language

3 ways to unite the teaching and development of oral skills in French and English in secondary school

In this article, our collaborators, France Legault, Maxime Paquet and Dave Parenteau, offer a few ways to maximize efforts and promote collaboration between all language teachers.

The National Assembly wants the end of “Hello! Hi! ”

In recent days, the debate on the use of English in Montreal businesses has once again been present in the media. The National Assembly has even just adopted a motion to counter the use of the "Hello!" Hi! ” typical of downtown Montreal shops. Let us take a closer look at what brought the debate on the language spoken by Quebecers back to work.

Spelling corrected more and more the norm

It's rather rare that major spelling changes are made in a lifetime. When this is the case, as in 1932 or 1990, it takes several decades before their integration and application becomes visible. This is what we are currently experiencing in the media with the circumflex accent and the types of features in particular.

Spelling: when writing without making mistakes becomes child's play!

According to an OQLF report, if the spelling assessment criteria were eliminatory during the single test in French in Secondary V, about half of the students would fail. Here are some ideas and resources, for the classroom and the home, to take on this challenge!

Learning a new language: possible and beneficial at any age

For cognitive reasons, it is often easier for children to learn a foreign language than for adults. A recent study indicates that the benefits of learning a new language on the brain are significant, for both children and adults.

The language skills of teachers: an essential asset to be assessed

Last December, the Council of Ministers of Education (CMEC) released a report highlighting the correlation between the language skills of primary and secondary teachers and the effectiveness of their teaching. It appears that excellence in this profession requires advanced skills in this area.

A free 100 % resource for improving English and other languages

While immersion is one of the best ways to learn a language quickly, practicing its various aspects on a daily basis also helps a lot. This is exactly what the 365JoursPourApprendre.fr website also offers free of charge.

ANNONCE

langue

3 pistes pour unir l’enseignement et le développement des compétences à l’oral en français et en anglais au secondaire

Dans cet article, nos collaborateurs, France Legault, Maxime Paquet et Dave Parenteau, proposent quelques pistes afin de maximiser les efforts et favoriser la collaboration entre tous les enseignants de langues.

L’Assemblée nationale veut la fin du «Bonjour ! Hi !»

Depuis quelques jours, le débat sur l’utilisation de l’anglais dans les commerces montréalais est à nouveau présent dans les médias. L’Assemblé nationale vient même d’adopter une motion visant à contrer l’utilisation du «Bonjour ! Hi !» typique des commerces du centre-ville de Montréal. Voyons de plus près ce qui a ramené le débat sur la langue parlée des Québécois au travail.

L’orthographe rectifiée de plus en plus la norme

C’est plutôt rare que des changements majeurs soient apportés à l’orthographe au cours d’une vie. Lorsque c’est le cas, comme en 1932 ou en 1990, il faut plusieurs décennies avant que leur intégration et leur application deviennent visibles. C’est actuellement ce que nous vivons dans les médias envers l’accent circonflexe et les types de traits notamment.

L’orthographe : quand écrire sans faire de fautes devient un jeu d’enfant!

Selon un rapport de l’OQLF, si le critère de l’évaluation de l’orthographe était éliminatoire lors de l’épreuve unique de français en 5e secondaire, environ la moitié des élèves échouerait. Voici des idées et ressources, pour la classe et la maison, pour relever ce défi!

Apprendre une nouvelle langue : possible et bénéfique à tout âge

Pour des raisons cognitives, il est souvent plus facile pour les enfants d’apprendre une langue étrangère que pour les adultes. Une étude récente indique que les bienfaits de l’apprentissage d’une nouvelle langue sur le cerveau sont importants, et ce, autant chez les enfants que chez les adultes.

Les compétences linguistiques des enseignants : un atout essentiel à évaluer

En décembre dernier, le Conseil des ministres de l’Éducation (CMEC) a rendu public un rapport mettant en lumière la corrélation entre les compétences linguistiques des enseignants du primaire et du secondaire et l’efficacité de leur enseignement. Il apparaît que l’excellence dans cette profession exige des compétences poussées dans ce domaine.

Une ressource 100 % gratuite pour perfectionner l’anglais et d’autres langues

Si l’immersion est l’une des meilleures façons d’apprendre rapidement une langue, la pratique quotidienne de ses différents aspects aide aussi grandement. C’est exactement ce que propose, gratuitement en plus, le site 365JoursPourApprendre.fr