ADVERTISEMENT

ESTIME project: proud to code to think

Presented at REFER 2019, ESTIME is an initiative to develop pride in creating with technology for all students from Kindergarten to Grade 6.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The Rendez-vous Francophone des Écoles en Réseau is an annual event where the sharing of practices and activities carried out in class is in the spotlight. It is under the theme of the school in play that the 2019 edition of the REFER allowed participants to be inspired to develop their practice.

A project that was presented to all participants of the event is VALUED, an initiative of Christine Jost and the staff of the Paul-Jarry school. It is in order to develop pride in creating with technology that coding has been implemented from kindergarten to grade 6 in this school.  

Why ESTIMATE?

Beyond the term ESTIME hides E for Student, STIM for Science - Technology - Computer Science - Mathematics and E for school. The objective was to deconstruct certain beliefs held in the students. While “girls from age 9 feel much less competent than guys” when it comes to the use of technology, coding was the go-to tool because of its playfulness and popularity with students.

The program

The ESTIME program supports “the school team which is willing to prioritize the learning of computer code by all its students” over a period of 2-3 years with the aim of preparing children for the world of tomorrow.

It is by working in cooperation in the fields of French, mathematics as well as the development of autonomy and the resolution of problems that all the actors of the school team are involved in the ESTIME process. The proposed activities take place over a period of one hour and in three distinct phases: discover, test and integrate. They integrate the use of Beebot, Dash'n'dot and Scratch by following the evolution of the level of the pupils.

The impacts

For the teacher

When implemented as a school approach, for a frequency of three hours per week, the program promotes teacher motivation, sharing between colleagues, the sharing community and the use of daily programming as a teaching tool.

Note that it is essential to respect the rhythm of all the teachers involved.

For the student

Student participation in ESTIME activities promotes motivation, critical thinking about the use of technology, intelligent consumption of digital content as well as learning a new language, creating and solving problems.

Following the first years at Paul-Jarry school, the number of children needing special education support dropped drastically, because the act of correcting one's mistake is very important in coding and in school life.

To date, there are 20 ESTIME accredited schools, representing 6,000 students and 300 teachers. The organization's objective is to accredit a total of 200 schools across Quebec by 2024.

To learn more about the program, visit the website ecolesestime.ca or follow @EcolesEstime on Twitter and Facebook.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Julie R.-Bordeleau
Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Former teacher and mother of a military family of 4 boys, Julie R-Bordeleau is an alternative learning guide and author. She loves discovering new educational and holistic resources and approaches that allow her clients to learn and develop in different ways, depending on their needs. Its website julierbordeleau.com, its newsletter and its services are dedicated to adults who are changing the world in their own way, whether they are parents-educators, parents or professionals.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Projet ESTIME : fier de coder pour penser

Présenté lors du REFER 2019, ESTIME est une initiative pour développer la fierté de créer avec la technologie pour tous les élèves de la maternelle à la 6e année.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le Rendez-vous Francophone des Écoles en Réseau est un événement annuel où le partage de ses pratiques et des activités réalisées en classe est à l’honneur. C’est sous le thème de l’école en jeu(x) que l’édition 2019 du REFER a permis aux participants de s’inspirer pour faire évoluer leur pratique.

Un projet qui a été présenté à tous les participants de l’événement est ESTIME, une initiative de Christine Jost et du personnel de l’école Paul-Jarry. C’est dans le but de développer la fierté de créer avec la technologie que le codage a été implanté de la maternelle à la 6e année dans cette école.  

Pourquoi ESTIME?

Au-delà du terme ESTIME se cache E pour élève, STIM pour Science – Technologie – Informatique – Mathématique et E pour école. L’objectif était de déconstruire certaines croyances ancrées chez les élèves. Alors que « dès 9 ans, les filles se sentent beaucoup moins compétentes que les gars » en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des technologies, le codage était l’outil tout indiqué en raison de son caractère ludique et de sa popularité auprès des élèves.

Le programme

Le programme ESTIME soutient « l’équipe-école qui a la volonté de prioriser l’apprentissage du code informatique par tous ses élèves » sur une période de 2-3 ans dans le but de préparer les enfants au monde de demain.

C’est en travaillant en coopération dans les domaines du français, des mathématiques ainsi que du développement de l’autonomie et de la résolution de problèmes que tous les acteurs de l’équipe-école sont impliqués dans la démarche ESTIME. Les activités proposées se déroulent sur une période d’une heure et selon trois phases distinctes : découvrir, tester et intégrer. Elles intègrent l’utilisation de Beebot, Dash’n’dot et de Scratch en suivant l’évolution du niveau des élèves.

Les impacts

Pour l’enseignant

Lorsqu’implanté comme une démarche d’école, pour une fréquence de trois heures par semaine, le programme favorise la motivation enseignante, le partage entre collègues, la communauté de partage et l’utilisation de la programmation au quotidien comme outil pédagogique.

À noter qu’il est essentiel de respecter le rythme de tous les enseignants impliqués.

Pour l’élève

La participation des élèves aux activités ESTIME favorise la motivation, la pensée critique par rapport à l’utilisation des technologies, la consommation intelligente de contenu numérique ainsi que l’apprentissage d’un nouveau langage, la création et la résolution de problèmes.

Suite aux premières années vécues à l’école Paul-Jarry, le nombre d’enfants ayant besoin de soutien en adaptation scolaire a drastiquement chuté, car l’acte de corriger son erreur est très important en codage et dans la vie scolaire.

À ce jour, il y a 20 écoles accréditées ESTIME, ce qui représente 6000 élèves et 300 enseignants. L’objectif de l’organisme est d’accréditer un total de 200 écoles à l’échelle du Québec d’ici 2024.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le programme, visitez le site web ecolesestime.ca ou suivez @EcolesEstime sur Twitter et Facebook.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Ex-enseignante et maman d'une famille militaire de 4 garçons, Julie R-Bordeleau est accompagnante en apprentissages alternatifs et auteure. Elle adore découvrir de nouvelles ressources et approches pédagogiques et holistiques qui permettent à ses clients d’apprendre et se développer de différentes façons, selon leurs besoins. Son site web julierbordeleau.com, son infolettre et ses services sont dédiés aux adultes qui changent le monde chacun à leur manière, qu’ils soient parents-éducateurs, parents ou professionnels.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct