ADVERTISEMENT

Me, my shoes... from Collège Sainte-Anne to the planet

SCOLOCO, Quebec's first brand of mismatched apple leather sneakers, continues its momentum. The entrepreneurial project is a source of pride for the students involved. Meet three representatives.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

SCOLOCO, Quebec's first brand of mismatched apple leather sneakers, continues its momentum. The entrepreneurial project is a source of pride for the students involved. Meet three representatives.

A little over a year ago, École branchée and EngagED Learning was interested in the entrepreneurial educational project SCOLOCOwithin the Sainte-Anne College (CSA), in the Montreal area. Since then, the creation of sneakers and their commercialization have been going well, to the point that a second collection is being launched this month, mainly sold online and still mainly made of apple leather, a material made from recycled apple peels and polyurethane.

Marilou Bourassa, teacher and project coordinator of the Sainte-Anne and Entrepreneurship Program, is very proud of her students. She explains that, since 2021, three models are in circulation. Three other models were released on March 25.

Approximately 100 students in Secondary IV and V are involved in the program, which focuses not only on the various aspects or departments leading to the commercialization of a product (design, innovation, marketing, communication, etc.), but also on the ecological issue of a product that is as vegan as possible.

After the first collection was plagued by a few problems (a first manufacturer's scam and COVID-19), the second collection is shaping up to be just as beautiful as the first, thanks to the links established with a trustworthy manufacturer in Portugal, the support of SCOLOCO's shareholder, Brigitte Dionne, a former teacher at the CSA, but also, of course, because of the students' tenacity and enthusiasm.

Comms to the front!

For the purposes of the interview, they were three representatives of the communications department: Tomi Leduc-Nguyen, Razvan Muset and Félix Rolland-Turmel. At 16 years old, they are obviously thrilled to be part of the SCOLOCO experience, happy to see that the project allows them to make decisions, even though they are accountable not only to their teacher, Ms. Bourassa, but also to the owner of SCOLOCO, Ms. Dionne. She has veto power over certain decisions. "After all, we're only 16 years old," says Felix.

The school project is designed so that students have the opportunity to change departments along the way. But the three musketeers decided to stay in communications. Social media, press releases, interviews with journalists, everything goes through their department. When it comes to cross-curricular skills, SCOLOCO is a great answer.

Tomi explains that communications, like other departments, must meet deadlines based on the various projects that are part of the development process for the famous "sneakers".

Excited about the launch of the next collection, one of Razvan's goals would be "to get out on the street and know that people recognize our SCOLOCO shoes!"

But beyond the objectives of each, a link unites them all: the pride of participating in an entrepreneurial project that has the environment at heart. "Everything we do, we do for the planet," says Tomi Leduc-Nguyen, "because the fashion industry is still the second most polluting industry."

On the main picture: From left to right. Tomi Leduc-Nguyen, Razvan Muset and Félix Rolland-Turmel proudly pose with different models of SCOLOCO shoes.

Credit: courtesy of Marilou Bourassa, teacher at Collège Sainte-Anne.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Moi, mes souliers… du Collège Sainte-Anne vers la planète

SCOLOCO, la première marque québécoise de baskets dépareillés en cuir de pomme, continue sur sa lancée. Le projet entrepreneurial suscite beaucoup de fierté de la part des élèves qui y prennent part. Rencontre avec trois représentants.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

SCOLOCO, la première marque québécoise de baskets dépareillés en cuir de pomme, continue sur sa lancée. Le projet entrepreneurial suscite beaucoup de fierté de la part des élèves qui y prennent part. Rencontre avec trois représentants.

Il y a un peu plus d’un an, L’École branchée s’était intéressée au projet pédagogique entrepreneurial SCOLOCO, au sein du Collège Sainte-Anne (CSA), dans la région de Montréal. Depuis, la création de « sneakers » et leur commercialisation vont bon train, au point qu’une deuxième collection voit le jour ce mois-ci, principalement vendue en ligne et toujours principalement conçue en cuir de pomme, un matériau constitué à partir de pelures de pommes recyclées et de polyuréthane.

L’enseignante et coordonnatrice du projet du Programme Sainte-Anne et Entrepreneuriat, Marilou Bourassa, n’est pas peu fière de ses élèves. Elle explique que, depuis 2021, trois modèles sont en circulation. Trois autres modèles sont sortis sur le marché le 25 mars.

Une centaine d’élèves de secondaire IV et V sont engagés dans le programme, qui met de l’avant non seulement les divers aspects ou départements menant à la commercialisation d’un produit (design, innovation, marketing, communication, etc.), mais également la question écologique d’un produit qui se veut le plus possible végan.

Après les quelques embûches qui ont parsemé la première collection (arnaque d’un premier fabricant et COVID-19), la deuxième collection s’annonce tout aussi belle que la première grâce aux liens tissés avec un manufacturier digne de confiance au Portugal, au soutien de l’actionnaire de SCOLOCO, Brigitte Dionne, ex-enseignante au CSA, mais aussi, bien sûr, en raison de la ténacité et de l’enthousiasme des élèves.

Les « comms » au front!

Pour les besoins de l’entrevue, ils étaient trois représentants du département des communications : Tomi Leduc-Nguyen, Razvan Muset et Félix Rolland-Turmel. À 16 ans, ils sont évidemment ravis de participer à l’expérience SCOLOCO, contents de voir que le projet leur permet de prendre des décisions, et ce même s’ils doivent rendre des comptes non seulement à leur enseignante, Mme Bourassa, mais également à la propriétaire de SCOLOCO, Mme Dionne. Celle-ci possède un droit de véto par rapport à certaines décisions. « Après tout, on a juste 16 ans », confie Félix.

Le projet scolaire est conçu de telle sorte que les élèves ont la possibilité de changer de département en cours de route. Mais les trois mousquetaires ont décidé de rester aux communications. Les médias sociaux, les communiqués, les entrevues données aux journalistes, tout y passe dans leur département. En matière de compétences transversales sur le plan pédagogique, SCOLOCO y répond grandement.

Tomi explique que les communications, tout comme les autres départements, doivent respecter des dates d’échéance en fonction de divers chantiers parsemant le processus d’élaboration des fameux « sneakers ».

Excité face au lancement de la prochaine collection, l’un des objectifs visés par Razvan serait « d’aller dans la rue et de savoir que les gens reconnaissent nos souliers SCOLOCO! »

Mais au-delà des objectifs de chacun, un lien les unit tous : la fierté de participer à un projet entrepreneurial qui a à cœur l’environnement. « Tout ce qu’on fait, on le fait pour la planète, dira Tomi Leduc-Nguyen, car l’industrie de la mode est quand même la deuxième industrie la plus polluante. »

Sur la photo principale : De gauche à droite. Tomi Leduc-Nguyen, Razvan Muset et Félix Rolland-Turmel posent fièrement avec différents modèles de chaussures SCOLOCO.

Crédit : gracieuseté de Marilou Bourassa, enseignante au Collège Sainte-Anne.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :