ADVERTISEMENT

Culture and Quebec Citizenship will replace the former Ethics and Religious Culture program

Press release - The Ethics and Religious Culture program will be replaced by Culture and Quebec Citizenship. The new themes of the program will be based on three main axes: culture, Quebec citizenship as well as dialogue and critical thinking. The program will be implemented throughout the network at the start of the 2023 school year.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Press release - The program Ethics and Religious Culture will be replaced by Quebec culture and citizenship. The Minister of Education, Jean-François Roberge, made the announcement, along with the Minister for Education and Minister responsible for the Status of Women, Isabelle Charest, and the Member for Richelieu and Parliamentary Assistant to the 'Education, Jean-Bernard Émond, in the context of the in-depth overhaul of the old program.

The program will undergo a major transformation and will allow Quebec students to develop critical thinking while deepening their understanding of Quebec culture and citizenship. The drafting of the study program, both for primary and secondary, has started to allow gradual deployment in schools from the start of the 2022 school year. 

The new themes of the program will be based on three main axes: culture, Quebec citizenship as well as dialogue and critical thinking. The program will be implemented throughout the network at the start of the 2023 school year.

Culture

The first axis, culture, will lead students to take an interest in and understand culture, by highlighting Quebec culture, the one that defines our society. They will thus be led, at the end of their career, to fully understand our culture, particularly its foundations, its evolution, its ambassadors as well as its flagship works and the various forms that culture can take all over the world. This will allow students to grasp the culture in which they operate and understand that each society is influenced by a different cultural context and that is what makes a culture distinct. It is therefore the duty of each nation to protect and promote its culture, heritage and particularities.

Quebec citizenship

The second axis will allow students to grasp the foundations of Quebec citizenship. Thus, they will be able to share the values as well as the fundamental principles of civic life, such as respect for oneself and others, freedom of expression and conscience, equality between all and secularism. These values are at the heart of the struggles that are dear to us, such as the fight against sexism, racism and homophobia. THE

Pupils will also be introduced to democratic and judicial institutions in Quebec in order to familiarize themselves with how they work. Media literacy will lead them to flush out fake news and develop a more responsible use of social media. They will also be asked to reflect on the new challenges of citizenship, particularly in the digital age and environmental issues.

Issues of sex education, including hypersexualization, consent and sexual exploitation, will also be addressed in the program. More broadly, students will be able to familiarize themselves with individual and collective rights and freedoms as well as with the civic duties of each citizen.

Dialogue and critical thinking

The last axis, which concerns dialogue, critical thinking and ethics, is fundamental. It transcends the program. Students will develop their critical thinking through the practice of dialogue. They will be asked to question themselves and to tackle moral dilemmas, to examine cultural, religious, scientific and social references, as well as to evaluate and analyze them in order to position themselves in relation to them.

In this period when censorship is taking more and more place in our society, it is essential to defend freedom of expression and to equip our young people to allow them to argue with respect.

Remember that the new program Quebec culture and citizenship was born out of a consultation process involving the population, the education network and its partners as well as indigenous peoples. It is also in line with the follow-up given to the report of the Commission of Inquiry on Relations between Indigenous Peoples and Certain Public Services: Listening, Reconciliation and Progress, to the new Concerted Action Plan to Prevent and Counter Bullying and cyberbullying by the government of Quebec, the report of the Action Group against racism and the report of the Special Commission on the sexual exploitation of minors of the National Assembly.

Highlights

  • The program Ethics and Religious Culture has been the subject of numerous criticisms which necessitated its in-depth revision.
  • Before its establishment in the network, the course Quebec culture and citizenship will be subject to a rigorous and proven validation process with various committees and partners in the education network.
  • The aims of the course will also be reviewed in order to allow students to practice dialogue and develop their critical thinking as well as unhindered ethical reflection.
  • Training will be offered to teachers to support them in the implementation.
  • The reform of the program is also an opportunity to integrate the content of sexuality education within a program extending from the beginning of primary to the end of secondary in order to improve the current offer. It will also allow teaching staff to call on partners and external professionals.
  • Issues related to First Nations and Inuit will be addressed and developed in collaboration with Indigenous partners.

Quotes

“Calls for censorship, polarization on social networks as well as new controversies around freedom of expression are all indicators of a crying need for the return of a true democratic dialogue. These new issues, in addition to the results of the old course, alone motivate this in-depth reform. The extensive consultation with partners and the network enabled us to identify new elements to integrate, but also those to keep and improve, particularly those relating to dialogue. The implementation of this new program is excellent news; it prepares young people in Quebec for the exercise of citizenship, by allowing them to have a better understanding of our culture while addressing essential content. I am convinced that the next generations will have the necessary tools to exercise their Quebec citizenship and face the challenges of tomorrow. " 

Jean-François Roberge, Minister of Education 

“We need to instill the values of self-respect and respect for others in girls and boys from an early age to enable them to develop the foundations for healthy, violence-free relationships. With this course, we are laying the foundations for a society of tomorrow that is more egalitarian, more respectful and more secure. Education is the basis of prevention. "

Isabelle Charest, Minister responsible for Education and Minister responsible for the Status of Women

“Unfortunately, sexual exploitation and violence against women are realities in Quebec. Your government has embarked on massive efforts to combat these despicable phenomena. More needs to be done, earlier in our children's lives, to break these cycles and integrate the notions of consent, equal relationships, empathy, respect and assertiveness. The new program will open a dialogue on these fundamental topics. "

Geneviève Guilbault, Deputy Premier, Minister of Public Security and Minister responsible for the Capitale-Nationale region

“Quebec culture is rich, alive and vast. I am delighted that the students have the opportunity to discover or rediscover local artists and their works thanks to this new program. They will be able to vibrate together to the rhythm of our culture, while appropriating Quebec's creative genius. "

Nathalie Roy, Minister of Culture and Communications

“Teaching young people to live together and to fight against racism and discrimination throughout their school career is an essential objective. This was one of the recommendations made by the Action Group against Racism (GACR) in the report it tabled last year and that I have the mandate to put in place. I am also convinced that our young people will find it very interesting to examine the various environmental issues, because I know that they are thirsty to take action to help Quebec fight against climate change. "

Benoit Charette, Minister of the Environment and the Fight Against Climate Change and Minister responsible for the Fight against Racism

“First, I would like to thank the First Nations and Inuit representatives who participated in the consultative process for the redesign of the RCT course. Partners from these communities will continue to be called upon to make young people aware of today's indigenous realities. I hope that this concrete action will help bring our nations together. "

Ian Lafrenière, Minister responsible for Native Affairs

“The new program will allow young people to understand the role and become familiar with the functioning of our democratic and judicial institutions. It will also allow them to seize all the road traveled to lead to the secularism of the State, that is to say the separation between the State and religions. Thus, students will be better informed and above all better equipped to make choices in the different spheres of their life. "

Simon Jolin-Barrette, Minister of Justice, Minister responsible for the French Language and Minister responsible for Secularism

“The challenges of citizenship in the digital age are more real than ever. I am convinced that the content related to good practices as well as online interpersonal skills will make it possible to fight against online harassment and to prepare our young people to communicate better. "

Éric Caire, Minister responsible for Government Digital Transformation and Minister responsible for Access to Information and the Protection of Personal Information

“I hope that the important place of dialogue within this new program will lead to a greater openness to the differences which, fundamentally, characterize us all. Respect for others is the key to preventing bullying. "  

Mathieu Lacombe, Minister of Families

" The lesson Quebec culture and citizenship was the result of a comprehensive consultation process. I am very proud to have participated and I would like to thank all the participants as well as all the people who submitted a brief. Your thoughts and your desire to improve things have greatly contributed to the development of this new course. I am convinced that our discussions during the consultations will allow the students to acquire a better understanding of society and thus fully take their place and better integrate into the society in which they evolve. " 

Jean-Bernard Émond, Member of Parliament for Richelieu and Parliamentary Assistant for Education

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Culture et citoyenneté québécoise remplacera l’ancien programme Éthique et culture religieuse

Communiqué - Le programme Éthique et culture religieuse sera remplacé par Culture et citoyenneté québécoise. Les nouveaux thèmes du programme reposeront sur trois axes principaux, soit la culture, la citoyenneté québécoise ainsi que le dialogue et la pensée critique. Le programme sera mis en œuvre dans l'ensemble du réseau à la rentrée 2023.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Communiqué – Le programme Éthique et culture religieuse sera remplacé par Culture et citoyenneté québécoise. Le ministre de l’Éducation, Jean-François Roberge, en a fait l’annonce, en compagnie de la ministre déléguée à l’Éducation et ministre responsable de la Condition féminine, Isabelle Charest, et du député de Richelieu et adjoint parlementaire à l’Éducation, Jean-Bernard Émond, dans le cadre de la refonte en profondeur de l’ancien programme.

Le programme connaîtra une transformation majeure et permettra aux élèves du Québec de développer une pensée critique en approfondissant leur compréhension de la culture et de la citoyenneté québécoise. La rédaction du programme d’études, tant pour le primaire que le secondaire, est entamée pour permettre un déploiement progressif dans les écoles dès la rentrée 2022. 

Les nouveaux thèmes du programme reposeront sur trois axes principaux, soit la culture, la citoyenneté québécoise ainsi que le dialogue et la pensée critique. Le programme sera mis en œuvre dans l’ensemble du réseau à la rentrée 2023.

Culture

Le premier axe, la culture, amènera les élèves à s’intéresser à la culture et à la comprendre, en mettant de l’avant la culture québécoise, celle qui définit notre société. Ceux-ci seront ainsi amenés, au terme de leurs parcours, à bien comprendre notre culture, particulièrement ses fondements, son évolution, ses ambassadeurs ainsi que ses œuvres phares et les diverses formes que la culture peut revêtir partout à travers le monde. Cela permettra aux élèves de saisir la culture dans laquelle ils évoluent et de comprendre que chaque société est influencée par un contexte culturel différent et que c’est ce qui rend une culture distincte. Il est donc du devoir de chaque nation de protéger et de promouvoir sa culture, son héritage et ses particularités propres.

Citoyenneté québécoise

Le second axe permettra aux élèves de saisir les fondements de la citoyenneté québécoise. Ainsi, ils seront en mesure de partager les valeurs ainsi que les principes fondamentaux de la vie civique, comme le respect de soi et des autres, la liberté d’expression et de conscience, l’égalité entre tous et la laïcité. Ces valeurs sont au cœur des luttes qui nous sont chères, telles que la lutte contre le sexisme, le racisme et l’homophobie. L

es élèves seront aussi initiés aux institutions démocratiques et judiciaires québécoises afin de se familiariser avec leur fonctionnement. L’éducation aux médias les amènera à débusquer les fausses nouvelles et à développer une utilisation plus responsable des médias sociaux. Ils seront aussi amenés à réfléchir aux nouveaux défis de la citoyenneté, notamment à l’ère du numérique et des questions environnementales.

Les questions d’éducation sexuelle, notamment l’hypersexualisation, le consentement et l’exploitation sexuelle, seront également abordées dans le programme. Plus largement, les élèves seront en mesure de se familiariser avec les droits et libertés individuels et collectifs ainsi qu’avec les devoirs civiques de chaque citoyen.

Dialogue et pensée critique

Le dernier axe, qui concerne le dialogue, la pensée critique et l’éthique, est fondamental. Il transcende le programme. Les élèves développeront leur esprit critique par la pratique du dialogue. Ils seront amenés à se questionner et à aborder des dilemmes moraux, à examiner les repères d’ordre culturel, religieux, scientifique et social, ainsi qu’à les évaluer et à les analyser pour se positionner par rapport à ceux-ci.

En cette période où la censure prend de plus en plus de place dans notre société, il est essentiel de défendre la liberté d’expression et d’outiller nos jeunes pour leur permettre d’argumenter dans le respect.

Rappelons que le nouveau programme Culture et citoyenneté québécoise est né d’un processus de consultations impliquant la population, le réseau de l’éducation et ses partenaires ainsi que les peuples autochtones. Il s’inscrit aussi dans les suites données au rapport de la Commission d’enquête sur les relations entre les Autochtones et certains services publics : écoute, réconciliation et progrès, au nouveau Plan d’action concerté pour prévenir et contrer l’intimidation et la cyberintimidation du gouvernement du Québec, au rapport du Groupe d’action contre le racisme et au rapport de la Commission spéciale sur l’exploitation sexuelle des mineurs de l’Assemblée nationale.

Faits saillants

  • Le programme Éthique et culture religieuse a fait l’objet de nombreuses critiques qui rendaient nécessaire sa révision en profondeur.
  • Avant son implantation dans le réseau, le cours Culture et citoyenneté québécoise sera soumis à un processus de validation rigoureux et éprouvé auprès de divers comités et des partenaires du réseau de l’éducation.
  • Les finalités du cours seront aussi revues afin de permettre aux élèves de pratiquer le dialogue et de développer leur pensée critique ainsi qu’une réflexion éthique sans entraves.
  • Des formations seront offertes aux enseignantes et enseignants pour les soutenir dans la mise en œuvre.
  • La réforme du programme est aussi l’occasion d’intégrer les contenus d’éducation à la sexualité au sein d’un programme s’étalant du début du primaire jusqu’à la fin du secondaire afin de bonifier l’offre actuelle. Elle permettra également au personnel enseignant de faire appel à des partenaires et à des professionnels externes.
  • Les enjeux liés aux Premières Nations et aux Inuits seront abordés et élaborés en collaboration avec les partenaires autochtones.

Citations

« Les appels à la censure, la polarisation sur les réseaux sociaux ainsi que les nouvelles controverses autour de la liberté d’expression sont autant d’indicateurs d’un besoin criant du retour d’un véritable dialogue démocratique. Ces nouveaux enjeux, en plus du bilan effectué de l’ancien cours, motivent à eux seuls cette réforme en profondeur. L’importante consultation avec les partenaires et le réseau nous a permis d’identifier de nouveaux éléments à intégrer, mais aussi ceux à conserver et bonifier, notamment ceux relatifs au dialogue. La mise en place de ce nouveau programme est une excellente nouvelle; il prépare les jeunes du Québec à l’exercice de la citoyenneté, en leur permettant d’avoir une meilleure compréhension de notre culture tout en abordant des contenus incontournables. Je suis persuadé que les prochaines générations auront les outils nécessaires pour exercer leur citoyenneté québécoise et faire face aux défis de demain. » 

Jean-François Roberge, ministre de l’Éducation 

« Nous devons inculquer les valeurs de respect de soi et des autres aux filles et aux garçons dès le jeune âge pour leur permettre de développer les bases nécessaires à des relations saines et sans violence. Avec ce cours, nous posons les bases pour une société de demain plus égalitaire, plus respectueuse et plus sécuritaire. L’éducation, c’est la base de la prévention. »

Isabelle Charest, ministre déléguée à l’Éducation et ministre responsable de la Condition féminine

« Malheureusement, l’exploitation sexuelle et les violences faites aux femmes sont des réalités présentes au Québec. Votre gouvernement s’est engagé dans des efforts massifs pour lutter contre ces phénomènes ignobles. Il faut en faire davantage, plus tôt dans la vie de nos enfants, afin de briser ces cycles et intégrer les notions de consentement, de rapports égalitaires, d’empathie, de respect et d’affirmation de soi. Le nouveau programme ouvrira le dialogue sur ces sujets fondamentaux. »

Geneviève Guilbault, vice-première ministre, ministre de la Sécurité publique et ministre responsable de la région de la Capitale-Nationale

« La culture québécoise est riche, vivante et vaste. Je suis enchantée que les élèves aient l’occasion de découvrir ou de redécouvrir les artistes d’ici et leurs œuvres grâce à ce nouveau programme. Ils pourront vibrer ensemble au rythme de notre culture, tout en s’appropriant le génie créatif québécois. »

Nathalie Roy, ministre de la Culture et des Communications

« Apprendre aux jeunes à vivre ensemble et à lutter contre le racisme et la discrimination tout au long de leur parcours scolaire est un objectif essentiel. C’était d’ailleurs une des recommandations émises par le Groupe d’action contre le racisme (GACR) dans le rapport qu’il a déposé l’an dernier et que j’ai le mandat de mettre en place. Je suis également persuadé que nos jeunes trouveront très intéressant de se pencher sur les différents enjeux environnementaux, car je sais qu’ils ont soif d’agir pour aider le Québec à lutter contre les changements climatiques. »

Benoit Charette, ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques et ministre responsable de la Lutte contre le racisme

« D’abord, je tiens à remercier les représentantes et représentants des Premières nations et des Inuits qui ont participé au processus consultatif pour la refonte du cours d’ECR. Les partenaires issus de ces communautés continueront d’être interpellés pour que les jeunes soient sensibilisés aux réalités autochtones d’aujourd’hui. J’ai espoir que cette action concrète contribuera à rapprocher nos nations. »

Ian Lafrenière, ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones

« Le nouveau programme permettra aux jeunes de comprendre le rôle et de se familiariser avec le fonctionnement de nos institutions démocratiques et judiciaires. Il leur permettra également de saisir tout le chemin parcouru pour mener à la laïcité de l’État, soit la séparation entre l’État et les religions. Ainsi, les élèves seront mieux informés et surtout mieux outillés pour faire des choix dans les différentes sphères de leur vie. »

Simon Jolin-Barrette, ministre de la Justice, ministre responsable de la Langue française et ministre responsable de la Laïcité

« Les défis de la citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique sont plus réels que jamais. Je suis persuadé que les contenus liés aux bonnes pratiques ainsi qu’au savoir-être en ligne permettront de lutter contre le harcèlement en ligne et de préparer nos jeunes à mieux communiquer. »

Éric Caire, ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale et ministre responsable de l’Accès à l’information et de la Protection des renseignements personnels

« J’ai espoir que la place importante du dialogue au sein de ce nouveau programme amènera une plus grande ouverture d’esprit sur les différences qui, au fond, nous caractérisent tous. Le respect de l’autre est la clé de la prévention de l’intimidation. »  

Mathieu Lacombe, ministre de la Famille

« Le cours Culture et citoyenneté québécoise est issu d’un processus de consultation exhaustif. Je suis très fier d’y avoir participé et je tiens à remercier l’ensemble des participantes et participants ainsi que toutes les personnes qui ont déposé un mémoire. Vos réflexions et votre désir d’améliorer les choses ont grandement contribué à l’élaboration de ce nouveau cours. Je suis convaincu que nos échanges lors des consultations permettront aux élèves d’acquérir une meilleure compréhension de la société et ainsi de prendre pleinement leur place et de mieux s’intégrer à la société dans laquelle ils évoluent. » 

Jean-Bernard Émond, député de Richelieu et adjoint parlementaire à l’Éducation

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!