TransiMOOC: digital content by and for young people to prevent dropping out

As part of the Ludovia Summer University, Infobourg observes digital issues in education from a Quebec perspective. Our columns will allow you to follow part of the discussions. Today, a favorite idea to fight against dropping out.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

As part of the Ludovia Summer University, Infobourg observes digital issues in education from a Quebec perspective. Our columns will allow you to follow part of the discussions. Today, a favorite idea to fight against dropping out.

Muriel Epstein, math teacher and researcher, is interested in the prevention of early school leaving. As part of a research project, she wanted, with her colleague, to set up an action project very different from the usual school setting.

They started from the premise that young people like to learn, but that for many, the school environment is not suitable. In addition, dropouts are not necessarily young people who do not like to learn. They therefore wanted to give them back the desire to learn by creating a socially mixed space, a space outside the institution. Indeed, the researchers consider that "we must give them the space to want to learn". This is how was born TransiMOOC.

TransiMOOC * is an online course prepared by young people for young people. “As part of this project, we ask young people from various backgrounds to create content capsules for their dropout friends, their little brothers and sisters. They are given tablets, they can use their smart phone, colored papers and pencils. With this they make videos. We break the structure of the class. Pupils are no longer obliged to work with young people of the same level, but rather by subject.

By making the videos on requested themes (we started with a course on history and geography in third - sec. 3), the pupils sometimes realize that their peers do not master certain concepts. They must then help each other to progress. "It reaches many types of learners and the lessons really speak to them", explains the teacher.

The results of the project, carried out with the assistance of the association Transapi, are interesting: young people from disadvantaged backgrounds are very favorable to this way of doing things, they say they have learned more compared to the traditional structure. On the contrary, those from privileged backgrounds find that it is more gadget and that it didn't teach them anything.

From one intervention to another in class, the researchers observed that the presence of young people increased (those who were dropping out heard about the method and came back to see ...) and that they even stayed in class longer than the time scheduled to finish their video clips.

In closing, Muriel Epstein underlines a questioning: will the wave of MOOC * creators spread or whether young people will ultimately become MOOC consumers that will have to be revived?

 

* A MOOC (Massive Online Open Course), or CLOM (Massive Open Online Course) is a free online course that anyone can register for. We also mean FLOT (online training open to all) to designate this trend.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

TransiMOOC : contenus numériques par et pour les jeunes pour prévenir le décrochage

Dans le cadre de l’Université d’été Ludovia, Infobourg observe les enjeux du numérique en éducation d’une perspective québécoise. Nos chroniques vous permettront de suivre une partie des discussions. Aujourd’hui, une idée coup de cœur pour lutter contre le décrochage.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Dans le cadre de l’Université d’été Ludovia, Infobourg observe les enjeux du numérique en éducation d’une perspective québécoise. Nos chroniques vous permettront de suivre une partie des discussions. Aujourd’hui, une idée coup de cœur pour lutter contre le décrochage.

Muriel Epstein, enseignante en mathématiques et chercheuse, s’intéresse à la prévention du décrochage scolaire. Dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche, elle a voulu, avec sa collègue, mettre sur pied un projet-action bien différent du cadre scolaire habituel.

Elles sont parties du postulat que les jeunes aiment apprendre, mais que pour un grand nombre, le cadre scolaire ne convient pas. De plus, les décrocheurs ne sont pas nécessairement des jeunes qui n’aiment pas apprendre. Elles ont donc voulu leur redonner le goût d’apprendre par la création d’un espace mixte socialement, un espace à l’extérieur de l’institution. En effet, les chercheuses considèrent qu’« il faut leur laisser l’espace d’avoir envie d’apprendre ». C’est ainsi qu’est né TransiMOOC.

TransiMOOC*, c’est un cours en ligne préparé par les jeunes à l’intention des jeunes. « Dans le cadre de ce projet, on demande à des jeunes issus de divers milieux de créer des capsules de contenu pour leurs amis décrocheurs, leurs petits frères et sœurs. On leur donne des tablettes, ils peuvent utiliser leur smart phone, des papiers de couleur et des crayons. Avec cela, ils font des vidéos. » On casse la structure de la classe. Les élèves ne sont plus obligés de travailler avec des jeunes du même niveau, mais plutôt par matière.

En fabriquant les vidéos sur des thèmes demandés (on a commencé avec un cours sur l’histoire et la géographie en troisième – sec. 3), les élèves se rendent parfois compte que leurs pairs ne maîtrisent pas certaines notions. Ils doivent alors s’entraider pour progresser. « Ça rejoint plusieurs types d’apprenants et les cours leur parlent vraiment », explique l’enseignante.

Les résultats du projet, conduit avec le concours de l’association Transapi, sont intéressants : les jeunes de milieux défavorisés sont très favorables à cette façon de faire, ils disent avoir appris plus par rapport à la structure traditionnelle. Au contraire, ceux provenant de milieux favorisés trouvent que c’est plus gadget et que ça ne leur a rien appris.

D’une intervention à l’autre en classe, les chercheuses ont constaté que la présence des jeunes augmentait (ceux qui étaient en train de décrocher entendaient parler de la méthode et revenaient voir…) et qu’ils restaient même en classe plus longtemps que le temps prévu pour finir leurs capsules vidéos.

En terminant, Muriel Epstein souligne un questionnement : la vague de créateurs de MOOC* va-t-elle se propager ou si les jeunes deviendront finalement des consommateurs de MOOC qu’il faudra relancer?

 

* Un MOOC (Massive Online Open Course), ou CLOM (Cours en ligne ouvert et massif) est un cours en ligne gratuit auquel tous peuvent s’inscrire. On entend aussi FLOT (Formation en ligne ouverte à tous) pour désigner cette tendance.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. En 2021, elle est reçue à l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct