What does the digital identity of young Quebecers look like?

Some believe that, from birth, every millennial would have traded their pacifier for a smartphone. And yet, the natives of the 21st century are not necessarily all equal when it comes to digital technology. A sociologist looked into the issue and presented her findings at the MTL Connecte 2021 event.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Some believe that, from birth, every millennial would have traded their pacifier for a smartphone. And yet, the natives of the 21st century are not necessarily all equal when it comes to digital technology. A sociologist looked into the issue and presented her findings at the MTL Connecte 2021 event.

Amina Yagoubi is a project manager in innovation - society and culture within AKY Tips. Ms. Yagoubi is also a sociologist. With the Canada Research Chair on Sociocultural Issues in Digital Education at UQAM, she carried out the study Digital cultures and inequalities: digital uses of young people in Quebec. This was completed as part of the project Youth Qc 2030, supported by the Youth Secretariat (SEJ) of the Government of Quebec.

The study showed that young Quebecers are not all equal in front of a digital screen. They are not the only ones: it is also the case of other young people around the world.

In the countries of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), for example, the career paths of boys and girls diverge around the age of 15. According to the figures given by the sociologist, 23 % of graduates from OECD countries choose natural sciences, engineering and information and communication technologies (ICT). A large majority of them are boys.

Uses related to entertainment

According to Amina Yagoubi, 80 % of young Quebecers use the Web for entertainment. For boys, entertainment rhymes with video games. They would indeed be 70 % to play. Girls, they would be more eclectic in their choices and more numerous on social networks. 

However, just because we love playing video games or posting on Instagram doesn't automatically mean we know how digital works. If we wanted to draw a global and realistic portrait of the Quebec adolescent in front of the digital screen, according to the speaker, it should be noted that he actually has few digital skills, that he has a weak information literacy, that his critical mind is not very well developed and he is vulnerable to scams. A portrait that is not very shiny.

Family influence

If girls have more diverse uses of digital technology, it is because they are more influenced by their family environment than are boys. In doing so, they increase their transversal skills, such as creativity, and develop new fields of interest.

As a teacher, it is important to fight against stereotypes, and there are still many of them in the digital world. It is also important to be aware that all students are not equal in front of a digital screen and to avoid assuming that they know everything. So what is called the digital divide might be easier to heal. 

As Amina Yagoubi recalled, “in a context of digital transformation, we must be vigilant in the face of the gaps which may widen and which could risk excluding a part of the population from the future, social, economic and cultural development of our society. ".

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

À quoi ressemble l’identité numérique des jeunes Québécois?

Certains croient que, dès leur naissance, tous les milléniaux auraient troqué leur sucette pour un téléphone intelligent. Et pourtant, les natifs du XXIe siècle ne sont pas nécessairement tous égaux en matière de numérique. Une sociologue s’est penchée sur la question et a présenté ses constats à l’occasion de l’événement MTL Connecte 2021.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Certains croient que, dès leur naissance, tous les milléniaux auraient troqué leur sucette pour un téléphone intelligent. Et pourtant, les natifs du XXIe siècle ne sont pas nécessairement tous égaux en matière de numérique. Une sociologue s’est penchée sur la question et a présenté ses constats à l’occasion de l’événement MTL Connecte 2021.

Amina Yagoubi est gestionnaire de projets en innovation – société et culture au sein de AKY Conseils. Mme Yagoubi est aussi sociologue. Avec la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les enjeux socioculturels du numérique en éducation de l’UQAM, elle a réalisé l’étude Cultures et inégalités numériques : usages numériques des jeunes au Québec. Celle-ci a  été complétée dans le cadre du projet Jeunesse Qc 2030, soutenu par le Secrétariat à la jeunesse (SEJ) du gouvernement du Québec.

L’étude a permis de démontrer que les jeunes Québécois ne sont pas tous égaux devant un écran numérique. Ils ne sont pas les seuls : c’est le cas aussi d’autres jeunes à travers le monde.

Dans les pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), par exemple, les parcours professionnels des garçons et des filles divergent vers 15 ans. D’après les chiffres donnés par la sociologue, ce sont 23 % des diplômés des pays de l’OCDE qui choisissent les sciences naturelles, l’ingénierie et les technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC). Une grande majorité d’entre eux sont des garçons.

Des usages liés au divertissement

Selon Amina Yagoubi, 80 % des jeunes Québécois utiliseraient le Web pour se divertir. Chez les garçons, divertissement rimerait avec jeux vidéo. Ils seraient en effet 70 % à jouer. Les filles, elles, seraient plus éclectiques dans leurs choix et plus nombreuses sur les réseaux sociaux. 

Cependant, ce n’est pas parce qu’on aime jouer aux jeux vidéo ou publier sur Instagram qu’on sait automatiquement comment fonctionne le numérique. Si on voulait dresser un portrait global et réaliste de l’adolescent québécois devant l’écran numérique, d’après la conférencière, il faudrait souligner qu’il possède en réalité peu de compétences numériques, qu’il a une faible culture informationnelle, que son esprit critique n’est pas très développé et qu’il est vulnérable face aux arnaques. Un portrait qui n’est pas très reluisant.

L’influence familiale

Si les filles ont des usages plus diversifiés du numérique, c’est qu’elles sont davantage influencées par leur milieu familial que ne le sont les garçons. Ce faisant, elles augmentent leurs compétences transversales, comme la créativité, et développent de nouveaux champs d’intérêt.

En tant qu’enseignant, il importe de lutter contre les stéréotypes, et ils sont encore nombreux dans l’univers numérique. Il faut aussi être conscient que tous les élèves ne sont pas égaux devant un écran numérique et éviter de prendre pour acquis qu’ils en savent tout. Ainsi, ce qu’on nomme la fracture numérique serait peut-être plus facile à cicatriser. 

Comme l’a rappelé Amina Yagoubi, « dans un contexte de transformation numérique, il faut être vigilant face aux fossés qui peuvent se creuser et qui risqueraient d’exclure une partie de la population du développement futur, social, économique et culturel de notre société ».

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée

L'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!