ADVERTISEMENT

3 activities to foster bonding between students

Here are 3 simple ideas to do in class that will get a good start and help students get to know each other better at the start of the year.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Here are 3 simple ideas to do in class that will get a good start and help students get to know each other better at the start of the year.

Back to school can be a stressful time for many children. Will they make friends? Will they know other people in their group? Will they be able to integrate well? These are often the predominant concerns. An article from the American site Edutopia offers 3 activities that should help students to get to know each other better and to forge links between them at the start of the year.

The first activity is dynamic and simply takes place in pairs. This is the greeting. The first student says “Hello! ", " Hi! Or other formulation, names itself and makes a physical gesture, such as offering a handshake, a friendly pat ("high five"), or even making a dramatic curtsy! The other responds "Hi such, how are you, my name is… ”. Then we change partners. No need to pass everyone the first time, but the activity can be repeated a few times so that everyone learns the first names at a minimum.

The second activity takes place in small groups of 4 or 5. Everyone has 30 to 45 seconds to answer a question such as "what kind of music do you like, what languages do you speak, where are you from, if you could you change into an animal, which would it be and why, etc. ". Students can be asked to build the list of questions and repeat a “session” regularly. Groups also need to find a way to manage time and develop listening strategies.

The last activity suggested is for the whole class. The teacher begins with a question such as “How many of you…” (for example, “play an instrument?”). The pupils concerned stand up. With the help of the other students, the questioning continues to find out more. This allows vocabulary and questioning skills to be practiced, and can take place several times during the year!

The three activities are described in detail with many suggested questions to ask in the original article from the Edutopia website, titled " Back to School: 3 Question Activities to Connect Students ".

 

 

 

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

3 activités pour favoriser le tissage de liens entre les élèves

Voici 3 idées simples à faire en classe qui permettront de prendre un bon départ et d’aider les élèves à mieux se connaître en ce début d’année.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Voici 3 idées simples à faire en classe qui permettront de prendre un bon départ et d’aider les élèves à mieux se connaître en ce début d’année.

La rentrée peut être un moment stressant pour de nombreux enfants. Vont-ils se faire des amis? Connaîtront-ils d’autres personnes de leur groupe? Sauront-ils bien s’intégrer? Voilà souvent les préoccupations qui prédominent. Un article du site américain Edutopia propose 3 activités qui devraient aider les élèves à mieux se connaître et à tisser des liens entre eux en ce début d’année.

La première activité est dynamique et se déroule tout simplement en paires. C’est la salutation. Le premier élève dit « Bonjour! », « Salut! » ou autre formulation, se nomme et fait un geste physique, comme offrir une poignée de main, une tape amicale (« high five »), ou encore faire une révérence dramatique! L’autre répond « Salut untel, comment vas-tu, mon nom à moi est… ». Ensuite, on change de partenaire. Pas besoin de passer tout le monde la première fois, mais l’activité peut être répétée quelques fois pour que tous apprennent minimalement les prénoms.

La seconde activité se passe en petits groupes de 4 ou 5. Chacun a 30 à 45 secondes pour répondre à une question du genre « quel genre de musique aimes-tu, quelles langues parles-tu, d’où viens-tu, si tu pouvais te changer en animal, ce serait lequel et pourquoi, etc. ». On peut demander aux élèves de bâtir la liste de question et refaire une « séance » régulièrement. Les groupes doivent aussi trouver une façon de gérer le temps et développer des stratégies d’écoute.

La dernière activité suggérée se passe en classe entière. L’enseignant débute par une question du type « Combien d’entre vous… » (par exemple, « jouent d’un instrument? »). Les élèves concernés se lèvent debout. Avec l’aide des autres élèves, on poursuit l’interrogatoire pour en savoir plus. Ceci permet de pratiquer le vocabulaire et l’habileté à interroger, et peut se dérouler ainsi plusieurs fois pendant l’année!

Les trois activités sont décrites en détails avec de nombreuses suggestions de questions à poser dans l’article original du site Edutopia, intitulé « Back to School : 3 Question Activities to Connect Students ».

 

 

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :