ADVERTISEMENT

#ONecoute consults with Ontario high school students on school mental health

School Mental Health Ontario invites high school students in Ontario to express their views, help improve student participation in school mental health programs, and help develop a provincial engagement strategy of young people in mental health.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

HAMILTON, ON, May 28, 2019 / CNW / - School Mental Health Ontario - School Mental Health Ontario invites high school students in Ontario to express their views, help improve student participation in school-based mental health programs, and help develop a provincial youth mental health engagement strategy.

Through an online questionnaire and discussion forums, Anglophone and Francophone students will have a say in the development of awareness and promotion of mental health wellness initiatives in the Ontario public school network. .

As noted by Dr. Kathy Short, Executive Director of School Mental Health Ontario, “School is a great place to promote youth mental health, develop knowledge about socio-emotional skills, identify students with mental health issues and offer them early support. Students say they have something to say about what is going on in schools. This is what is new to #ONhelp: we will teach high school students directly what they want to know about mental health, how they prefer to get this information and how they want to participate in mental health initiatives. These contributions can go a long way to help us and all Ontario school districts better promote student mental health. "

The #ONecoute project will be led by Know to act and all project protocols have been approved by the Dalhousie University Research Ethics Board, which will allow the results to be compiled and shared widely.

The project is supported by Ontario Student Counselors Association (OSTA-AECO). As Joel Ndongmi, OSTA-AECO points out, “Young people want to know more about mental health and mental illness. They want to learn how to cope with stress, how to recognize when things go wrong, for themselves or their friends. They want to know how they can help and they want to get involved. #Listening is really important, we can make an impact in this work. We invite all Ontario high school students to express their views. "

As Short points out, “There are many products, speakers and resources designed to promote school mental health, but not all of these resources are evidence-based, not all created in collaboration with young people and compatible with the systematic work already done in Ontario school districts. School Mental Health Ontario is committed to using resources that are not only evidence-based and designed for practice, but also youth-focused. #ONecoute will help us make the voice of young people heard in the process of designing and selecting initiatives and resources for the promotion and support of mental health over the coming years. "

"Our partners involved in this initiative, and across the province, are essential to the success of #ONecoute", adds Short. “Mental health teams from school boards, mental health organizations serving children and youth, and other education and health stakeholders understand the importance of promoting mental health by school. They recognize the need to include the perspective of young people to inform and complement evidence-based mental health promotion initiatives. "

#ONecoute includes an online questionnaire and regional forums. Groups active in mental health are also invited to submit their own ideas directly to SMHO-SMSO. To learn more, it's here.

Online questionnaire #ONecoute

The online questionnaire will be available from June 3 to July 12. This questionnaire will focus on the needs and preferences of young people in terms of knowledge related to mental health. The questionnaire will be accessible on the page https://www.wisdom2action.org/fr/onecoute/

Regional forums #ONecoute

Regional forums will give students the opportunity to share their thoughts and ideas on mental health promotion and student involvement in these initiatives in Ontario high schools. The forums will be held in Ottawa, Thunder Bay, London and Toronto. Mental health support will be offered at all forums.

  • Thunder Bay - Saturday June 1, 2019
  • London - Saturday June 1, 2019
  • Toronto - Saturday June 8, 2019
  • Ottawa - Saturday June 15, 2019

Those interested can follow the discussion on Twitter: #ONecoute @SMHO_SMSO.

School mental health Ontario works with Ontario school districts to promote school mental health.

Know to act is a national social enterprise dedicated to youth engagement, knowledge mobilization and research.

OSTA-AECO is Ontario's largest organization serving young people in schools; it represents approximately two million students attending public and Catholic schools in Ontario. The association also provides world-class vocational training services to school counselors across the province.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

#ONecoute consulte les élèves ontariens du secondaire sur la santé mentale en milieu scolaire

#ONecoute (Groupe CNW/Santé mentale en milieu scolaire Ontario)

HAMILTON, ON, le 28 mai 2019 /CNW/ – School Mental Health Ontario – Santé mentale en milieu scolaire Ontario invite les élèves ontariens du secondaire à exprimer leurs points de vue, contribuer à l’amélioration de la participation étudiante aux programmes de santé mentale en milieu scolaire et contribuer à l’élaboration d’une stratégie provinciale d’engagement des jeunes en santé mentale.

Par l’entremise d’un questionnaire en ligne et de forums de discussion, les élèves anglophones et francophones auront leur mot à dire dans le développement d’initiatives de sensibilisation et de promotion du mieux-être en santé mentale dans le réseau scolaire public ontarien.

Comme le fait remarquer la Dre Kathy Short, directrice générale de Santé mentale en milieu scolaire Ontario, « l’école est un très bon endroit pour faire la promotion de la santé mentale chez les jeunes, développer des connaissances concernant les compétences socio-émotionnelles, repérer les élèves aux prises avec un problème de santé mentale et leur offrir un soutien précoce. Les élèves affirment avoir quelque chose à dire au sujet de ce qui se passe dans les écoles. C’est ce qui fait la nouveauté de #ONecoute : nous apprendrons directement des élèves du secondaire ce qu’ils désirent savoir au sujet de la santé mentale, comment ils préfèrent obtenir cette information et comment ils souhaitent participer à des initiatives en santé mentale. Ces contributions peuvent nous aider grandement, nous et tous les districts scolaires ontariens, à mieux promouvoir la santé mentale des élèves. »

Le projet #ONecoute sera piloté par Savoir pour agir et tous les protocoles de projet ont été approuvés par le comité d’éthique pour la recherche de l’Université Dalhousie, ce qui permettra de compiler les résultats et de les partager à grande échelle.

Le projet est soutenu par l’Association des élèves conseillers/ères de l’Ontario (OSTA-AECO). Comme le souligne Joel Ndongmi, OSTA-AECO, « Les jeunes veulent en savoir plus sur la santé mentale et la maladie mentale. Ils veulent apprendre comment composer avec le stress, comment reconnaître les moments où les choses partent à la dérive, pour eux-mêmes ou leurs amis. Ils veulent savoir comment ils peuvent aider et ils veulent s’impliquer. #ONecoute est vraiment important, nous pouvons avoir un impact dans ce travail. Nous invitons tous les élèves ontariens du secondaire à exprimer leur point de vue. »

Comme le souligne Short, « les produits, les conférenciers et les ressources conçues pour promouvoir la santé mentale en milieu scolaire sont nombreux, mais ces ressources ne s’appuient pas toutes sur des données probantes, elles ne sont pas toutes créées en collaboration avec les jeunes et compatibles avec le travail systématique déjà réalisé dans les districts scolaires ontariens. Santé mentale en milieu scolaire Ontario s’engage à utiliser des ressources qui sont non seulement fondées sur les données probantes et conçues pour la pratique, mais également axées sur les jeunes. #ONecoute nous aidera à faire entendre la voix des jeunes dans le processus de conception et de sélection des initiatives et ressources pour la promotion et le soutien de la santé mentale au cours des prochaines années. »

« Nos partenaires impliqués dans cette initiative, et dans l’ensemble de la province, sont essentiels au succès de #ONecoute », ajoute Short. « Les équipes affectées à la santé mentale par les conseils scolaires, les organismes de santé mentale au service des enfants et des jeunes, et les autres intervenants des secteurs de l’éducation et de la santé comprennent l’importance de promouvoir la santé mentale en milieu scolaire. Ils reconnaissent la nécessité d’inclure le point de vue des jeunes pour informer et compléter les initiatives de promotion de la santé mentale fondées sur les données probantes. »

#ONecoute comprend un questionnaire en ligne et des forums régionaux. Les groupes actifs en santé mentale sont également invités à proposer leurs propres idées directement à SMHO-SMSO. Pour en savoir plus, c’est par ici.

Questionnaire en ligne #ONecoute

Le questionnaire en ligne sera accessible du 3 juin au 12 juillet. Ce questionnaire portera sur les besoins et les préférences des jeunes en matière de connaissances liées à la santé mentale. Le questionnaire sera accessible à la page https://www.wisdom2action.org/fr/onecoute/

Forums régionaux #ONecoute

Des forums régionaux donneront la chance aux élèves de partager leur réflexion et leurs idées sur la promotion de la santé mentale et la participation étudiante à ces initiatives dans les écoles secondaires ontariennes. Les forums se tiendront à Ottawa, Thunder Bay, London et Toronto. De l’accompagnement en santé mentale sera offert à tous les forums.

  • Thunder Bay — samedi 1 juin 2019
  • London — samedi 1 juin 2019
  • Toronto — samedi 8 juin 2019
  • Ottawa — samedi 15 Juin 2019

Les personnes intéressées pourront suivre la discussion sur Twitter : #ONecoute @SMHO_SMSO.

Santé mentale en milieu scolaire Ontario collabore avec les districts scolaires ontariens pour promouvoir la santé mentale en milieu scolaire.

Savoir pour agir est une entreprise sociale nationale qui se consacre à l’engagement des jeunes, la mobilisation de connaissances et la recherche.

OSTA-AECO est le plus important organisme ontarien au service des jeunes en milieu scolaire; il représente approximativement deux millions d’élèves fréquentant les écoles publiques et catholiques de l’Ontario. L’association offre aussi des services de formation professionnelle de niveau international aux conseillers scolaires dans l’ensemble de la province.