ADVERTISEMENT

The #Édubrèves - November 22, 2022 edition

Here are your #Edubrèves. In this edition: celebrating French teachers, free Computer Week workshops, podcast suggestions, a report on equity in British Columbia, the aftermath of Project Wow, what if screen time was socializing, and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Here are your #Ébrèves. Feel free to share them or write me if you have news to share.

In this issue: celebrating French teachers, free Computer Week workshops, podcast suggestions, a report on equity in BC, the aftermath of Project Wow, and if screen time could be socialized, and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this news digest is for entertainment purposes only.


Celebrating Teachers of French

The Centre de la francophonie des Amériques presents free activities on November 24, 2022 as part of the International Day of Teachers of French. On the menu, a conference by Dany Laferrière and two workshops presented by Tina Charlebois (Ontario, Canada) and Marc Beaudet (Quebec, Canada). There is still time to register.

In addition, the Centre presented 20 writing workshops of poetry and slam on the occasion of the National French Week, organized by theAmerican Association of Teachers of French (AATF) from November 3 to 9, 2022. This week is an opportunity to remember and celebrate the presence of French in the United States. From 17 states and territories, 365 students participated in these online and live workshops with one of four artists from Quebec and Ontario; D-Track, Amélie Prévost, Mathieu Lippé and Yao.


And teachers of English as a second language

On the occasion of the 50th Congress of Teachers of English as a Second Language (SPEAQ), which was held last week in Levis, teachers were honoured.

Congratulations to :

  • Christine Hosni (Intensive ESL teacher at Miles Islands School Service Center) for the Teacher of Merit Award,
  • Dianne Elizabeth Stankiewicz (Pegagogical Consultant at RÉCIT National Service, Language Area) for the Keith Boeckner Award,
  • Stéphane Lacroix and Thierry Price (Professors at the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue) for the Board of Directors Award.

Free workshops as part of Computer Week 2022

As part of Computer Week (Computer Science Education Week), the École branchée team will offer a series of free training activities focused on teaching programming, both in-person and virtual, on December 5, 6 and 7. View the schedule and registration links


Suggestions for podcasts to listen to

Several podcasts have caught our attention in the last few weeks. Here is a selection: 

When digital technology takes over the school (the notification): One theme and 3 points of view.

Engagement at the heart of digital literacy (The Pedagogical Engineers) : How do we engage our students in French online?

With Isabelle Hudon (Let's Dare to Continue): An episode on female leadership.

Pedagogical leadership (My #DPcontinued with CADRE21): Shared leadership in school settings and the challenges of digital integration.

Get to work! (Professional Development Service of Laval University): To break down myths and answer questions and concerns related to the job market.


Ditch that TextBook Summit

The traditionalDitch That Textbook Digital Summit by our contributor Matt Miller is back for the holiday season. From December 12, 2022 to January 6, 2023, participants have access to a host of links, activities and lectures for free online. A great way to get inspired. And we're announcing some interesting surprises for this year's edition.


Education Professionals Week

Education Professionals Week is November 21-25. Its theme this year is: "For the student to take off, professional staff is essential.

Professionals provide assistance to students, pedagogical or administrative support.

Let's take this week to show them some appreciation.


Youth Opportunities launches its sponsorship campaign 

Youth Perspectives launched the 3rd edition of its sponsorship campaign, presented this year by Desjardins. The goal of this sponsorship campaign is to raise 20,000 $ by December 4, 2022 to support young people experiencing difficulties. To achieve this goal, the organization that fights against dropping out of school in Montreal invites the population and businesses to donate on its socio-financing platform "I encourage perseverance". Since the beginning of the school year, 139 young people have received individual support at the 14 Youth Perspectives service points. 

Every donation counts! Participate in the Youth Perspectives 2022 sponsorship campaign presented by Desjardins and encourage young people in difficulty in their efforts to stay in school. (CNW Group/Youth Perspectives)

Screen time or disconnection. What is the problem?

Many parents believe their teens spend far too much time on smartphones, video games and social media. Contrary to these beliefs, researchers at Michigan State University have concluded that screen time is not cause for alarm. Rather, these researchers are concerned about teens who are not connected due to the fact that they have limited access to the Internet.

Learn more about the research.


Frontier College announces new name: Literacy Together

Frontier College, a Canada-wide literacy charity, announced last week that it was changing its name to Literacy Together. This change introduces the next chapter of the organization's desire to provide access to literacy and numeracy learning for people of all ages and from all social and geographic backgrounds.

In Canada, it is estimated that more than one million children, or about one in eight, have reading skills below the level expected for their age. Research also shows that children from low socioeconomic communities are almost twice as likely to be behind in their skill development.


Equity Report of the Conseil scolaire francophone de la Colombie-Britannique

The Anti-Racism Working Group (ARWG) of the Conseil scolaire francophone (CSF) of British Columbia has just published its first report. Since September 2020, the GTAR, in close collaboration with its partners, has contributed to the advancement of a more equitable and anti-racist French school board. One of the important recommendations of the report was the addition of a CSF Anti-Racism Day, the first edition of which was held on November 14, 2022. This mandatory work day on the topic of anti-racism is an important achievement for equity at the CSF.


The next Midi-inspirant of the Edteq Association

On a regular basis, the Edteq Association invites people interested in digital issues in schools to attend lunchtime conferences. The next two will take place : 

It is possible to watch all the Midis inspirant in replay, from the Youtube channel from the Association.


The aftermath of the WOW Project

We have already told you about of the Wow Project, which aimed to bring together adult general education (AGE) stakeholders to discover digital tools and share learning. The project continues and, since last September, the various interprofessional teams of the centers involved in the WOW project are working to develop a class portrait tool. The elements of the class portrait are determined based on the 4 types of student portraits (personal, professional, technological and academic). The needs that emerge will become the source of effective interventions for the targeted students.  

For more information, consult the WOW Project website.   

To learn more about the portraits, visit the tutoring website or the exploration tool.  


Launch of the Canadian Global Citizenship Fund

EF Cultural Travel (EF), a leader in the educational travel industry, announced last week the launch of the Canadian Global Citizenship Fund and a $1 million investment to make educational travel more accessible to students across Canada. 

Beginning this school year 2022-2023, and lasting for 4 years, the fund will support 500 students across the country in need of financial support who have identified learning through travel as a priority. The fund will cover the majority of the students' travel costs, allowing them to experience the impact of educational travel on their lives.


AQUOPS is recruiting for: Workshop and Registration Manager

The Association Québécoise des Utilisateurs d'Outils technologiques à des fins Pédagogiques et Sociales (AQUOPS) is looking for a responsible for workshops and registrations


The Impact of a Preparation Sequence for Students with Math LD: An Example on Volume and Spatial Sense

Problem solving is central to the curriculum in many countries. However, it has been found that it poses many challenges for students, especially those with learning difficulties. The authors, Mireille Saboya, Alexandre Ducharme-Rivard, Annie Beauchamp and Lou-Anne Denis-Masson, share their method to pursue the objective of accompanying students with learning difficulties in problem solving in the hope of reducing their anxiety and developing their problem solving skills, under the expression of a reflective commitment.

Read more about it. 


Dyslexia - The Sondo directory is exported abroad

The Sondo directorywhich allows dyslexic people to learn to read in French, is now available in Italian, Spanish, English and Amerindian languages. Experiments are underway in high schools in Rome and Madrid, and the publisher Mobidys has just set up in Montreal in order to distribute it and expand the catalog.

It is estimated that 6 to 8 % of the population is affected by dyslexia or DYS disorders. In addition, 15 to 20% of students have difficulty with reading when they enter sixth grade.

Sondo's books are available in FROG (FRee for cOGnition) format, which means they are enhanced with a full toolbox of reading aids to help people with learning disabilities (e.g., change font, syllable highlighting, audio support, definitions).


The unconference event playbook will be available soon.

Last spring, some unconference events (edcamp style) on facilitating learning in makerspaces, Fab Labs and creative labs were held as a collaboration between Concordia University's Innovation Lab, the Musée de la civilisation and the Institute Milieux pour l'art, la culture et la technologie. Themes included equity, diversity and inclusion, the maker movement in educational settings and maker kits. 

The official book summarizing the exchanges and the main findings will soon be available. Already, the bilingual podcasts products in advance of the project are still available on the website. Stay tuned, a playbook launch event will be announced soon and we will give you access to it as well.


In closing, the good news of the week.


If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 22 novembre 2022

Voici vos #Édubrèves. Dans cette édition : célébrons les professeurs de français, des ateliers gratuits pour la Semaine de l'informatique, des suggestions de balado à écouter, un rapport sur l'équité en Colombie-Britannique, les suites du Projet Wow, et si le temps passé devant l'écran permettait de socialiser, et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Voici vos #Édubrèves. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : célébrons les professeurs de français, des ateliers gratuits pour la Semaine de l’informatique, des suggestions de balado à écouter, un rapport sur l’équité en Colombie-Britannique, les suites du Projet Wow, et si le temps passé devant l’écran permettait de socialiser, et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement.


Célébrons les professeurs de français

Le Centre de la francophonie des Amériques présente des activités gratuites le 24 novembre 2022 dans le cadre de la Journée internationale des professeurs de français. Au menu, une conférence de Dany Laferrière ainsi que deux ateliers présentés par Tina Charlebois (Ontario, Canada) et Marc Beaudet (Québec, Canada). Il est encore temps de s’inscrire.

Par ailleurs, le Centre  a présenté 20 ateliers d’écriture de poésie et de slam à l’occasion de la Semaine nationale du français, organisée par l’American Association of Teachers of French (AATF) du 3 au 9 novembre 2022. Cette semaine est une occasion de rappeler et de célébrer la présence du français aux États-Unis. Provenant de 17 états et territoires américains, 365 élèves ont participé à ces ateliers en ligne et en direct avec un des quatre artistes du Québec et de l’Ontario; D-Track, Amélie Prévost, Mathieu Lippé et Yao.


Et les professeurs d’anglais, langue seconde

À l’occasion du 50e congrès des enseignants d’anglais, langue seconde (SPEAQ), qui s’est tenu la semaine dernière à Lévis, des enseignants ont été honorés.

Congratulations to :

  • Christine Hosni (Intensive ESL teacher au Centre de services scolaire des Miles-Îles) pour le Teacher of Merit Award,
  • Dianne Elizabeth Stankiewicz (Pegagogical Consultant au Service national du RÉCIT, domaine des langues) pour le Keith Boeckner Award,
  • Stéphane Lacroix et Thierry Price (Professors à l’Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue) pour le Board of Directors Award.

Des ateliers gratuits dans le cadre de la Semaine de l’informatique 2022

Dans le cadre de la Semaine de l’informatique (Computer Science Education Week), l’équipe de l’École branchée offrira une série d’activités de formation gratuites, axées sur l’enseignement de la programmation, en présence et en virtuel, les 5, 6 et 7 décembre. Consultez l’horaire et les liens d’inscription


Des suggestions de balado à écouter

Plusieurs balados ont attiré notre attention dans les dernières semaines. En voici une sélection : 

Quand le numérique s’impose à l’école (la notif) : Une thématique et 3 points de vue.

L’engagement au cœur de la littératie numérique (Les ingénieux pédagogiques) : Comment faire pour engager nos élèves en français en ligne?

Avec Isabelle Hudon (Osons la suite) : Un épisode sur le leadership au féminin.

Le leadership pédagonumérique (Mon #DPcontinu avec CADRE21) : Le leadership partagé en contexte scolaire et les défis de l’intégration du numérique.

Au boulot! (Service du développement professionnel de l’Université Laval) : Pour briser les mythes et répondre aux questions et aux préoccupations en lien avec le marché du travail.


Ditch that TextBook Summit

Le traditionnel ​​Ditch That Textbook Digital Summit de notre collaborateur Matt Miller est de retour pour le temps des Fêtes. Du 12 décembre 2022 au 6 janvier 2023, les participants ont accès à une foule de liens, d’activités et de conférences gratuitement en ligne. Une excellente façon de s’inspirer.  Et on annonce une des surprises intéressantes pour l’édition de cette année.


Semaine des professionnelles et professionnels de l’éducation

La Semaine des professionnelles et professionnels de l’éducation se déroule du 21 au 25 novembre. Elle a pour thème cette année : « Pour que l’élève prenne son envol, du personnel professionnel, c’est essentiel ».

Les professionnelles et professionnels offrent des services d’aide aux élèves, de soutien pédagogique ou administratif.

Profitons de cette semaine pour leur signifier de l’appréciation.


Perspectives Jeunesse lance sa campagne de parrainage 

Perspectives Jeunesse a lancé la 3e édition de sa campagne de parrainage, présentée cette année par Desjardins. Cette campagne de parrainage a pour objectif de récolter 20 000 $ d’ici le 4 décembre 2022 afin de soutenir les jeunes vivant des difficultés. Pour y arriver, l’organisme qui lutte contre le décrochage scolaire à Montréal invite la population et les entreprises à donner sur sa plateforme de sociofinancement « J’encourage la persévérance ». Depuis le début de l’année scolaire, 139 jeunes bénéficient d’un accompagnement individuel dans les 14 points de services de Perspectives Jeunesse. 

Chaque don compte! Participez à la campagne de parrainage 2022 de Perspectives Jeunesse présentée par Desjardins et encouragez les jeunes en difficulté dans leurs démarches de persévérance. (Groupe CNW/Perspectives Jeunesse)

Le temps passé devant l’écran ou la déconnexion. Quel est le problème ?

De nombreux parents considèrent que leurs adolescents passent beaucoup trop de temps sur les téléphones intelligents, les jeux vidéo et les médias sociaux. Contrairement à ces croyances, des chercheurs de l’Université de l’État du Michigan ont conclu qu’il ne fallait pas s’alarmer du temps passé devant l’écran. Ces chercheurs s’inquiètent plutôt des adolescents qui ne sont pas connectés dû au fait qu’ils ont un accès limité à l’Internet.

En savoir plus sur la recherche.


Collège Frontière annonce son nouveau nom : Littératie Ensemble

Collège Frontière, un organisme de bienfaisance pancanadien qui œuvre pour l’alphabétisation, a annoncé la semaine dernière qu’il changeait de nom pour devenir Littératie Ensemble. Ce changement introduit ainsi le prochain chapitre de l’organisme qui souhaite offrir un accès à un apprentissage en littératie et en numératie à des personnes de tous âges et de tous milieux sociaux et géographiques.

Au Canada, on estime que plus d’un million d’enfants, soit environ un enfant sur huit, ont des compétences en lecture inférieures au niveau attendu à leur âge. Les recherches montrent par ailleurs que les enfants provenant de communautés socioéconomiquement défavorisées sont presque deux fois plus susceptibles d’avoir du retard au niveau du développement de leurs compétences.


Rapport sur l’équité du Conseil scolaire francophone de la Colombie-Britannique

Le groupe de travail sur l’antiracisme (GTAR) du Conseil scolaire francophone (CSF) de la Colombie-Britannique vient de publier son premier rapport. Depuis septembre 2020, le GTAR, en collaboration étroite avec ses partenaires, a contribué à l’avancement d’un conseil scolaire francophone plus équitable et antiraciste. L’une des recommandations importantes du rapport fût l’ajout d’une Journée CSF sur l’antiracisme, dont la première édition s’est tenu le 14 novembre 2022. Cette journée de travail obligatoire sur le thème de l’antiracisme est un accomplissement important pour l’équité au CSF.


Les prochains Midi-inspirant de l’Association Edteq

Régulièrement, l’Association Edteq convie les personnes intéressées par les questions du numérique à l’école à assister à des midis-conférences. Les deux prochains auront lieu : 

Il est possible de revoir tous les Midis inspirant en rediffusion, à partir de la chaîne YouTube de l’Association.


Les suites du Projet WOW

Nous vous avons déjà parlé du Projet Wow, qui visait à rassembler des acteurs de la formation générale aux adultes (FGA) afin qu’ils découvrent des outils numériques et partagent des apprentissages. Le projet continue et, depuis septembre dernier, les différentes équipes interprofessionnelles des centres impliqués dans le projet WOW s’affairent à élaborer un outil de portrait de classe. Les éléments du portrait de classe sont déterminés en se basant sur les 4 types de portraits d’élève (personnel, professionnel, technologique et scolaire). Les besoins qui en ressortiront deviendront la source pour concrétiser des moyens efficaces d’intervention auprès des élèves ciblés.  

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web du Projet WOW.   

Pour en savoir plus sur les portraits, consultez le site Web des fonctions tutorales ou l’outil d’exploration.  


Lancement du Fonds canadien pour les citoyens du monde

EF Voyages Culturels (EF), chef de file dans le secteur des voyages éducatifs, a annoncé la semaine dernière le lancement du Fonds canadien pour les citoyens du monde ainsi qu’un investissement d’un million de dollars pour rendre les voyages éducatifs plus accessibles aux élèves partout au Canada. 

À partir de cette année scolaire 2022-2023, et pour une durée de 4 ans, le fonds soutiendra 500 élèves à travers le pays ayant besoin d’un soutien financier et ayant identifié l’apprentissage par le voyage comme une priorité. Le fonds couvrira la majorité des frais de voyage des étudiants, leur permettant ainsi de faire l’expérience de l’impact des voyages éducatifs sur leur vie.


L’AQUOPS recrute : responsable des ateliers et des inscriptions

L’Association Québécoise des Utilisateurs d’Outils technologiques à des fins Pédagogiques et Sociales (AQUOPS) est à la recherche d’un ou d’une responsable des ateliers et des inscriptions


Les impacts d’une séquence de préparation pour les élèves ayant des TA en mathématique : un exemple sur le volume et le sens spatial

La résolution de problèmes est centrale dans les programmes d’étude de nombreux pays. Toutefois, il a été constater qu’elle pose de nombreux défis aux élèves et plus particulièrement aux élèves en difficultés d’apprentissage. Les auteurs, Mireille Saboya, Alexandre Ducharme-Rivard, Annie Beauchamp et Lou-Anne Denis-Masson partagent leur méthode pour poursuivre l’objectif d’accompagner les élèves en difficultés lors de la résolution de problèmes en espérant une diminution de leur anxiété et le développement de leur compétence à résoudre des problèmes, sous l’expression d’un engagement réfléchi.

En savoir plus. 


Dyslexie – Le répertoire Sondo s’exporte à l’étranger

Le répertoire Sondo, qui permet aux publics dyslexiques l’apprentissage de la lecture en français, se décline désormais en italien, espagnol, anglais, ainsi qu’en langues amérindiennes. Des expérimentations sont en cours dans des lycées de Rome et Madrid, et l’éditeur Mobidys vient de s’implanter à Montréal afin d’en faire la distribution et d’accroître le catalogue.

On estime que 6 à 8 % de la population est concernée par la dyslexie ou les troubles DYS. De plus,  15 à 20% des élèves présentent des difficultés avec la lecture lors de leur entrée en sixième.

Les livres de Sondo sont disponibles au format FROG (FRee for cOGnition), ce qui signifie qu’ils sont enrichis d’une boîte à outils complète d’aides à la lecture pour aider les personnes ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage (ex. changer la police de caractères, la mise en évidence des syllabes, le support audio, les définitions).


Le « Playbook » des événements unconference bientôt disponible.

Au printemps dernier, des événements unconference (de style edcamp) sur la facilitation des apprentissages dans les makerspaces, les Fab Labs et les laboratoires créatifs se sont tenus dans le cadre d’une collaboration entre le Laboratoire d’innovation de l’Université Concordia, le Musée de la civilisation et l’Institut Milieux pour l’art, la culture et la technologie. Parmi les thèmes qui ont été abordés, notons l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion, le mouvement maker dans les lieux d’enseignement et les trousses maker. 

Le livre officiel résumant les échanges et les principaux constats sera bientôt disponible. Déjà, les balados bilingues produits en amont du projet sont toujours disponibles sur le site Web. Restez à l’affût, un événement de lancement du « playbook » sera bientôt annoncé et nous vous donnerons également accès à celui-ci.


En terminant, la bonne nouvelle de la semaine.


Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :