One million school-aged students to vote in federal election

Even though they are not yet of voting age, more than one million elementary and secondary school students will have the opportunity to vote for a local candidate in the 2019 federal election, from 15 to October 18.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

TORONTO, Oct. 15, 2019 / CNW / - Young Canadians participate in debate and discussion about our country's future, research party platforms, consume the news, assess leaders and ask questions of their local candidates.

Even though they are not yet of voting age, more than one million elementary and secondary school students will have the opportunity to vote for a local candidate in the 2019 federal election, from 15 to October 18.

Student Vote Canada 2019 is a major parallel election held in Canada, with over 9,500 schools, in all 338 ridings, registered for the program. It is an effort of more than 25,000 teachers, from Masset, British Columbia, to Mary's Harbor, Newfoundland and Labrador, and everywhere in between.

“We sincerely thank the 30,000 teachers who took the time to participate in the Student Vote program with their students. It is a privilege for CIVIX to be able to support their efforts. ", explains Taylor Gunn, president of CIVIX.

“We are proud to support the Student Vote Canada program to provide students with the knowledge, understanding, interest and skills necessary to participate in democratic life. ", adds Stéphane Perrault, Chief Electoral Officer of Canada.

During Student Vote Week, students will be called upon to play the different roles of election officials responsible for setting up polling stations, supervising the vote and counting.

The results of the Student Vote are counted by constituency and will be announced publicly after the polls close on October 21.

You will find here a map on which the participating schools are identified.

Context

Student Vote is a program of CIVIX. Student Vote Canada 2019 was made possible through the support of Elections Canada. CIVIX is a registered Canadian charity, non-partisan, dedicated to strengthening democracy through citizenship education for school-aged youth. Elections Canada is an independent, non-political body that reports directly to Parliament.

Related links:

SOURCE CIVIX

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Un million d’élèves d’âge scolaire voteront lors de l’élection fédérale

Même s'ils n'ont pas encore l'âge de voter, plus d'un million d'élèves des niveaux élémentaire et secondaire auront l'occasion de voter pour un candidat local lors de l'élection fédérale de 2019, du 15 au 18 octobre.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

TORONTO, le 15 oct. 2019 /CNW/ – Des jeunes canadiens participent au débat et aux discussions sur l’avenir de notre pays, effectuent des recherches sur les plateformes des partis, consomment les nouvelles, évaluent les chefs et posent des questions à leurs candidats locaux.

Même s’ils n’ont pas encore l’âge de voter, plus d’un million d’élèves des niveaux élémentaire et secondaire auront l’occasion de voter pour un candidat local lors de l’élection fédérale de 2019, du 15 au 18 octobre.

Vote étudiant Canada 2019 est une importante élection parallèle organisée au Canada, avec plus de 9 500 écoles, dans toutes les 338 circonscriptions, inscrites au programme. Il s’agit d’un effort déployé par plus de 25 000 enseignants, de Masset, en Colombie-Britannique, à Mary’s Harbour, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, et d’un peu partout entre les deux.

« Nous remercions sincèrement les 30 000 enseignantes et enseignants qui ont pris le temps de participer au programme Vote étudiant avec leurs élèves. C’est un privilège pour CIVIX de pouvoir soutenir leurs efforts. », explique Taylor Gunn, président de CIVIX.

« Nous sommes fiers d’appuyer le programme Vote étudiant Canada pour permettre aux élèves d’acquérir les connaissances, la compréhension, l’intérêt et les aptitudes nécessaires pour prendre part à la vie démocratique. », ajoute Stéphane Perrault, directeur général des élections du Canada.

Lors de la Semaine du Vote étudiant, les élèves seront appelés à jouer les différents rôles du personnel électoral chargé d’aménager les bureaux de vote, superviser le vote et faire le dépouillement.

Les résultats du Vote étudiant sont comptabilisés par circonscription et seront annoncés publiquement, après la fermeture des bureaux de scrutin, le 21 octobre.

Vous trouverez ici une carte sur laquelle sont identifiées les écoles participantes.

Contexte

Vote étudiant est un programme de CIVIX. Le Vote étudiant Canada 2019 a été rendu possible grâce au soutien d’Élections Canada. CIVIX est un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré, non partisan, qui se consacre à renforcer la démocratie par l’éducation à la citoyenneté chez les jeunes d’âge scolaire. Élections Canada est un organisme indépendant, apolitique, qui relève directement du Parlement.

Liens connexes :

SOURCE CIVIX

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :