Posted in:

My three digital wishes for the next school year

Our favorite Belgian collaborator tells us about his three wishes for teachers and education once the pandemic is over.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:

🚀
Add to favorites (0)

Despite the difficult school year, I prefer to see the pandemic as an opportunity (admittedly forced) to evolve positively in our practices and to acquire new teaching skills for the future. 

Although it is premature to consider the end of distancing, here are my digital wishes for a successful new educational year. They are obviously not exhaustive, we all want, for example, that the fight against Numeric fraction continues to be an important point in 2021. 

1. Remediation, differentiation and overcoming

Dear colleagues, my first wish would be that teachers who will return to face-to-face (as soon as possible) do not completely abandon digital platforms. The urgent need for distance learning has enabled many teachers to open up to a world of possibilities.

I agree that there is nothing better than a face-to-face course. However, the use of these new tools and platforms will be very useful in various situations, in particular to provide individualized assistance to the student. Some advice and tips from teachers will, at the same time, limit remote stall.

The use of digital technology allows many interesting alternatives when it is impossible for the teacher to provide personalized help in the classroom. In the same vein, a student who wants to go further could also find new possibilities to surpass himself in learning. 

Here are some things that I consider important to keep.

  • Online exercises targeting specific difficulties and needs.
  • Videos adapted to prepare for the evaluation.
  • Overtaking tasks for the fastest students.
  • An online collaboration space to facilitate secure contact between students.
  • Facilitating parent-teacher communication.

2. Take out of the fridge some applications and methodologies 

My second wish would be that we again take advantage of certain applications and methodologies, the use of which with distance was made complicated, if not impossible.

Unfortunately, many ideas and desires had to be revised and adapted to the situation of the distance. The big loser of this situation, among others: virtual reality, the context being unfavorable for use with students because of the sanitary conditions to be followed.

Likewise, some augmented reality applications such as Minecraft earth were used less. Moreover, the latter will unfortunately have to put the key under the door according to the latest news. Yet it could be wonderfully diverted for educational purposes, such as my colleague Gael Gilson had done with Pokémon Go in his French class

Going back to face-to-face will allow us to consider again these innovative practices, which in my opinion brought real added value in student learning. 

3. Give yourself time to discover

Dear colleagues, I hope that we will finally take the time to discover and experiment with innovative applications and devices out of desire with the students, and not out of urgency.

Motivation in the school context also applies to the teacher vis-à-vis his own practices. Digital experimentation has given way to the need to use remote platforms. Although distance education is an experiment in itself, many teachers want “something else”. I therefore wish all of us to have the time to (re) discover certain aspects of our pedagogy.

"Giving yourself time" is also an important aspect of CréaCamps École branchée, places are still available for February 19 and March 8.

And you, what would be your different educational and digital wishes? In any case, I wish you all, from Belgium, a happy new year 2021. Take good care of yourself and your loved ones. 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale is a secondary school human sciences teacher in Belgium and a digital-supported pedagogy trainer. He describes his pedagogy as being deeply positivist, human and innovative. Her first four years in special education forced her to show creativity and benevolence in her practices, in order to make students want to learn, despite their difficulties. He also helps his colleagues on a daily basis to develop their practices. This is what pushed him since September 2018 to open a Facebook page dedicated to Ed.Tech, where he publishes new tools to use, daily advice, and examples of innovative activities.

Classé dans :

Mes trois souhaits numériques pour la prochaine année scolaire

Notre collaborateur belge préféré nous fait part de ses trois souhaits pour les enseignants et l'éducation une fois la pandémie terminée.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Malgré l’année scolaire difficile, je préfère envisager la pandémie comme une occasion (certes forcée) d’évoluer positivement dans nos pratiques et d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences pédagogiques pour le futur. 

Bien qu’il soit prématuré d’envisager la fin du distanciel, voici mes souhaits numériques pour une nouvelle année pédagogique réussie. Il sont évidemment non exhaustifs, nous voulons tous par exemple que la lutte contre la fracture numérique continue à être un point important en 2021. 

1. Remédiation, différenciation et dépassement

Chers collègues, mon premier souhait serait que les enseignants qui repasseront (le plus vite possible j’espère) en présentiel n’abandonnent pas totalement les plateformes numériques. L’urgence du passage à distance aura permis à de nombreux enseignants de s’ouvrir à un monde de possibilités.

Je suis d’accord sur le fait qu’il n’y a rien de mieux qu’un cours en présentiel. Cependant, l’usage de ces nouveaux outils et plateformes sera très utile dans diverses situations, notamment pour assurer une aide individualisée à l’élève. Certains conseils et astuces d’enseignants permettront, par la même occasion, de limiter le décrochage à distance.

L’usage du numérique permet de nombreuses alternatives intéressantes lorsqu’il est impossible pour l’enseignant d’assurer une aide personnalisée en classe. Dans la même optique, un élève ayant envie d’aller plus loin pourrait également trouver des nouvelles possibilités pour se dépasser dans les apprentissages. 

Voici des éléments que je considère important de conserver.

  • Des exercices en ligne ciblant des difficultés et besoins spécifiques.
  • Des vidéos adaptées pour préparer l’évaluation.
  • Des tâches de dépassement pour les élèves les plus rapides.
  • Un espace de collaboration en ligne pour faciliter la mise en contact sécurisée des élèves.
  • La facilitation de la communication parents-enseignants.

2. Sortir du frigo certaines applications et méthodologies 

Mon second souhait, serait que nous profitions à nouveau de certaines applications et méthodologies, dont l’utilisation avec le distanciel était rendu compliquée, voire impossible.

De nombreuses idées et envies ont dû malheureusement être revues et adaptées à la situation du distanciel. Grande perdante de cette situation entre autres : la réalité virtuelle, le contexte étant peu favorable à une utilisation avec les élèves à cause des conditions sanitaires à suivre.

De la même manière, certaines applications de réalité augmentée telles que Minecraft Earth furent moins utilisées. D’ailleurs, cette dernière va malheureusement devoir mettre la clé sous la porte selon les dernières nouvelles. Elle pouvait pourtant être détournée merveilleusement dans un but pédagogique, tel que mon collègue Gaël Gilson l’avait fait avec Pokémon Go dans son cours de français

Revenir au présentiel nous permettra d’envisager de nouveau ces pratiques innovantes, qui apportaient selon moi une réelle valeur ajoutée dans l’apprentissage des élèves. 

3. Se laisser le temps de découvrir

Chers collègues, je nous souhaite enfin de reprendre le temps de découvrir et d’expérimenter des applications et dispositifs innovants par envie avec les élèves, et non par nécessité d’urgence.

La motivation en contexte scolaire s’applique aussi pour l’enseignant vis-à-vis ses propres pratiques. L’expérimentation du numérique a laissé la place à la nécessité d’utiliser les plateformes à distance. Bien que l’enseignement à distance est une expérimentation en soi, nombreux sont les enseignants à désirer « autre chose ». Je nous souhaite donc à tous, d’avoir le temps de (re)découvrir certains aspects de notre pédagogie.

« Se laisser le temps » est d’ailleurs un aspect important des CréaCamps de l’École branchée, des places sont toujours disponibles pour le 19 février et le 8 mars prochain.

Et vous, quels seraient vos différents souhaits pédagogiques et numériques? Dans tous les cas, je vous souhaite à tous, depuis la Belgique, une excellente année 2021. Prenez bien soin de vous et de vos proches. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!



À propos de l'auteur

Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale
Laurent Di Pasquale est professeur de sciences humaines au secondaire en Belgique et formateur en pédagogie appuyée par le numérique. Il décrit sa pédagogie comme étant profondément positiviste, humaine et innovante. Ses quatre premières années dans l’enseignement spécialisé l’ont obligées à faire preuve de créativité et de bienveillance dans ses pratiques, afin de donner envie aux élèves d’apprendre et ce malgré leurs difficultés. Il aide aussi quotidiennement ses collègues à faire évoluer leurs pratiques. C’est cela qui l’a poussé depuis septembre 2018 à ouvrir une page Facebook dédiée à l’Ed.Tech, où il publie des nouveaux outils à utiliser, des conseils quotidiens, et des exemples d’activités innovantes.