ADVERTISEMENT

Personal mobile devices at school: making it work!

It is more and more common for students to bring their smartphones or similar devices to school. The first reaction is sometimes to ban them. In other cases, we take the opportunity to turn them into learning tools. If you are in the second case, how do you manage it all?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

It is more and more common for students to bring their smartphones or similar devices to school. Sometimes the first reaction is to forbid them. In other cases, we take the opportunity to make learning tools. If you are in the second case, how do you manage it all?

In English, we say "BYOD" for "Bring Your Own Device". In some quarters, it is generally accepted that students bring their mobile device to school as it helps reduce the costs of educational projects that require their use. In addition, since the student is already familiar with his device, the technological learning curve is thus reduced.

However, several challenges arise at the same time, as much for teachers as for technicians and management:
- What if some students do not have a smartphone, iPod Touch or laptop?
- How to ensure that the devices are used only for educational purposes by the pupils?
- How to ensure easy access to the network while maintaining a good level of security?
- How to manage parents' apprehensions?

The American publication eSchool News devoted an article about lately. We talk to technology managers from certain school districts to see how things are going on their side.

For example, in Forsyth County Schools (approximately 36,000 students), Georgia, the “BYOD” initiative won over all 5 high schools, even though they were not required to participate. They voluntarily changed their technology use policy to let students bring and use their personal devices.

“At first it was a bit chaotic, but we expected it. »Following a lot of experience sharing and adjustments, we continue the experience for a 4e year, knowing that not all classes follow the wave. Moreover, it is important not to impose this direction.

On the discipline side, the directorates manage cases when they arise, even if they decrease from year to year. On the technical side, a parallel network has been set up for personal devices.

Interestingly, we have seen an increase in the use of computers already present in schools since in some cases they are more suitable than small devices for educational purposes. A great way to show that the accessibility of devices encourages their use in educational projects, and that the more technology is used, the more possible applications there are.

If you are interested in the subject, you can find out more by reading the article " How to make BYOD work for your schools ".

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Appareils mobiles personnels à l’école : faire en sorte que ça fonctionne!

Les élèves qui apportent leur téléphone intelligent ou autre appareil du genre à l’école, c’est de plus en plus courant. La première réaction est parfois de les interdire. Dans d’autres cas, on en profite plutôt pour en faire des outils d’apprentissage. Si vous êtes dans le deuxième cas, comment bien gérer le tout?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Les élèves qui apportent leur téléphone intelligent ou autre appareil du genre à l’école, c’est de plus en plus courant. La première réaction est parfois de les interdire. Dans d’autres cas, on en profite plutôt pour en faire des outils d’apprentissage. Si vous êtes dans le deuxième cas, comment bien gérer le tout?

En anglais, on dit « BYOD » pour « Bring Your Own Device ». Dans certains milieux, il est bien vu que les élèves apportent leur appareil mobile à l’école puisque cela permet de réduire les coûts des projets pédagogiques qui en nécessitent l’utilisation. De plus, comme l’élève est déjà familier avec son appareil, la courbe d’apprentissage technologique est ainsi réduite.

Cependant, plusieurs défis surgissent en même temps, autant pour les enseignants que pour les techniciens et la direction :
– Que faire si certains élèves n’ont pas de téléphone intelligent, iPod Touch ou ordinateur portable?
– Comment s’assurer que les appareils sont utilisés uniquement dans un but éducatif par les élèves?
– Comment assurer un accès facile au réseau tout en conservant un bon niveau de sécurité?
– Comment gérer les appréhensions des parents?

La publication américaine eSchool News a consacré un article au sujet dernièrement. On y discute avec des responsables des technologies de certains districts scolaires pour voir comment ça se passe de leur côté.

Par exemple, dans le district Forsyth County Schools (environ 36 000 élèves), en Géorgie, l’initiative « BYOD » a séduit les 5 écoles secondaires, même si elles n’étaient pas obligées de participer. Elles ont volontairement modifié leur politique d’utilisation des technologies pour laisser les élèves apporter et utiliser leurs appareils personnels.

« Au début, c’était un peu chaotique, mais nous nous y attendions. » Suite à beaucoup de partage d’expérience et d’ajustements, on y poursuit l’expérience pour une 4e année, tout en sachant que ce ne sont pas toutes les classes qui suivent la vague. D’ailleurs, il est important de ne pas imposer cette direction.

Côté discipline, les directions gèrent les cas lorsqu’ils surviennent, même s’ils diminuent d’année en année. Côté technique, un réseau parallèle a été mis en place pour les appareils personnels.

Fait intéressant, on a vu une augmentation de l’utilisation des ordinateurs déjà présents dans les écoles puisque dans certains cas, ils sont plus appropriés que les petits appareils pour les réalisations pédagogiques. Une belle façon de montrer que l’accessibilité des appareils encourage leur utilisation dans les projets pédagogiques, et que plus on utilise la technologie, plus on y trouve des applications possibles.

Si le sujet vous intéresse, vous pouvez en savoir plus en lisant l’article « How to make BYOD work for your schools ».

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :