ADVERTISEMENT

Prevent (+) - Prevention of violence and bullying through the philosophy taught to children

La Traversée (Rive-Sud) Inc., a help center for women and children victims of sexual assault, in partnership with the Commission scolaire Marie-Victorin (CSMV), announces the deployment of its program "Prevention of violence and Philosophy for children ”, through the launch of the Préviens + project.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

LONGUEUIL, QC, Nov. 17, 2014 / CNW Telbec / - La Traversée (Rive-Sud) Inc., help center for women and children victims of sexual assault, in partnership with the Commission scolaire Marie-Victorin (CSMV ), announces the deployment of its program “Violence Prevention and Philosophy for Children”, by launching the Préviens project+ .

Since the implementation of the Program in 2005, more than three hundred teachers in dozens of CSMV schools have been trained. In this way, several thousand students participated, once a week, throughout their elementary school, in the development of questions in a philosophical research community. These communities are lived by reading short novels addressing themes relating to violence, conflict, intimidation, rights and justice.

La Traversée receives ever-increasing requests for an increased implementation of its Program. The Prevent project+ aims to ensure its full development by setting up a range of services extended to CSMV schools, by training multiplier agents, and possibly other school boards. The Traversée and the CSMV thus wish, at the end of the project, Prevent+ in 2017, reach 40 schools and 20,000 students in total.

The work carried out by La Traversée is evident. The “Violence Prevention and Philosophy for Children” program has been presented on the UNESCO stage twice where it has been recognized as an effective means to counter violence and develop a culture of peace. It has received several awards including the annual Desjardins award - “Youth aid” category and the Equality award - “Violence prevention” category, and has been extended to the Czech Republic where the educational material has been translated. Two scientific evaluations were also carried out and obtained very convincing results, one relating to self-esteem and the other to the development of moral reasoning.

Through the two inseparable dimensions of its mission, clinical practice and that of prevention, La Traversée wants to get involved very early on with children. She wants to give them the means to develop a finer awareness of their own intuitions. Thus, by the philosophical approach, violence will give way to understanding and speech.

 

SOURCE MARIE-VICTORIN SCHOOL BOARD

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Préviens(+) – Prévention de la violence et de l’intimidation par la philosophie enseignée aux enfants

La Traversée (Rive-Sud) Inc., centre d'aide aux femmes et aux enfants victimes d'agressions sexuelles, en partenariat avec la Commission scolaire Marie-Victorin (CSMV), annonce le déploiement de son programme « Prévention de la violence et Philosophie pour enfants », par le lancement du projet Préviens+ .

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

LONGUEUIL, QC, le 17 nov. 2014 /CNW Telbec/ – La Traversée (Rive-Sud) Inc., centre d’aide aux femmes et aux enfants victimes d’agressions sexuelles, en partenariat avec la Commission scolaire Marie-Victorin (CSMV), annonce le déploiement de son programme « Prévention de la violence et Philosophie pour enfants », par le lancement du projet Préviens+ .

Depuis l’implantation du Programme en 2005, plus de trois cents enseignants, répartis dans des dizaines d’écoles de la CSMV ont été formés. De cette façon, plusieurs milliers d’élèves ont participé, une fois par semaine, tout au long de leur primaire, à l’élaboration de questions en communauté de recherche philosophique. Ces communautés se vivent à partir de la lecture de courts romans abordant des thèmes relatifs à la violence, au conflit, à l’intimidation, aux droits et à la justice.

La Traversée reçoit des demandes sans cesse grandissantes pour une implantation accrue de son Programme. Le projet Préviens+ vise à en assurer le plein développement par la mise en place d’une offre de services élargie aux écoles de la CSMV, par la formation d’agents multiplicateurs, et éventuellement à d’autres commissions scolaires. La Traversée et la CSMV souhaitent ainsi, au terme du projet Préviens+ en 2017, rejoindre 40 écoles et 20 000 élèves au total.

Les travaux menés par La Traversée sont manifestes. Le programme « Prévention de la violence et Philosophie pour enfants » a été présenté sur la scène de l’UNESCO à deux reprises où il a été reconnu comme moyen efficace pour contrer la violence et développer une culture de paix. Il a reçu plusieurs prix notamment le prix annuel Desjardins – Catégorie « Aide à la jeunesse » et le prix Égalité – Catégorie « Prévention de la violence » et s’est étendu jusqu’en République Tchèque où le matériel pédagogique a été traduit. Deux évaluations scientifiques ont de plus été réalisées et ont obtenu des résultats très probants, l’une portant sur l’estime de soi et l’autre sur le développement du raisonnement moral.

Par les deux dimensions indissociables de sa mission, la pratique clinique et celle de la prévention, La Traversée veut s’investir très tôt auprès des enfants. Elle souhaite leur donner les moyens de développer une conscience plus fine de leurs propres intuitions. Ainsi, par l’approche philosophique, la violence cédera la place à la compréhension et à la parole.

 

SOURCE COMMISSION SCOLAIRE MARIE-VICTORIN

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :