The school, “social guardian and educator of ethical uses” of digital technology

François Guité, consultant in educational sciences in Quebec, and André Tricot, professor of cognitive psychology at the University Paul Valéry Montpellier 3 and researcher in the Epsylon laboratory, recently discussed digital inclusion. Report.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

In Quebec, we use the expression “digital literacy”. In France, we talk more about digital inclusion. Different words to address the importance of mastering the codes of the digital universe in order to reduce social divides while technologies are omnipresent in our lives.

François Guité, consultant in educational sciences in Quebec, and André Tricot, professor of cognitive psychology at the University Paul Valéry Montpellier 3 and researcher in the Epsylon laboratory, were invited to discuss the subject during the France-Quebec conference, Digital inclusion.

While the expression “digital inclusion” can refer to anything related to access to technologies (the availability of devices and connection to the Internet, mainly), digital literacy refers more specifically to the skills in the use of technologies. technological tools (technical knowledge), the ability to understand them critically (ethical skills) and the expertise necessary to create digital content and become an agent of change in one's environment (innovation and sharing).

The first expression would therefore be more encompassing, although almost unused in Quebec, as Mr. Guité pointed out. And this is probably because the notion of inclusion is already used for other purposes in the educational environment in Quebec.

“Inclusive education aims to develop feelings of belonging and acceptance among students with special needs, as well as the implementation of support measures to promote the learning of these students within regular programs. Inclusive pedagogy is reflected in particular by adapting approaches in order to support these young people in their class. "

Inclusive education in Quebec (source: RIRE)

The role of the school

Despite this distinction in terms of the vocabulary used, the two speakers agreed on several points, starting with the fact that the school has a role to play in contributing to the mastery of the knowledge and skills necessary in the era. digital. Considering that digital inequalities are linked to socio-economic backgrounds, the school could reduce the social divide by participating in literacy.

Moreover, Mr. Tricot cited as an example the 2018 PISA study which assessed, among other things, the ability of adolescents to browse the Web. The results showed a correlation with knowledge of reading strategies and reading comprehension strategies, which are skills that could be described as classic and which are traditionally learned in school.

For his part, François Guité pointed out that “the need for digital inclusion raises several issues that the education community cannot escape and to which it will have to contribute, starting with access to technologies, the ethics of uses. personal data and the growing need for reflexivity on change ”.

According to him, the school has "a role of social guardian and educator of ethical uses" to play to counterbalance the possible abuses in the digital world. Education players must therefore be vigilant and have good knowledge of the deployment of digital technology and its evolution, in order to eventually be able to shape it.

Digital inclusion is giving rise to new educational strategies, but we are seriously behind schedule, believes Mr. Guité. In particular, he adds, because the school environment has difficulty in taking an enlightened and reflective look at the possible uses. Technologies change very quickly. Reflections are still too often turned on the tools themselves rather than on the practices.

Mr. Tricot added by specifying that the school has new content and new knowledge to build, that it will have to set new objectives. In conclusion, he nevertheless wanted to add that practices outside of school can also have an effect on digital inclusion. For example, students who spend more time reading at home (regardless of whether it is on paper or digital media) generally do better afterwards.

Finally, Mr. Guité wondered whether we should not adopt a national digital literacy education strategy to reduce the gaps between uses and facilitate the appropriation of digital technology in a more uniform way in the society.

It is possible to listen the entire exchange between Mr. Guité and Mr. Tricot here, on YouTube.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’école, « gardien social et éducateur des usages éthiques » du numérique

François Guité, consultant en sciences de l’éducation au Québec, et André Tricot, professeur de psychologie cognitive à l’Université Paul Valéry Montpellier 3 et chercheur au sein du laboratoire Epsylon, ont récemment discuté d'inclusion numérique. Compte-rendu.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Au Québec, nous utilisons l’expression « littératie numérique ». En France, on parle plutôt d’inclusion numérique. Des mots différents pour aborder l’importance de maîtriser les codes de l’univers numérique afin de réduire les fractures sociales alors que les technologies sont omniprésentes dans nos vies.

François Guité, consultant en sciences de l’éducation au Québec, et André Tricot, professeur de psychologie cognitive à l’Université Paul Valéry Montpellier 3 et chercheur au sein du laboratoire Epsylon, avaient été invités à discuter du sujet lors du colloque France-Québec, L’inclusion numérique.

Si l’expression « inclusion numérique » peut concerner tout ce qui a trait à l’accès aux technologies (la disponibilité des appareils et de la connexion à Internet, principalement), la littératie numérique fait plus spécifiquement référence aux habiletés dans l’usage des outils technologiques (connaissances techniques), à la capacité de les comprendre de façon critique (compétences éthiques) et à l’expertise nécessaire pour créer du contenu numérique et devenir un agent de changement dans son milieu (innovation et partage).

La première expression serait donc plus englobante, bien qu’à peu près inutilisée au Québec, comme l’a fait remarquer M. Guité. Et c’est probablement parce que la notion d’inclusion est déjà utilisée à d’autres escients dans le milieu éducatif québécois.

« L’inclusion scolaire vise le développement des sentiments d’appartenance et d’acceptation des élèves ayant des besoins particuliers, ainsi que la mise en place de mesures de soutien favorisant l’apprentissage de ces élèves à l’intérieur de programmes réguliers. Une pédagogie inclusive se traduit notamment par une adaptation des approches dans le but de soutenir ces jeunes dans leur classe. »

Inclusion scolaire, au Québec (source : RIRE)

Le rôle de l’école

Malgré cette distinction en termes de vocabulaire utilisé, les deux intervenants se sont montrés d’accord sur plusieurs points, à commencer par le fait que l’école a un rôle à jouer pour contribuer à la maîtrise des connaissances et compétences nécessaires à l’ère du numérique. Considérant que les inégalités en matière de numérique sont en lien avec les milieux socio-économiques, l’école pourrait réduire la fracture sociale en participant à la littératie.

D’ailleurs, M. Tricot a cité en exemple l’étude PISA de 2018 qui a évalué, entre autres, la capacité des adolescents à naviguer sur le Web. Les résultats ont démontré une corrélation avec la connaissance de stratégies de lecture et de stratégie de compréhension de l’écrit, qui sont des compétences que l’on pourrait qualifier de classiques et qui sont traditionnellement apprises à l’école.

De son côté, François Guité a fait remarquer que « la nécessité d’inclusion numérique soulève plusieurs enjeux auxquels le milieu de l’éducation ne peut échapper et auxquels il devra contribuer, à commencer par l’accès aux technologies, l’éthique des usages des données personnelles et le besoin grandissant de réflexivité sur le changement ».

Selon lui, l’école a « un rôle de gardien social et d’éducateur des usages éthiques » à jouer pour faire contrepoids aux dérives possibles dans l’univers numérique. Les acteurs de l’éducation se doivent donc de faire preuve de vigilance et d’avoir de bonnes connaissances du déploiement du numérique et de son évolution, pour être éventuellement capables de le façonner.

L’inclusion numérique donne lieu à de nouvelles stratégies pédagogiques, mais nous accusons un sérieux retard en la matière, croit M. Guité. Notamment, ajoute-t-il, parce que le milieu scolaire a de la difficulté à porter un regard éclairé et réfléchi sur les usages possibles. Les technologies évoluent très rapidement. Les réflexions sont encore trop souvent tournées sur les outils eux-mêmes plutôt que sur les pratiques.

M. Tricot a renchéri en précisant que l’école a de nouveaux contenus et de nouveaux savoirs à construire, qu’elle devra se donner de nouveaux objectifs. En conclusion, il a quand même tenu à ajouter que des pratiques en dehors de l’école peuvent aussi avoir un effet sur l’inclusion numérique. Par exemple, les élèves qui consacrent plus de temps à la lecture à la maison (peu importe qu’elle soit sur papier ou sur support numérique) réussissent mieux de façon générale par la suite.

Finalement, M. Guité s’est demandé si nous ne devrions pas nous doter d’une stratégie nationale d’éducation à la littératie numérique pour arriver à réduire les écarts entre les usages et faciliter l’appropriation du numérique de façon plus uniforme dans la société.

Il est possible d’écouter l’intégralité de l’échange entre M. Guité et M. Tricot ici, sur YouTube.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!