My discovery of CréaCamps

When I arrived at CréaCamp in Lévis, I had no specific expectations. I knew that the topics covered touched on technologies, that there were several players in the education sector to support us, but nothing more. I was charmed as soon as I set foot in the training room.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

When I arrived at CréaCamp in Lévis a month ago, I had no specific expectations. I was curious and excited to take a new course without really knowing what I was getting into. I knew that the topics covered touched on technologies, that there were several players in the education sector to support us, but nothing more. I was charmed as soon as I set foot in the training room.

First of all, the team is overflowing with energy. This is what struck me the most when I arrived. It is contagious and we can not help but get into the same state of mind. We are then introduced to the facilitators for the various workshops offered. It is in the form of “speed-dating” that everything takes place. We must then choose, according to our interests, in which activity we will spend the day. Already there I was conquered: a training where I decide the subject, wow!

Once in a small group, this is where the magic happens. We are a small community of educators, coming from different backgrounds, dealing with a new, interesting subject and all having the same goal: to develop and deepen our reflection. The facilitator is there to give us the tools and we are the builders. Concretely, it is easy to apply the principles, methods or elements to our teaching: the outcome of our meeting is to construct or visualize how to do it.  

For my part, I had chosen a workshop dealing with algorithms and the effect they can have on our consumption and on our consultation of social networks. Everything was approached in connection with ethics, but I transposed my learning and my discussions in a writing activity in French. In fact, I suggest that the students write an adventure story that features a teenager victim of what algorithms can do to our habits. The aim of the writing will be to put the students' stories on an application, to create QR codes and to raise awareness in the school. 

In short, the CréaCamp is a place to meet, develop, reflect and have fun. You must have this experience at least once in your life!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Ma découverte des CréaCamps

En arrivant au CréaCamp de Lévis il y a un mois déjà, je n’avais aucune attente précise. J’étais curieuse et emballée de suivre une nouvelle formation sans trop savoir dans quoi j’embarquais. Je savais que les sujets abordés touchaient aux technologies, qu’il y avait plusieurs acteurs du milieu de l’éducation pour nous accompagner, mais sans plus. J’ai été charmée dès que j’ai mis les pieds dans le local de formation.

Tout d’abord, l’équipe DÉBORDE d’énergie. C’est ce qui m’a le plus frappée en arrivant. C’est contagieux et on ne peut faire autrement que d’entrer dans le même état d’esprit. On nous présente alors les facilitateurs pour les différents ateliers offerts. C’est sous forme de “speed-dating” que le tout se déroule. On doit ensuite choisir, selon nos intérêts, dans quelle activité nous passerons la journée. Déjà là j’étais conquise : une formation où JE décide du sujet, wow!

Une fois en petit groupe, c’est là que la magie opère. Nous sommes une petite communauté de pédagogues, issus de milieux différents, traitant d’un sujet nouveau, intéressant et ayant tous le même but : développer et approfondir notre réflexion. Le facilitateur est là pour nous donner les outils et nous sommes les bâtisseurs. Concrètement, c’est facile d’appliquer les principes, méthodes ou éléments à notre enseignement : l’issue de notre rencontre est de construire ou de visualiser comment le faire.  

Pour ma part, j’avais choisi un atelier traitant des algorithmes et de l’effet qu’ils peuvent avoir sur notre consommation et sur notre consultation des réseaux sociaux. Le tout était abordé en lien avec l’éthique, mais j’ai transposé mes apprentissages et mes discussions dans une activité d’écriture en français. En fait, je propose aux élèves d’écrire un récit d’aventures qui met en vedette un adolescent victime de ce que peuvent causer les algorithmes sur nos habitudes. Le but de l’écriture sera de mettre sur une application les récits des élèves, de créer des codes QR et de faire de la sensibilisation à l’école. 

En bref, le CréaCamp est un lieu de rencontres, de développement, de réflexion et de plaisir. Vous devez vivre cette expérience au moins une fois dans votre vie!


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.