Google Expeditions and Tour Creator: it's (soon) the end!

Google recently announced the upcoming end of its Expeditions and Tour Creator applications. Laurent, our collaborator, offers you alternatives for those who wish to continue using immersive technology to promote learning.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Many of you are familiar with the app Google Expeditions, which provides access to numerous educational content in augmented reality (AR) and virtual (VR). The site Creator Tower, on the other hand, offers its users the possibility of creating their own immersive tours using 360 ° content. It is a very sad news that we learn there, but these two services will cease to exist soon, more precisely on June 30, 2021.

However, this news does not eclipse the possibilities of immersive technology in learning. Here's why.

Google's announcement

Receiving an email advising of the end of service was a shock. I must admit that at first glance, I thought it was fake news. And yet no: the information was also good relayed on the blog of Google dedicated to education.

"We will no longer support the Expeditions app, and the app will no longer be available for download after June 30, 2021."

Jennifer Holland
Directorate of Program Management, Education

This article tells us more interesting information about the future of immersive content. Thus, the application Arts and culture should accommodate the majority of content from Google Expeditions. Arts and Culture already has great features and a large number of pedagogically interesting content. We therefore hope that the transfer will not lose content that was tailor-made for our courses (a bit as if we lost interesting objects during a move).

As justification, Google advances the argument of adaptability and fairness. The crisis situation is forcing schools and teachers to review their way of teaching to cope with the hybridization of learning. Immersive content, particularly in virtual reality (VR), would therefore no longer be adapted to current reality. The second argument would be that this immersive content cannot be viewed by all users either. We are talking about an equity factor, which obviously speaks to me, but which, I hope, does not hide a false argument to hide an economy compared to a service that brought nothing to the firm.

Thus, it should be noted that VR content, although it is more striking when viewed using a VR headset or a cardboard, can just as easily be viewed "simply" in 360 ° using the gyroscopic function of a mobile device (tablet or smart phone).

Google Arts and Culture

Yes, I will miss Expeditions and Tour Creator. Google Arts and Culture, however, present great possibilities, which will have to be enriched as promised with the content that will be transferred there.

Available on iOS and Android, completely free, here are a few features that might catch your eye. 

  • Art Transfer: Take a photo and turn it into a classic artwork.
  • Art Selfie: Discover portraits that look like you from a selfie (selfie).
  • Art Projector: See the works in real size.
  • Pocket Gallery: Browse immersive galleries and observe the works of art up close.
  • Color Palette: Search for works of art based on the colors of a given photo.

The possibility of visiting virtually (in virtual and augmented reality) different cultural hotspots, such as museums will also be present in the new versions.

Alternative options for creation

Tour Creator was a great tool for making custom tours and engaging students in active creative tasks. Here are some apps / sites that could also be great options for getting your students into action by June 30th.

H5P Virtual Tour

The site H5P will give you a wide choice of creative possibilities with your students with the functionality Virtual TourSmall downside: although most of the features offered on this site are available for free, you have to go through a subscription system to take full advantage of the immersive creation options. 30 days are allocated free of charge in order to experiment with the tool, which will suffice for a short-term project with the students.

In order to be able to create this immersion, you must first have a compatible image in 360 ° format (easily downloadable by searching in a search engine).

The tutorial page to get started

CoSpace Edu

Second, explore the possibility of creating an immersive tour via CoSpace Edu. Although this site (also available in application) does not primarily target visits to specific places, you can integrate images in 360 ° format in order to build, in a slightly more original way, an immersive tour with your students. Why not in the form of a narrative story?

A tutorial on this application

In conclusion

This announcement should be seen as the opportunity to embark on the experimentation of new educational applications to bring out new ideas and possibilities. Although the current health crisis is temporarily modifying the types of use, the motivating nature of this technology remains intact. It will therefore have to do like everyone else: adapt to better meet needs.

To read,  my previous article on the École branchée on this.


Carrefour education also offers you its resources on virtual reality in the classroom. 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale is a secondary school human sciences teacher in Belgium and a digital-supported pedagogy trainer. He describes his pedagogy as being deeply positivist, human and innovative. Her first four years in special education forced her to show creativity and benevolence in her practices, in order to make students want to learn, despite their difficulties. He also helps his colleagues on a daily basis to develop their practices. This is what pushed him since September 2018 to open a Facebook page dedicated to Ed.Tech, where he publishes new tools to use, daily advice, and examples of innovative activities.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Google Expéditions et Tour Creator : c’est (bientôt) la fin!

Google annonçait dernièrement la fin prochaine de ses applications Expéditions et Tour Creator. Laurent, notre collaborateur, vous propose des alternatives pour ceux qui souhaitent continuer d'utiliser la technologie immersive pour favoriser les apprentissages.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Bon nombre d’entre vous connaissent l’application Google Expéditions, qui donne accès à de nombreux contenus pédagogiques en réalité augmentée (RA) et virtuelle (RV). Le site Tour Creator, lui, offre la possibilité à ses utilisateurs de créer leurs propres visites immersives à l’aide de contenus 360°. C’est une bien triste nouvelle que l’on apprend là, mais ces deux services cesseront bientôt d’exister, plus précisément le 30 juin 2021.

Toutefois, cette nouvelle n’éclipse pas les possibilités de la technologie immersive dans les apprentissages. Voici pourquoi.

L’annonce de Google

La réception d’un courriel avisant de la fin du service fut un choc. Je dois bien avouer qu’à première vue, je pensais que c’était une fausse nouvelle. Et pourtant non : l’information était également bien relayée sur le blogue de Google dédié à l’éducation.

« Nous ne prendrons plus en charge l’application Expéditions, et l’application ne sera plus disponible en téléchargement après le 30 juin 2021. »

Jennifer Holland
Direction de la gestion des programmes, éducation

Cet article nous apprend d’autres informations intéressantes sur l’avenir des contenus immersifs. Ainsi, l’application Arts et Culture devrait accueillir la majorité des contenus de Google Expéditions. Arts et Culture possède déjà de belles fonctionnalités et un grand nombre de contenus pédagogiquement intéressants. On espère donc que le transfert ne perdra pas des contenus qui étaient taillés sur mesure pour nos cours (un peu comme si l’on perdait des objets intéressants lors d’un déménagement).

Comme justification, Google avance l’argument de l’adaptabilité et de l’équité. La situation de crise oblige les écoles et les enseignants à revoir leur manière d’enseigner pour faire face à l’hybridation des apprentissages. Les contenus immersifs, particulièrement en réalité virtuelle (RV), ne seraient donc plus adaptés à la réalité actuelle. Le second argument serait que ces contenus immersifs ne peuvent pas non plus être consultés par tous les utilisateurs. On parle d’un facteur d’équité, ce qui me parle bien évidemment, mais qui, je l’espère, ne cache pas un faux argument pour masquer une économie par rapport à un service qui ne rapportait rien à la firme.

Ainsi, on notera que les contenus RV, bien qu’ils soient plus frappants lorsque consultés à l’aide d’un casque de RV ou d’une cardboard, peuvent tout aussi bien être consultés « simplement » en 360° à l’aide de la fonction gyroscopique d’un appareil mobile (tablette ou téléphone intelligent).

Google Arts et Culture

Oui, Expéditions et Tour Creator me manqueront. Google Arts et Culture présentent toutefois de belles possibilités, qu’il faudra venir enrichir comme promis avec les contenus qui y seront transférés.

Disponible sous iOS et Android, totalement gratuite, voici quelques fonctionnalités pourraient bien vous faire de l’œil. 

  • Art Transfer : Prendre une photo et la transformer en œuvre classique.
  • Art Selfie : Découvrir des portraits qui vous ressemblent à partir d’un égoportrait (selfie).
  • Art Projector : Voir les œuvres en taille réelle.
  • Pocket Gallery : Parcourir des galeries immersives et observer les œuvres d’art de près.
  • Color Palette : Rechercher des œuvres d’art à partir des couleurs d’une photo donnée.

La possibilité de visiter virtuellement (en réalité virtuelle et augmentée) différents hauts lieux de la culture, tels que des musées sera aussi présente dans les nouvelles versions.

Les options alternatives pour la création

Tour Creator était un superbe outil pour réaliser des circuits sur mesure et engager les élèves dans des tâches actives de création. Voici quelques applications/sites qui pourraient également représenter de chouettes options pour mettre vos élèves en action d’ici le 30 juin.

H5P Virtual Tour

Le site H5P vous donnera un large choix de possibilités de création avec vos élèves avec la fonctionnalité Virtual TourPetit bémol : bien que la majorité des fonctionnalités proposées sur ce site sont disponibles gratuitement, il faut passer par un système d’abonnement pour profiter pleinement des options de création immersive. 30 jours sont attribués gratuitement afin d’expérimenter l’outil, ce qui suffira pour un projet à court terme avec les élèves.

Afin de pouvoir créer cette immersion, il faut disposer au préalable une image compatible au format 360° (facilement téléchargeable en cherchant dans un moteur de recherche).

La page tutoriel pour débuter

CoSpace Edu

En second lieu, explorez la possibilité de créer une visite immersive via CoSpace Edu. Bien que ce site (disponible en application également) ne cible pas principalement la visite de lieux précis, vous pourrez y intégrer des images au format 360° afin de construire, d’une manière un peu plus originale, un tour immersif avec vos élèves. Pourquoi pas sous la forme d’une histoire narrative?

Un tutoriel concernant cette application

En conclusion

Il faut voir cette annonce comme l’opportunité de se lancer dans l’expérimentation de nouvelles applications pédagogiques pour faire émerger de nouvelles idées et possibilités. Bien que la crise sanitaire actuelle modifie temporairement les types d’utilisation, le caractère motivant de cette technologie reste intact. Elle devra donc faire comme tout le monde : s’adapter pour mieux répondre aux besoins.

À lire,  mon précédent article sur l’École branchée à ce sujet.


Carrefour éducation vous propose également ses ressources sur la réalité virtuelle en classe. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale est professeur de sciences humaines au secondaire en Belgique et formateur en pédagogie appuyée par le numérique. Il décrit sa pédagogie comme étant profondément positiviste, humaine et innovante. Ses quatre premières années dans l’enseignement spécialisé l’ont obligées à faire preuve de créativité et de bienveillance dans ses pratiques, afin de donner envie aux élèves d’apprendre et ce malgré leurs difficultés. Il aide aussi quotidiennement ses collègues à faire évoluer leurs pratiques. C’est cela qui l’a poussé depuis septembre 2018 à ouvrir une page Facebook dédiée à l’Ed.Tech, où il publie des nouveaux outils à utiliser, des conseils quotidiens, et des exemples d’activités innovantes.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!