Back to edCamp Montreal: fostering the desire to always go further

Last Thursday, November 1st, the 2nd edition of edCamp Montreal was held at Wilfrid-Bastien Elementary School. A little more than 120 people, teachers, educational advisers, education professionals and students, gathered to discuss topics of interest to them in connection with education. Small return ...

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Last Thursday, the 1er November, was held the 2e edition of edCamp Montreal at Wilfrid-Bastien elementary school. A little more than 120 people, teachers, educational advisers, education professionals and students, gathered to discuss topics of interest to them in connection with education. Small return ...

The edCamp formula in particular, apart from the logistical organization, nothing is planned in advance. We attend with the sole intention of networking and sharing experiences. At the start of the day, the organizers give a rough explanation of the process. Everything takes place around the wall of the workshops: a space on which you can find the numbers of the available premises and the time slots to be filled in for each one. In this case, there were 7 rooms and 3 time slots.

A wall of shy workshops at the start of the day which will overflow with color a little later!

Thus, for the 1time hour of activities, some brave dared to stick on the wall questions they wanted to address. The participants headed to the premises that inspired them, guided for the occasion by students from the school, to attend, most of them amazed, their first edCamp session.

In each workshop, the formula may differ:
- a more traditional formula where a facilitator presents something he has done or experienced, followed by a discussion initiated through questions from the people present and sharing of experience;
- a quick presentation of technological tools by several people;
- a more or less structured discussion on a specific topic;
- etc.

As stated Francois Rivest, host STORY from the Pointe-de-l'Île school board and member of the organizing committee, “the only rule is that there are no rules! ".

For example, Eric Noël (4e and 5e high school, math and science) opened the day with a workshop in which he spoke about his experience of the overturned classroom. Among those present, other teachers, such as Caroline Hétu (4e secondary, French), could answer people's questions. In another room, “ilèves” presented life in their “ iClass », A concept dear to Pierre Poulin, main organizer of edCamp Montreal.

After this first contact, the workshop wall quickly filled with suggestions and the choice of topics widened.

I do not have myself could not resist the formula both simple and rich, and I proposed a discussion and sharing TBI / TNI, a subject that interests me particularly. However, I was in no way prepared. I started by asking questions so that we basically know the profile of the people present. Of the forty or so people in the room, only 4 or 5 did not have an interactive whiteboard in their classroom. We were therefore able to evacuate our irritants, share tips and remember the strengths of these paintings: keeping traces, sharing, manipulating, exploiting the visual side, promoting spontaneity, etc. Ideas came from everywhere: mini-teachers, stories in which you are the hero, animations and other resources found on the Internet, open canvas, etc.

In many cases, the one hour duration of the workshops was of course too short as the discussions were rich. This is the edCamp formula: make your mouth water and make you want to go further.

Does that inspire you? Watch on Infobourg for the announcement of the next French-speaking edCamps in Canada! In particular, the date and location of edCamp Ville de Québec will be announced within a few weeks.

Also use the comments form below to share your memories of edCamp Montreal if you were there.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Editor of École branchée magazine, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technology and a bachelor's degree in public communication. A member of the Professional Federation of Quebec Journalists (FPJQ), she is particularly interested in news related to the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education. She has been active in building bridges in the educational ecosystem since 1999. These days she is particularly involved in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. In 2021, she was awarded the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, rabbits, horses, good wine and ... web programming!

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Previous articleBack to normal time
Next articleAmericans at the polls

Retour sur edCamp Montréal : donner le goût d’aller toujours plus loin

0

Jeudi dernier, le 1er novembre, se tenait la 2e édition d’edCamp Montréal à l’école primaire Wilfrid-Bastien. Un peu plus de 120 personnes, enseignants, conseillers pédagogiques, professionnels de l’éducation et élèves, se sont rassemblées pour discuter de sujets qui les intéressent en lien avec l’éducation. Petit retour…

La formule edCamp a ceci de particulier qu’à part l’organisation logistique, rien n’est prévu d’avance. On s’y présente avec pour seule intention d’aller réseauter et partager des expériences. Au début de la journée, les organisateurs expliquent en gros le déroulement. Tout se passe autour du mur des ateliers : un espace sur lequel on trouve les numéros des locaux disponibles et des plages horaires à remplir pour chacun. Dans ce cas-ci, il y avait 7 locaux et 3 plages horaires.

Un mur des ateliers timides en début de journée qui débordera de couleur un peu plus tard!

Ainsi, pour la 1ère heure d’activités, quelques braves ont osé coller sur le mur des questions qu’ils souhaitaient aborder. Les participants se sont dirigés vers les locaux qui les inspiraient, guidés pour l’occasion par des élèves de l’école, afin d’assister, ébahis pour la plupart, à leur première session edCamp.

Dans chaque atelier, la formule peut différer :
– une formule plus traditionnelle où un animateur expose quelque chose qu’il a fait ou vécu, suivie d’une discussion amorcée grâce aux questions des gens présents et au partage d’expérience;
– une rapide présentation d’outils technologiques par plusieurs personnes;
– une discussion plus ou moins structurée sur un thème précis;
– etc.

Comme l’a dit François Rivest, animateur RÉCIT de la commission scolaire de la Pointe-de-l’Île et membre du comité organisateur, « la seule règle, c’est qu’il n’y a pas de règles! ».

Par exemple, Éric Noël (4e et 5e secondaire, maths et sciences) a ouvert la journée avec un atelier dans lequel il a parlé de son expérience de classe renversée. Parmi les gens présents, d’autres enseignants, comme Caroline Hétu (4e secondaire, français), pouvaient répondre aux questions des gens. Dans un autre local, des « ilèves » présentaient la vie dans leur « iClasse », un concept cher à Pierre Poulin, organisateur principal d’edCamp Montréal.

Après ce premier contact, le mur des ateliers s’est rapidement rempli de suggestions et le choix des sujets s’est élargi.

Je n’ai moi-même pas pu résister à la formule à la fois simple et riche, et j’ai proposé une discussion et un partage TBI / TNI, un sujet qui m’intéresse particulièrement. Je n’étais pourtant aucunement préparée. J’ai débuté en posant des questions pour qu’on sache en gros le profil des gens présents. Sur la quarantaine de personnes dans le local, seules 4 ou 5 n’avaient pas de tableau interactif dans leur classe. Nous avons donc pu évacuer nos irritants, partager des trucs et se rappeler les forces de ces tableaux : garder des traces, mettre en commun, manipuler, exploiter le côté visuel, favoriser la spontanéité, etc. Les idées sont venues de partout : les mini-profs, les histoires dont vous êtes le héros, les animations et autres ressources trouvées sur Internet, les canevas ouverts, etc.

Dans de nombreux cas, la durée d’une heure des ateliers était bien sûr trop courte tant les échanges étaient riches. C’est cela, la formule edCamp : mettre l’eau à la bouche et donner le goût d’aller plus loin.

Ça vous inspire? Surveillez sur Infobourg l’annonce des prochains edCamps francophones au Canada! Notamment, la date et le lieu d’edCamp Ville de Québec seront annoncés d’ici quelques semaines.

Utilisez aussi le formulaire de commentaires ci-dessous pour partager vos souvenirs d’edCamp Montréal si vous y étiez.

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Audrey Miller est directrice générale et éditrice de L’École branchée. Détenant une formation de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un bacc en communication publique, elle a participé depuis 1998 à la mise sur pied de nombreuses initiatives destinées à stimuler le développement professionnel des enseignants en lien avec le numérique et l’innovation pédagogique, telles EdCamp Québec et les CréaCamps. Elle est vice-présidente de l'AQUOPS, secrétaire du conseil d’administration de l’Association Edteq et membre du comité #Francosphère de l'ACELF.