Educational advisers have become "digital guides" during the pandemic

"The accompaniment, support and training related to digital clearly emerge as mandates that have been added to those already existing", we read in the report entitled The function of counselor or educational advisor in Quebec.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

A team from the University of Sherbrooke conducted a study with 155 Quebec pedagogical advisers (PAs) during the fall of 2020. The results, published in May 2021, bear witness to the way in which their role has changed as a result. pandemic, mainly related to digital.

"The accompaniment, support and training related to digital clearly emerge as mandates that have been added to those already existing", we read in the report entitled The function of educational adviser in Quebec. Professors Nancy Granger and Suzanne Guillemette, from the Department of Education and Training Management at the University of Sherbrooke, are co-authoring this report with research assistant Bianca B.-Lamoureux. 

In fact, although the mandate of the PCs already consisted of training, advising and supporting school personnel, many of them had more disciplinary (French, mathematics, etc.) or thematic responsibilities (special education, etc.) that did not did not necessarily relate to the use of digital technology in education.

In the event of a pandemic, training in the use of digital platforms, the implementation of the transition to online education, the establishment and monitoring of distance education activities, the creation of capsules on digital tools, the production of guides and team training are at the heart of their daily lives. In this context, several PNs stated that they simply did not feel comfortable performing the tasks requested.

“I am asked to support teachers in using technological platforms that I do not know enough about. "

Some therefore had to “develop new digital resources and skills over a short period of time to better intervene and support distance education”. In this sense, several respondents underlined that “the support of the CPs themselves within the CSS was provided by the RÉCIT CPs, which already had greater expertise in the use of digital technology”.

Lack of cohesion

Faced with the urgency of deploying digital resources in schools, many CPs have had to “put aspects of their task aside. In doing so, this change of mission caused dissatisfaction and generated stress ”.

They mainly deplore a lack of cohesion and complementarity as regards the roles and functions of each actor within educational institutions, which could have made their work unproductive on occasion. "They come under unfortunate situations linked to the lack of communication between the educational services and the directors, such as training in which no teacher participates because they have failed to notify them", reads the report.

In addition, the lack of computer equipment to support teachers or their colleagues in the development of digital skills has been a challenge for them.

Nonetheless, they recognize that the use of digital technology and collaboration with colleagues have become “leitmotivs that allow people to get out of isolation, to better position themselves in relation to any situation and to find the best ways to respond to them despite the sense of urgency ”.

Other tasks

The research also showed that "the hiring of teachers who are not legally qualified required that the PCs get involved in the support and accompaniment in order to welcome them and make them functional in a teaching context". In addition, some CPs supported other newly appointed CP colleagues in order to facilitate their professional integration. These tasks were initially not their responsibility.

The role of educational advisor

According to repository of competent action in educational counseling, the role of the educational advisor consists of:

1- Advise school staff on educational, pedagogical or didactic practices in the context of problem solving, coaching or advisory role.

2- Train teaching staff and other school staff with regard to educational, pedagogical or didactic objects by explaining in class or by supporting staff within the organization (CSS or school).

3- Support school staff in a context of collaboration or mobilization to better support the improvement of educational, pedagogical or didactic practices.

4- Innovate in education, pedagogy and didactics in the context of research or development.

To these so-called emblematic situations are grafted the three transversal professional requirements which are: ethical action, communication and situational intelligence in order to meet the needs of the community.

To view the full report:
Granger, N., Guillemette, S. and B-Lamoureux, B. (2021). The function of educational adviser in Quebec. Research report. University of Sherbrooke, Canada.

Two days of training on the integration of digital in school counseling are presented by the University of Sherbrooke on September 9 and 10, 2021. For information.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les conseillers pédagogiques sont devenus des « accompagnateurs du numérique » pendant la pandémie

« L’accompagnement, le soutien et la formation liée au numérique ressortent clairement comme des mandats qui se sont ajoutés à ceux déjà existants », lit-on dans le rapport intitulé La fonction de conseillère ou de conseiller pédagogique au Québec.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
ANNONCE

Une équipe de l’Université de Sherbrooke a mené une étude auprès de 155 conseillers pédagogiques (CP) québécois au cours de l’automne 2020. Les résultats, publiés en mai 2021, témoignent de la façon dont leur rôle s’est transformé en raison de la pandémie, principalement en lien avec le numérique.

« L’accompagnement, le soutien et la formation liée au numérique ressortent clairement comme des mandats qui se sont ajoutés à ceux déjà existants », lit-on dans le rapport intitulé La fonction de conseillère ou de conseiller pédagogique au Québec. Les professeures Nancy Granger et Suzanne Guillemette, du département de gestion de l’éducation et de la formation de l’Université de Sherbrooke, cosignent ce rapport en compagnie de l’assistante de recherche Bianca B.-Lamoureux. 

De fait, bien que le mandat des CP consistait déjà à former, conseiller et accompagner le personnel scolaire, plusieurs d’entre eux avaient des responsabilités plutôt disciplinaires (français, mathématiques, etc.) ou thématiques (adaptation scolaire, etc.) qui ne se rapportaient pas nécessairement à l’utilisation du numérique en éducation.

En tant de pandémie, la formation à l’utilisation de plateformes numériques, la mise en oeuvre de la transition vers l’enseignement en ligne, la mise en place et le suivi d’activités d’enseignement à distance, la création de capsules sur les outils numériques, la fabrication de guides et la formation en équipe se sont retrouvés au cœur de leur quotidien. Dans ce contexte, plusieurs CP ont affirmé qu’ils ne se sentaient tout simplement pas à l’aise de réaliser les tâches demandées.

« On me demande de soutenir les enseignants dans l’utilisation de plateformes technologiques que je connais insuffisamment. »

Certains ont donc dû « développer de nouvelles ressources et habiletés relatives au numérique sur une courte période de temps pour mieux intervenir et soutenir l’enseignement à distance ». En ce sens, plusieurs répondants ont souligné que « le soutien des CP eux-mêmes au sein des CSS a été réalisé par les CP RÉCIT, qui avaient déjà une plus grande expertise quant à l’utilisation du numérique ».

Manque de cohésion

Devant l’urgence de déployer des ressources numériques dans les écoles, de nombreux CP ont dû « mettre des aspects de leur tâche de côté. Ce faisant, ce changement de mission a occasionné des insatisfactions et engendré du stress ».

Ils déplorent principalement un manque de cohésion et de complémentarité quant aux rôles et fonctions de chaque acteur au sein des institutions scolaires, ce qui a pu rendre leur travail improductif à l’occasion. « Ils relèvent des situations malencontreuses liées au manque de communication entre les services éducatifs et les directions, comme par exemple des formations auxquelles aucun enseignant ne participe parce qu’on a omis de les aviser », lit-on dans le rapport.

Par ailleurs, le manque de matériel informatique pour soutenir les enseignants ou leurs collègues dans le développement de compétences liées au numérique a représenté un défi pour eux.

Néanmoins, ils reconnaissent que l’utilisation du numérique et la collaboration avec les collègues sont devenus « des leitmotiv qui permettent de sortir de l’isolement, de mieux se positionner par rapport à toute situation et de trouver les meilleures façons d’y répondre malgré le sentiment d’urgence ».

Autres tâches

La recherche a aussi permis de constater que « l’embauche d’enseignants non légalement qualifiés a nécessité que des CP s’impliquent dans le soutien et l’accompagnement en vue de les accueillir et de les rendre fonctionnels en contexte d’enseignement ». De plus, certains CP ont soutenu d’autres collègues CP nouvellement en poste en vue de faciliter leur insertion professionnelle. Ces tâches n’étaient initialement pas de leur responsabilité.

Le rôle de conseiller pédagogique

Selon le référentiel de l’agir compétent en conseillance pédagogique, le rôle du conseiller pédagogique consiste à :

1- Conseiller le personnel scolaire sur des pratiques éducatives, pédagogiques ou didactiques en contexte de résolution de problèmes, de coaching ou de rôle-conseil.

2- Former le personnel enseignant et les autres personnels scolaires au regard d’objets éducatifs, pédagogiques ou didactiques en explicitant en classe ou en soutenant le personnel au sein de l’organisation (CSS ou école).

3- Accompagner le personnel scolaire dans un contexte de collaboration ou de mobilisation pour mieux soutenir l’amélioration des pratiques éducatives, pédagogiques ou didactiques.

4- Innover en éducation, en pédagogie et en didactique en contexte de recherche ou de développement.

À ces situations dites emblématiques se greffent les trois exigences professionnelles transversales que sont : l’agir éthique, la communication et l’intelligence de situation en vue de répondre aux besoins du milieu.

Pour consulter le rapport complet :
Granger, N., Guillemette, S. et B-Lamoureux, B. (2021). La fonction de conseillère ou de conseiller pédagogique au Québec. Rapport de recherche. Université de Sherbrooke, Canada.

Deux journées de formation sur l’intégration du numérique en conseillance scolaire sont présentées par l’Université de Sherbrooke, les 9 et 10 septembre 2021. Pour information.

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!


Vos commentaires

Pour commenter un article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter, Instagram ou LinkedIn.

Faites briller vos projets d'école et pratiques gagnantes!

L'École branchée a comme mandat de faire circuler l'information dans le milieu scolaire afin d'alimenter la veille professionnelle et valoriser les initiatives du milieu. Allez-y, proposez-nous un texte >

À lire aussi

Les six écoles du Lab-École sous la loupe des chercheurs

Cinq ans après le lancement de l’idée du Lab-École au Québec, les chercheurs Jonathan Bluteau et Mélissa Goulet, tous deux professeurs à la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’UQAM, s’apprêtent, avec une imposante équipe, à étudier les retombées de ce projet innovateur sur la réussite éducative. 

Laboratoires créatifs dans les écoles québécoises : état des lieux et questionnements

Bien que le déploiement de laboratoires créatifs ait été entamé dans les écoles québécoises avant la pandémie et que plusieurs avantages soient identifiés pour le développement de compétences chez les élèves, les auteurs d'un récent rapport soulèvent quelques questions sur le futur du déploiement de ces ateliers de fabrication.

Un sondage révèle que les jeunes font confiance à la science, mais la situation demeure fragile

La Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, en partenariat avec l’Acfas, réalisé un sondage afin de connaître les perceptions des jeunes Canadiens de 18 à 24 ans sur quatre enjeux scientifiques. Les résultats mettent en lumière l'écosystème médiatique dans lequel baignent les jeunes et l'importance de réaliser des activités de sensibilisation auprès d'eux.