ADVERTISEMENT

Discovering the elements of the periodic table in Minecraft

Stéphanie Rioux of the RÉCIT National Service, Mathematics, Science and Technology (RÉCIT MST) offers a look at the Minecraft Education Chemistry Toolkit, which can be leveraged by high school science teachers.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Stéphanie Rioux of the RÉCIT National Service, Mathematics, Science and Technology (RÉCIT MST) offers a look at the Minecraft Education Chemistry Toolkit, which can be leveraged by high school science teachers.

The Minecraft Education Chemistry Kit contains four components: the element builder, compound creator, lab table, and matter reducer. It also provides access to the elements of the periodic table.

"For the teacher who wants to make understanding the elements of the periodic table more concrete, this chemistry kit offers a different and fun way to do so. Students don't expect this kind of functionality in Minecraft," said Stéphanie Rioux, during a workshop at the Association pour l'enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ) conference on October 21. (In fact, when the author told her teenage daughter, who is currently taking a chemistry class, about the kit, she said, "Cool!)

Virtual laboratory in a downloadable world

When she discovered this opportunity to use Minecraft to do chemistry, Stephanie set out to translate the elements of the chemistry kit and create a world that features workshops to complete. She demonstrated this at the AESTQ conference. The world can be downloaded from its presentation (slide 7). "It's brand new, I've never presented it before. I can't wait to see teachers experiment with it," Stephanie said after her demonstration.

In the world, students can:

Build elements

Create compounds

Using the laboratory table

Reduce materials (undo objects that exist in Minecraft to see what elements they are made of)

The laboratory journalThis is a new feature in Minecraft, with explanations for each of the components. It is only in English for the moment, but can be translated. It is the same for the list of available elements.

Do you teach chemistry and test this kit with your students? Let us know!

The RÉCIT MST team is available every Wednesday morning from 9-11:30 a.m. to answer your questions. Simply join at the Zoom link: recitmst.qc.ca/ecv-zoom

The presentation made at the AESTQ conference

Campus RÉCIT's self-training on Minecraft Education

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

À la découverte des éléments du tableau périodique dans Minecraft

Stéphanie Rioux, du Service national du RÉCIT, domaine de la mathématique, de la science et de la technologie (RÉCIT MST), propose de découvrir la trousse de chimie de Minecraft Education, qui peut être exploitée par le personnel enseignant de sciences au secondaire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Stéphanie Rioux, du Service national du RÉCIT, domaine de la mathématique, de la science et de la technologie (RÉCIT MST), propose de découvrir la trousse de chimie de Minecraft Education, qui peut être exploitée par le personnel enseignant de sciences au secondaire.

La trousse de chimie de Minecraft Education contient quatre composantes : le constructeur d’élément, le créateur de composés, la table de laboratoire et le réducteur de matière. Elle offre aussi un accès aux éléments du tableau périodique.

« Pour l’enseignant qui souhaite rendre plus concrète la compréhension des éléments du tableau périodique, cette trousse de chimie offre une façon différente et ludique d’y parvenir. Les élèves ne s’attendent pas à ce genre de fonctionnalité dans Minecraft », a indiqué Stéphanie Rioux, lors d’un atelier présenté au congrès de l’Association pour l’enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ), le 21 octobre dernier. (De fait, lorsque l’auteure de ces lignes a parlé de la trousse à son adolescente qui suit présentement un cours de chimie, elle a dit : « cool! ».)

Laboratoire virtuel dans un monde à télécharger

Lorsqu’elle a découvert cette possibilité d’exploiter Minecraft pour faire de la chimie, Stéphanie a entrepris de traduire les éléments de la trousse de chimie et de créer un monde qui présente des ateliers à réaliser. Elle en a fait la démonstration au congrès de l’AESTQ. Le monde peut être téléchargé à partir sa présentation (diapo 7). « C’est tout à fait nouveau, je ne l’avais jamais présenté avant. J’ai hâte de voir des enseignants l’expérimenter », a dit Stéphanie au terme de sa démonstration.

Dans le monde, les élèves peuvent :

Construire des éléments

Créer des composés

Utiliser la table de laboratoire

Réduire des matières (défaire des objets qui existent dans Minecraft pour voir de quels éléments ils sont composés)

Le journal de laboratoire, disponible dans Minecraft, présente des explications pour chacun des composants. Il est exclusivement en anglais pour l’instant, mais pourra être traduit. Il en est de même pour la liste des éléments disponibles.

Vous enseignez la chimie et testez cette trousse avec vos élèves? Faites-le-nous savoir!

L’équipe du RÉCIT MST est disponible tous les mercredis matin de 9 h à 11 h 30 pour répondre à vos questions. Il suffit de se joindre au lien Zoom : recitmst.qc.ca/ecv-zoom

La présentation faite au congrès de l’AESTQ

L’autoformation de Campus RÉCIT au sujet de Minecraft Éducation

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :