Have you completed your… school census form?

Organize a census? Nothing easier! Statistics Canada launched the 2011-2012 edition of the Census at School project on Monday, in which 26,000 young Canadians participated last year. An exercise that integrates statistics and information technologies!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Organize a census? Nothing easier! Statistics Canada launched the 2011-2012 edition of the project on Monday Census at school attended by 26,000 young Canadians last year. An exercise that integrates statistics and information technologies!

In particular, the data collected during the last school year tells us that around 42 % of respondents feel a lot of pressure because of school work. We also note that physical education is the most popular subject, 27 % of young people identify it as their favorite. Finally, text messaging is the second most common way they communicate with each other… after meeting in person!

The project not only allows participants to discover the responses of other young Canadians, but also those of students in other countries. " Census at school is an international online project that allows students of the 4e year at Cégep (12e year) to discover the world of surveys and statistics. This project started in the UK in 2000, and schools in Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa are now taking part. […] It offers students a unique opportunity to participate in the collection and analysis of their own data and to live the experience of a mini-census in the classroom ”, it is mentioned on the project site. . Obviously, the questionnaires are completed anonymously and the information requested is not confidential. Completing the online questionnaire takes about fifteen minutes for each student.

More statistics!

The federal body also offers other resources to teachers that it presents in a video seven minutes. In particular, it explains how the E-STAT tool, designed especially for education, works. It allows you to generate dynamic tables and customize graphs and maps using data from the population census.

The kids' corner also offers various activities such as crosswords, memory games, coloring books and maps of Canada.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Avez-vous rempli votre formulaire de recensement… scolaire?

Organiser un recensement? Rien de plus facile! Statistique Canada a lancé lundi l’édition 2011-2012 du projet Recensement à l’école auquel ont participé 26 000 jeunes canadiens l’an dernier. Un exercice qui intègre statistiques et technologies de l’information!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Organiser un recensement? Rien de plus facile! Statistique Canada a lancé lundi l’édition 2011-2012 du projet Recensement à l’école auquel ont participé 26 000 jeunes canadiens l’an dernier. Un exercice qui intègre statistiques et technologies de l’information!

Les données recueillies lors de la dernière année scolaire nous apprennent notamment qu’environ 42 % des répondants ressentent beaucoup de pression en raison du travail scolaire. On constate aussi que l’éducation physique est la matière la plus populaire, 27 % des jeunes l’identifient comme étant leur préférée. Enfin, la messagerie texte est le deuxième moyen qu’ils utilisent le plus pour communiquer entre eux… après la rencontre en personne!

Le projet permet non seulement aux participants de découvrir les réponses des autres jeunes Canadiens, mais aussi celles d’élèves d’autres pays. « Recensement à l’école est un projet international en ligne qui permet aux élèves de la 4e année au Cégep (12e année) de découvrir le monde des enquêtes et de la statistique. Ce projet a pris naissance au Royaume-Uni en 2000, et des écoles d’Australie, du Canada, de Nouvelle-Zélande et d’Afrique du Sud y prennent maintenant part. […] Il offre aux élèves une occasion unique de participer à la collecte et à l’analyse de leurs propres données et de vivre l’expérience d’un mini-recensement en classe », mentionne-t-on sur le site du projet. Évidemment, les questionnaires sont remplis de manière anonyme et les renseignements demandés ne sont pas confidentiels. Remplir le questionnaire en ligne demande environ une quinzaine de minutes à chaque élève.

Encore des statistiques!

L’organisme fédéral propose aussi d’autres ressources aux enseignants qu’il présente dans une vidéo de sept minutes. On y explique notamment le fonctionnement de l’outil E-STAT, conçu spécialement pour l’enseignement. Il permet de générer des tableaux dynamiques et de personnaliser des graphiques et des cartes à l’aide des données du recensement de la population.

Le coin des jeunes propose aussi différentes activités telles que des mots croisés, des jeux de mémoire, des albums à colorier et des cartes du Canada.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :