j’ai participé m’a permis de développer une vision plus actuelle et adaptée de l’évaluation, qui doit être au service de l’apprentissage et non l’inverse.
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Ces sages paroles, prononcées par Catherine Michaud lors du dernier CréaCamp, m’ont amenée à remettre en question la façon dont j’évaluais mes élèves.

À l’aide de discussions avec des collègues, nos merveilleux facilitateurs et moi-même, l’atelier auquel j’ai participé m’a permis de développer une vision plus actuelle et adaptée de l’évaluation, qui doit être au service de l’apprentissage et non l’inverse. Ce n’est pas en misant sur l’académique qu’on obtient des résultats, mais bien en situant l’élève au bon endroit dans sa réussite. 

« Si le modèle d’enseignement doit changer, le modèle d’évaluation aussi »

On voit de plus en plus de modèles d’apprentissages autonomes, par projets. Nous voyons apparaître dans nos classes du mobilier flexible et notre enseignement apprend à se balancer avec les chaises-tulipes lui aussi. Nos élèves consultent des vidéos, cherchent l’information par eux-mêmes, développent leurs propres notes de cours. Bref, les pratiques probantes placent nos élèves au centre de leurs apprentissages, l’enseignant agit davantage à titre de guide qu’à titre de maître.C’est lorsque nous voulons évaluer nos élèves qu’il y a une rupture entre le modèle d’enseignement et la fonction de l’évaluation.  On nous demande d’isoler une compétence, de faire des évaluations format papier et de respecter un cadre avec des dates, des bulletins, des notes. 

Il est donc impératif de se questionner. Est-ce que les examens que j’ai choisis sont utiles, nécessaires? Est-ce que mes élèves ont appris? Est-ce que j’en demande trop, pas assez? Comment puis-je le savoir? Qu’est-ce que je ferai avec les élèves qui n’ont pas appris? Quelle liberté le cadre obligatoire m’offre-t-il?

Comme mon père se plaisait à me dire : « la route est longue et rocailleuse, mais le soleil brille à l’horizon ». Se poser des questions en tant que professionnel ne peut que nous faire grandir. Plusieurs pistes peuvent être empruntées afin d’aider nos élèves à devenir les acteurs principaux du film qu’est leur scolarité. 

Comment y arriver?

Comme je le mentionnais, il faut être conscient que c’est en changeant nos pratiques petit à petit que nous pouvons atteindre des buts que nous nous sommes fixés, et non en y allant drastiquement.  

Tout d’abord, la rétroaction est une excellente façon d’impliquer l’élève dans son apprentissage. En effet, lorsqu’on revient sur un exercice avec lui, on lui permet de voir ce qui a fonctionné, ce qui a été plus difficile et ainsi d’améliorer ce qui était moins réussi. Notre rôle est alors de le guider dans la façon de le faire. Il est possible d’utiliser la rétroaction en classe directement ou encore à distance à l’aide d’applications comme FlipGrid ou Notability sur laquelle on peut enregistrer sa voix (un tutoriel est placé en hyperlien). Le but, c’est également de garder des traces de ce qu’on travaille avec nos jeunes afin de vérifier que nos évaluations représentent fidèlement les apprentissages effectués. Plus on fait de rétroaction, mieux on connaît nos groupes et plus on peut adapter notre enseignement!

L’autoévaluation de nos élèves peut être également un outil très pertinent pour mieux cerner la façon dont nos jeunes se perçoivent et perçoivent leurs apprentissages. Encore là, nous avons un rôle de guide à jouer, car il est nécessaire de mettre sur pieds des grilles d’autoévaluation afin de les aider à cibler leurs forces et leurs défis.  En voici d’ailleurs un exemple créé lors du CréaCamp Bellechasse qui peut être utilisé dans toutes les matières. Vous verrez qu’il est construit à partir de mots positifs et aussi à partir d’une image de batteries. En fait, j’utilise cette image en classe afin que les élèves associent les apprentissages en lien avec l’objectif du cours (énoncé en début de période) à une couleur. Le cours suivant, je leur demande de se remémorer la couleur du dernier cours et d’augmenter d’une couleur à l’aide d’outils présentés en classe.   

Bref, l’important dans la remise en question sur l’évaluation, c’est d’être cohérent avec l’enseignant que l’on est et que l’on aspire à être. Il faut que ce qui se passe dans notre classe soit en harmonie avec nos valeurs, nos principes et nos intentions. Ce n’est pas l’occasion de jouer un rôle ou bien d’aspirer à ce qu’on n’est pas, mais bien d’instaurer de nouvelles pratiques avec rigueur et structure et surtout, en étant conscient qu’il est possible de se tromper. Faites confiance à vos élèves, apprenez-leur à être les acteurs principaux de leur réussite.

Bon succès dans vos remises en question et dans vos nouvelles tentatives!

En complément, Carrefour éducation vous propose son dossier sur l’évaluation des apprentissages.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!