Getting the tools to fight cyberbullying

According to a survey carried out last spring, 40 % of young people would know a victim of cyberbullying, 5 % of school staff would have been the target and the phenomenon is growing. Faced with this problem, teachers may feel helpless. This is why the Federation of Private Educational Institutions will offer training in the Tool to better help our young people during the year 2011-2012.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

According to a survey conducted last spring, 40 % of young people would know a victim of cyberbullying, 5 % of school staff have been targeted and the phenomenon is growing. Faced with this problem, teachers may feel helpless. This is why the Federation of Private Educational Institutions will offer training in the program Getting the tools to better help our young people during the year 2011-2012.

This training given by community officers from the Sûreté du Québec and the Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM) specializing in cybercrime helps participants prevent problematic situations and act appropriately when they arise.

“The majority of establishments have already implemented a series of measures to prevent and counter cyberbullying, but there is still work to be done to educate students, better equip the various stakeholders in the school environment and seek parental support. », Considers Jean-Marc St-Jacques, president of the federation.

Even though these actions are often performed outside of school, they have effects in the school environment, in particular by causing psychological distress and dropping out. Several schools have therefore already implemented measures to prevent cyberbullying, such as the inclusion of this issue in the code of conduct, the presentation of information in computer classes, the design of various tools and the setting up of awareness. Training is an additional tool to counter this widespread phenomenon.

Other resources

There are also several resources on the Internet on the subject. The SPVM devotes a section of its site to teachers. It provides additional information for the prevention visits by agents in the classes. The WebAverti site also offers safety tips for children aged 2 to 17. It talks about cyberbullying, but also other sensitive topics such as marketing targeting children, pornography, privacy and excessive Internet use. Media Awareness Network also offers teachers four activities to do with their students from the fifth year to the third secondary. Finally, young people can turn to the Kids Help Phone for more information.

Read also :

Educate our young people in responsible use of ICT

Protect your digital identity

Digital identity: why and how to talk about it

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

S’outiller pour combattre la cyberintimidation

Selon un sondage réalisé le printemps dernier, 40 % des jeunes connaîtraient une victime de cyberintimidation, 5 % du personnel des écoles en auraient été la cible et le phénomène prend de l’ampleur. Devant cette problématique, des enseignants peuvent se sentir démunis. C’est pourquoi la Fédération des établissements d’enseignement privés proposera des formations dans le programme S’outiller pour mieux aider nos jeunes au cours de l’année 2011-2012.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Selon un sondage réalisé le printemps dernier, 40 % des jeunes connaîtraient une victime de cyberintimidation, 5 % du personnel des écoles en auraient été la cible et le phénomène prend de l’ampleur. Devant cette problématique, des enseignants peuvent se sentir démunis. C’est pourquoi la Fédération des établissements d’enseignement privés proposera des formations dans le programme S’outiller pour mieux aider nos jeunes au cours de l’année 2011-2012.

Ces formations données par des agents communautaires de la Sûreté du Québec et du Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM) spécialisés en cybercriminalité aident les participants à prévenir les situations problématiques et à agir adéquatement lorsqu’elles se présentent.

« La majorité des établissements ont déjà mis en place une série de mesures pour prévenir et contrer la cyberintimidation, mais il reste encore du travail à accomplir pour sensibiliser les élèves, mieux outiller les différents intervenants en milieu scolaire et aller chercher l’appui des parents », estime Jean-Marc St-Jacques, président de la fédération.

Même si ces gestes sont souvent posés à l’extérieur de l’école, ils ont des effets dans l’environnement scolaire notamment en causant de la détresse psychologique et du décrochage. Plusieurs écoles ont donc déjà instauré des mesures pour prévenir la cyberintimidation comme l’inclusion de cette problématique dans le code de vie, la présentation d’information dans les cours d’informatique, la conception de différents outils et la mise en place de sensibilisation. La formation est un outil supplémentaire pour contrer ce phénomène répandu.

D’autres ressources

On retrouve aussi sur Internet plusieurs ressources sur la question. Le SPVM consacre une section de son site aux enseignants. On y retrouve des informations complémentaires aux visites de prévention des agents dans les classes. Le site WebAverti offre aussi des conseils de sécurité destinés aux jeunes de 2 à 17 ans. On y parle de cyberintimidation, mais aussi d’autres sujets sensibles comme le marketing ciblant les enfants, la pornographie, la vie privée et l’utilisation excessive d’Internet. Réseau Éducation-Médias propose aussi aux enseignants quatre activités à réaliser avec leurs élèves de la cinquième année au troisième secondaire. Enfin, les jeunes peuvent se tourner vers le site de Jeunesse, J’écoute pour obtenir plus d’information.

À lire aussi :

Éduquons nos jeunes à une utilisation responsable des TIC

Protéger son identité numérique

L’identité numérique : pourquoi et comment en parler

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!